Fiction logo

And so, I rest

A Microfiction Story

By AshlynPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read

Kill the mother: it seemed simple all those years ago, yet so silly now as I take my final breaths. We few survivors wanted to slay the monsters but could only delay the inevitable. I'm getting glimpses of the other side now - it's enticing and uncruel.

I pop the capsule, and poison slithers through my body. The mother sinks her pincers into me. I fight to remain conscious, to see if the poison takes her too. But death pulls my gaze, "This is no longer your fight," she whispers, "It's time to rest."

And so, I rest.

Short StoryHorror

About the Creator

Ashlyn

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Alison McBainabout a year ago

    Great micro fiction story!

AshlynWritten by Ashlyn

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.