Fiction logo

An Owl Urban Legend

An Owl's Haunt

By Anna cruzPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
An Owl Urban Legend
Photo by Cliff Johnson on Unsplash

There Was An Old Barn that long had been abandoned in an urban area of town. It was an old eyesore but it was never removed. A hospice was built across the street from the old abandoned barn.

I worked at the hospice helping the patients as a volunteer. I will keep company with some of the patients and play cards with them. Those that were well enough to play and stay alert. I knew a man named Danny he was a gentleman in his sixties and he was a handsome man. His hair was black and gray and he had the brightest blue eyes. He was there because he had cancer. His room faced the old barn. I found him looking out his window. He seemed to be looking for something. Danny sat back in his green wingback armchair and leaned towards the window.

I asked him “ what are you looking for?”. He said that he would see an owl arrive at the barn. " the owl is a wise animal”. Said Danny. Danny kept talking about the owl about how majestic his wings were and how big their eyes were.

I wondered to myself with the problems he is facing why would he focus on an Owl. But that wasn't up to me to judge I'm sure that he had his reasons.

I told Danny, that I thought the old barn was an eyesore. And that they should tear it down. But Danny insisted, the barn was the owl’s home, it should stay there for as long as it can.

The old barn has seen better days with half of the roof missing and the front door boarded up. Only one window was open and broken. The worn red paint off the barn was chipped. I didn't know if anyone could salvage the wood if the barn was knocked down someday.

One day, the city placed a notice on the barn slating it for demolition. Many in the town and Community were happy, all except Danny. "I hope that the Owl will find a new home when the barn is knocked down, "Danny said. He worried about the Owl, so I asked him why he was so concerned about an owl.

Danny told me the story or the legend of the Owl. He told me when you saw an Owl it was a sign of your life stream. You would live as long as you saw the owl. The day you didn't see the owl it would be your death. Then, the owl will come back to take your soul up to heaven. Danny really believed this legend. I tried to convince him that it wasn't true but to no avail.

Danny pulled out an old tattered journal from under his pillow. He asked me to make sure his family got this journal after his death. Although, I never saw anyone come to visit him when I was there. I promised that I would. He placed it under his pillow again.

The next day, the city demolished the abandoned barn. The lot was empty as they quickly cleaned up the debris. It didn't take much to demolish the old barn. I noticed the lot as I came into work at the hospice.

I went to visit Danny, but his room was empty, he wasn't there. I went to the nurse's station to ask about Danny. The nurse said that Danny have passed last night, He had asked her to give me something before he passed. The nurse gave me his journal. I was shocked and saddened by his sudden death although, I knew he had a limited time left. It seemed so sudden.

I opened his journal because something inside me told me to do so. As I read the first the last few pages of his journal. I read and there was an entry addressed to me. It said “you have been a great friend and you were there for me when my family wasn’t”. “I have left you all on my assets which include my savings account and my home”. “I have left the last will and testament on the final page of Journal and I had it notarized”. “I want you to have my inheritance”. Your friend Danny.

I was shocked and surprised at this revelation. I had never imagined in a million years that Danny would do this.

As I placed the journal in my handbag and walked towards the courtyard. I saw the Owl from the barn and in a tree in the courtyard. It looked my way and opened his wings. As it flew away towards the heavens. At that moment, I felt as if I had said goodbye to Danny as the Owl took Danny’s Soul To Heaven. “ Goodbye Danny and thank you”

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Anna cruz

I like writing short stories and poetry. I like to blog about thrifting and many other subjects. I hope you enjoy my writing. Read my blog at www.savingshouse.blogspot.com and visit my website at www.vintageoldtreasures.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.