Fiction logo

An unexpected reunion

By Victor Edmunds Published 3 months ago 3 min read
2
An unexpected reunion
Photo by Casey Lovegrove on Unsplash

“Your target will be in a navy-blue pantsuit, short black hair done up in a bun and of Chinese descent. Confirm target description,” came Zhao’s droning voice over my earpiece.

I pause for a moment before responding, “Navy-blue pantsuit, short black hair in a bun and Chinese.”

“Confirmed,” squawked the radio in my ear. Its always a surreal experience, disposing of Chinese targets on American soil. One wrong move and that could very well become me. The MSS is not accustomed to failure.

“You will proceed to the vantage point and await further instructions.”

“I’ve got one question.”

“Make it quick, Xie.”

“Why is there no photograph of the target?”

“Target has thus far eluded all attempts to be photographed. If there are no more questions, proceed to the vantage point.”

That sounded… a little rehearsed. There is something Zhao isn’t telling me. What it could be I haven’t the faintest clue.

The vantage point, a smokestack at an abandoned copper smelter, overlooks the parking lot. That will be my kill zone.

“Vantage point reached,” I inform Zhao.

“Acknowledged. Await further instruct-” the radio cut off.

“Zhao? Do you read me? I repeat, vantage point reached.”

Silence is the only response.

What is going on? Our equipment may not be the best of the best but nothing like this has ever happened before. “Come in Zhao, do you read?”

“I’m afraid Zhao isn’t able to hear you at the moment, Ningli,” came an unfamiliar voice.

“Who is this? How did you get access to this channel?”

“Whoa, easy there. I mean you no harm. My name’s not important but the people I work, well you could say theirs is.”

CIA. Has to be. No one else could pull this off.

“You’re CIA, aren’t you?”

“Bingo. Now, about your ‘target’. I have some information about them that I think you should know.”

“Is that so?” I reply coolly. “And why should I believe anything you say? In case you’ve forgotten, we aren’t on the same side.”

“That may be but your ‘target’ happens to be one of my agents and you damn well better believe I’ll do everything within my power to prevent their death.”

“You’re not making this any easier on yourself, you know.”

“I don’t need to little miss. I’ve got an ace up my sleeve that even you can’t refute.”

“Oh, yeah? And what might that be?”

“All you need to do is wait for your ‘target’ to show their face. Nothing more, nothing less.”

I stifle a laugh. “Is that all? You must be very confident about this Mr. …”

“As I’ve said before, my names not important. And yes, I am.”

“Right. Fine. I don’t know why I am agreeing to this but you have until their face is shown. If I’m not convinced, I’ll take the shot.”

“That’s all I ask. We’ll be in touch again soon.”

The radio goes silent once more. And then crackles back to life almost immediately.

“… li! Ningli, do you copy?” comes Zhao’s frantic voice.

An he’s back. “Yes, I copy. Have comms been on the fritz?”

“I, I don’t know. They seem to be working now though. I’ll run a diagnostic just to be safe though.”

“Has anything changed? Is the op still a go?”

“No, nothings changed. Proceed with the op as planned before. If you haven’t already, all necessary equipment has been provided for you.”

I look down at my feet for the first time and notice the small black duffel bag tucked into the side of the smokestack.

“Got it.” Inside is a disassembled rifle, suppressor and a scope. “Where will the target be located exactly?” I ask while putting the rifle together.

“They’ll be walking out of the main building.”

I sight the area in my scope. Not a bad spot, truth be told.

“Target is on the move. Radio silence until task has been completed.”

“Copy. Out.” Now for the waiting game. This agent must be something special, if the MSS can’t photograph them and the CIA interfere.

A few minutes go by when the door finally opens. When I see who it is, I can’t believe my eyes.

“Surprised?” My CIA friend asks. “We were too. Now, radio in you’ve confirmed the kill and get the hell out of there.”

“Why?”

“Because your position is wired to blow.”

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Victor Edmunds

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.