Fiction logo

An unexpected vacation

“I don’t wanna go!!” she shrieked. “What’s your problem Sarah? Why do you always wanna ruin things!?”

By Purvi GautamPublished 12 months ago 6 min read
10
Photo by Olivia Spink on Unsplash

“I don’t wanna go!!” she shrieked.

“What’s your problem Sarah? Why do you always wanna ruin things!?”

"I'm not ruining anything, Georgie. Y'all can go without me." Sarah said in an almost calm tone.

"There is no way mom is going on a family vacation without you. Besides, you're already rejected from Yale, what do you think you're gonna do here all alone!"

"For the hundredth time, I'm deferred, not rejected. I can still improve my application and get in."

"Oh c'mon on, you know too deferred means rejected. You're not getting in this time."

"Shut up, you bastard!"

"Just come with us Sarah. It's been so long we went on a vacation and it's all because of you."

"I'll convince mom about the vacay but you better shut up now!"

"Alrighty..."

"What the hell is going on here?"

"Mom, I want you to know that you shouldn't be cancelling your vacation because of me. You know I can't go for obvious reasons but Georgie here really wants to go." said Sarah calmly eyeing Georgie furiously.

"Shut up Sarah! You're coming with us and I'm not taking no for an answer. I already have tickets for your favourite singer's concert. Besides, you really need a break."

"Yea Sarah, you should come. You know mom will miss you the most and won't have any fun at all." said Georgie teasingly.

"No one here is talking to you. Get out!" shrieked Sarah.

"Sarah, sweetie, I know your application is deferred and you really are working to improve it but you can volunteer at the beach as well. You can set up a cleaning drive or something. You can even take a gap year, there's no pressure. Just come with us."

"Uhhh...okay, I'll think about it mom but don't count me in yet. Also, I don't have a favourite singer."

The thought of a nice, relaxing vacation in Hawaii did seem pretty interesting to Sarah but she knew she had other priorities. Though, her mother was right, she could find something to do at the beach as a summer job.

As se was scrolling through Instagram in the evening she came across a list of tourist places in Hawaii. Soon, she saw another post of the singer's concert her mum was talking about. It seemed as if the universe was giving her signs that she should go. So, the decision was final. She was going on the trip but definitely not giving up on college, she already had a plan.

Photo by Sean Oulashin on Unsplash

"Mom, I wanna go to Hawaii with you bu-"

"Awww. That's great." her mum cut her off.

"But-"

"Uh-ohh. But what?"

"But I'll be working online and on the beach too.

Hey, you didn't cancel my ticket though, did you?"

"No sweetie. I did not."

Finally, Sarah was in Hawaii with her whole family. It felt different, good to finally be free from a bit of pressure-

"MOM! It was a huge mistake to come here!!! Ahhhh, what am I gonna do now!?"

-or maybe not.

"What happened?"

"The admissions officer advised me to write a substitute essay to get in!"

"So what? You're a good writer."

"No, mom, no. I have zero inspiration. What am I gon' write about!?"

"Sweetie think about it. You'll definitely find something great. It isn't such big of a hurdle."

Little did her mom know about her struggle with her first essay. How was she supposed to go through it all over again? Over all these years, she had been too focused on her college profile and grades that she had missed out on finding her own interests, her own true self besides the perfect girl she was to her teachers and parents both. She knew well that she was far from perfect and she really did need to work on herself if she wanted to write this essay. But how?

Photo by Super Snapper on Unsplash

Determined on her mission, she set out for a walk on the beach to discover her own values with a clear mind.

"Okay, so let's do this. How hard can it be right?" she said talking to herself.

"Well, what am I good at?

Debate, Robotics, Chinese club?

Urgh, I know nothing about me? How is that even possible?"

"Child, are you stressed about something?" said an old man reading the tense expression on her face.

"Nothing...thanks though, for asking."

"Hey, come here, sit down. Talk to me. I seem experienced enough to solve a teenager's problem I suppose."

"Well, it's about college. I had always been so focused on maintaining my profile and all activities that I don't even know my own interests. And now, I'm deferred, they're asking me for a substitute essay but what am I supposed to write when I know nothing."

"Dear, you don't know nothing. You know everything. Your brain has infinite power and knowledge let alone about your own self. You just need to get in there. Take some time to yourself and try out different things. You'll surely find your calling."

"Thanks....a lot. I guess I can just -"

"You know what? I've something for you." said the old man cutting Sarah off and scrolling through his phone.

"This is a friend o' mine. He runs a summer camp every year for troubled kids like you. They'll make you try several different activities and then you can choose out of them all and stick to it for a week. You can even sell, publish or share your work on social media to promote the camp and your hard work off course."

"Thank you soo much, sir. I don't even know what to say, I can't thank you enough for this."

"No need. God will surely bless me if I've done something good."

"Oh, you surely have! Have a great day!!" she said as she turned towards her hotel.

"Hey, mom. Mom? You here?

Nope, well I guess I'll have to leave without meeting you."

She sat down on the bed and wrote a note for her mum telling her about the camp and that she'll be away for a week. Also, apologizing to her for missing the concert even though she really did want to go.

It didn't take long to reach the campsite. Just a short half an hour drive from her hotel to the campsite. And as soon as she reached there she was amazed by the beauty of it. The location of the site was just so perfect that a week felt way less to spend there.

Finally Sarah got to explore all what the camp offered. There was first a quiz for all the students about what activities suit them the best. Surprisingly, Sarah found herself eligible for several activities but chose to work on three specific ones throughout the camp; writing, photography, sculpture.

After a long struggle she eventually found her calling working at the camp. She found herself to be a meticulous photographer as if she was born for it. Soon after the camp she went back to where her family was staying and peacefully enjoyed her vacation while capturing all those sweet memories. As expected, she now had no problem writing that substitute essay for she now knew herself better and had a story to share as well.

It is just amazing how the universe has a plan for everyone. How things always work out in the end no matter the obstacles for if it is your destiny, if it is meant to be and if you have enough faith in what you want no force can stop it from simply happening.

Besides getting accepted into her dream college, Sarah was now a part-time photographer who had numerous satisfied clients thanks to her popularity over the social media platforms.

Photo by Rachel Martin on Unsplash

We may realize it or not but everything does happen for a reason. Who knows what would've happened to Sarah's dream of going to college if she never went on that vacation?

family
10

About the Creator

Purvi Gautam

Hey! I'm Purvi. I believe writing is the best way to express anything...!

Hope y'all enjoy my content!!

<HAPPY READING>

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.