Fiction logo

Amethyst Rain

A journey unlike any other.

By Rich R.Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 28 min read
Like

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. And every night for almost a year, people watched the “second sunrise” occur at a hectic pace, roughly between 11:30 and half past midnight. As usual, my sister Hayra and I would set up our streaming gear and react to the odd atmospheric changes.

But the issue is that this was no longer as odd. This was tame compared to what’s been happening all around our changing planet. This new sun would grace my hemisphere and the next at night but there’s no telling what could disrupt our daily peace at any time of day, anywhere. You’re probably a bit lost. No worries, I’ll explain.

Last year on March 3rd of 2022, this phenomenon forced open the eyes of every human on Earth. It became the single most viral incident of all time and was viewed over two trillion times since a person from Haiti caught the happening for the first time while filming on a beach.

As unsettling and panic-inducing as it was, it seemed that everyone was united in finding answers. Well, most citizens that is. Satellite footage became impossible to come by. Governments and research organizations refused to comment on the situation, other than claiming to be actively investigating it. But any common person was happy to join some sort of discourse about it. From the real life streets to the crowded, buffering lanes of Twitter, you’d see people hypothesizing what this could mean.

“Is this a sign of the end or a new beginning?”

“Extra-terrestrials are finally making their move.”

“Weather-altering tech has reached a fever pitch.”

“The simulation is finally heading towards a great reset.”

“Someone is conducting forbidden rituals of old.”

But the following week was when things really turned up. Surreal things started happening, I mean the kind of things that would make you question reality even more. Within a few days of the first second sun, you could go on the internet and find similar recordings everywhere.

You’d see entire storms like a mini thundershower or a tornado emerge and dissipate within the space of individual rooms or small patches of land. Somehow they'd only destroy what’s within and not tear down walls or nearby structures.

Rain would fall over large distances as usual but would seem to be stopped by flat, circular barriers over random spots like parking lots or churches. At times rain would change colors, becoming shades reminiscent of bright amethyst or dark orange. The color would determine the effects. I could go on but needless to say, you understand that we live in the strangest times.

“Hexes” became the dominating term for these occurrences. Conventional scientific explanations and consequences didn’t seem to apply. Despite the frequency of them, society didn’t completely collapse. Don’t get me wrong, you had many people who refused to work any longer. They sought a new way of living. Many law enforcement agencies expanded their reach to contain these hexes. For those of us who wanted to continue our lives, we did so. The twist was that while mortality rates increased for many professions, for the large majority of cases, hexes happened in spaces humans didn’t occupy. Attitudes of doom and drug use increased. Crime naturally did as well but authorities simply became way more militarized to deal with this.

And in a weird way, hexes paved a road for new opportunities. Paranormal investigators, cult leaders, hex insurance salesmen, you name it. There was someone waiting to profit.

I’m sure I sound like a hypocrite. After all, my sister and I have a video channel with well over 100,000 followers because we seek out non-violent hexes. Writing poems and/or slowly working my way up the corporate ladder was never going to pay the bills after college. Hayra and I are only one year apart and she was just as naturally curious as I was. So we became a team.

On March 2nd of 2023, nearly a year after these began, we once again set up some gear in our backyard to record ourselves watching this fascinating hex. Mom was sound asleep by this point.

“Jemm, can you please adjust the tripod and camera zoom a little bit?” Hayra asked me.

“Sure, I got it.” I replied as I made adjustments. “Ready to go live?”

“Yup. When it’s on, let me know and I’ll intro us.”

“Cool.” I said as I clutched the crystal amulet in my pocket.

“J, are you praying to it again?” She asked, seeing me in a meditative state.

After 20 seconds, I opened my eyes and finally responded. “I know you don’t think these things prevent hexes from hurting us, but I-”

“The dude who sold you that also tried to sell us hex-proof wallets.” She interrupted. “He said he needed to transfer all the ‘material’ himself in order for it to work. He was trying to scam us, I think.”

“You’ve always been a skeptic, Hay. I respect that about you but like I always say, maybe if we had this around, things would be different. I’ve heard stories you haven’t.” My tone became stoic. She felt the deadening of my voice and softened her own.

“I’m not trying to hate on you, bro. It’s been months since I even commented on that thing. I’m sorry.”

“Nah, nah it’s okay. I accept that I could be wrong. Sometimes we need to be refreshed with the facts. I just have an odd feeling, you know?” I looked up and saw the sky shift in hues. “It’s time. I’m gonna go online, Hay.”

I activated our stream and my sister introduced us with her usual investigator-style zeal.

“Hello our fellow hex detectives! It’s Hayra and Jemm here once again-”

“Yoooo!” I said while waving at the camera. The live chat flooded with heartwarming greetings.

“And we’re examining yet another hex. First thing’s first, let’s have a moment of silence for all those lost to some of these things.” She lowered her head in respectful quiescence.

We sat for a good 45 seconds before resuming.

“Hay and I also want to thank you all so, so much for being with us on this 7 month journey. We hope our research has helped to answer some of your questions and ease your mind.”

“Jemm is the best brother you could possibly have and I want to thank him for bringing me on board.”

“No problem, dude.” I said as we fist-bumped on cam. The chat filled with very touching remarks and gratitude. In times like this I thanked technology for relieving our commonly found solitude.

“Alright, it’s 11:34 and the sky is going from pitch black to a dull bluish-pink. The purple clouds are coming slowly but surely. Hay, where are we on the reports?”

“One second.” My sister said as she pulled out her tablet to monitor reports of this in different locations on the “Hex Watch” app. “Here in Far Rockaway, NY, as well as across the U.S. and neighboring continents, it’s all consistent. The same way it’s been for almost a year.”

“No one seems to be in danger, right?”

“No, no. Plenty of people are celebrating in different ways. Some people stepped out of bars for selfies, others are watching with family before going to bed.”

“Sounds good.” I said as I actively replied to messages.

We sat through our typical routine: taking pictures, mentioning personal experiences and of course monitoring for any oddities. Once 11:59 hit, you’d swear it was the next morning's dawn.

The sun, or at least what resembles a sun, basked in the midnight air and captivated us all in its gorgeous haze. It still took time getting used to. But as soon as it arrived, it just as quickly began to descend and moved in a pattern you could trace.

Everything that clouded my mind during the day faded in this moment. I was as light as feathers falling from robins, completely mesmerized and of course, I wished my father was here to see this at least one more time.

“It’s descending now.” Hayra remarked. “12:20 and the second sun is clearly on its way out. For the first time in human history, a second sunset within a single day became the norm. Still no other oddities to report.”

“Perfect. Everyone, stay after for as long as you’d like for the after-set commentary. We have a merch giveaway we’ll be announcing shortly as well as some more theories for how this all could have started!”

The sun departed, leaving us longing for it once again. The familiar star tucked itself under and returned the darkness to us. Whatever started this knew that we couldn’t help but appreciate ineffable beauty. The night proceeded and our after-show went swimmingly.

I went to bed that night so eager for what the next day would bring.

The morning came and of course, so did the anomalies. By the time I was showered, dressed and at the breakfast table, mom had left for work but oddly enough, Hayra was nowhere to be seen. She usually is up before I am.

My utensil circled the last bite of a syrup-soaked pancake until I decided to finally get up and find her.

I knocked on her alabaster door several times to no response. “Hayra!” I shouted. Silence greeted me.

After knocking with even more force, the door just slowly slid open.

“Hay, are you all right? For real, are you okay?

To my surprise, the room was empty. The bed seemed slept in and various items were scattered about.

I texted her immediately:

“Where are you? Is everything alright?” She responded quickly.

“I’m with Nimson. Early this morning I saw an alert and texted him to see if he recognized it. You’re gonna wanna see this. Come to Larissa Diner after you get this.”

I could've been the one she woke up she knows I treasure my sleep. I was overcome with confusion. But since it was the yearly anniversary of the hexes, I knew I had to mentally prepare myself for what was coming. I grabbed my jacket like it was the last armor I’d ever have. A few deep breaths and the grasp of my amulet reduced my anxious state. I was off to the Diner.

The streets showed me that nothing was out of the ordinary, thank goodness. People were proceeding as normal, going to stores, working while being hyper-vigilant.

Someone in a purple garb tried to halt me by holding a book in front of my face.

“Do you pray to the second sun?” This gentleman asked.

I kept walking, sidestepping his advances.

“Please, my fellow human. For the sake of everything real, please tell me. Do you pray to the second sun?”

“Nope. Never did, never will.” I growled at him as I sped up my pace.

“IF IT IS NOT REDEMPTION YOU SEEK THEN IT IS PAIN THAT WILL SHOWER UPON YOU AND THOSE YOU LOVE!!” He shouted.

That sparked my anger for a moment. I stopped rushing along. He stood still as well, about 50 feet or so behind me.

I dared not look back at him. I was afraid of what my anger might compel me to do. Something in me flipped a switch and I kept making my way.

The gentleman let out an audible sigh and rushed back to his original position on the block.

I felt for him, I really did. Whatever doctrine he was fed digested thoroughly. It was a regular occurrence, seeing people like that. 

The mission remained. I was almost at the Diner and the morning sun couldn't have been radiating any brighter.

I ambled through the town: a mix of a growing urban landscapes with isolated wilderness unevenly scattered among lawns and homes. Aside from some strands of grass floating upward into the ether and the rustling wind sounding like hushed, maddening laughter, everything was fine. It was the life we were used to.

The moon-shaped sign welcomed my familiar face. I walked in and saw my sister and our equally inquisitive friend seated.

Hayra was tapping her shoes in a clearly anxious fashion while Nimson kept stroking his beard. Once he saw me, he reached out for a bro hug.

“Dude, there’s been a wild discovery. No one could have predicted this, I mean, there-there isn’t a logical explanation. I’m glad you made it here safely but after this, I’m not sure how safe you’ll be.” He said with concern emanating from his face. 

“Jemm, you need to see this video. Don’t say a word, just watch it.” My sister turned her table towards me and tapped play. In it, someone was reacting to recent clip from around the world.

On different beaches, human-shaped auras formed. They were varying in colors with the upper bodies being more visible and shaped than the rest of them. Many of those holding the cameras were struck with disbelief. Then it hit me.

“Wait. All these places are in different countries but-whoa, is that ROCKAWAY BEACH?” I couldn’t contain myself once I saw those same rigid sands. I immediately recognized someone there. I’d notice that look anywhere. Despite the red tint he glowed with, it was him for sure.

“Sis, you’ve gotta explain. How is this possible? No, I’m asking the wrong question. We need to leave.” I pleaded.

“No one’s ever seen anything like this. This is different from our ordinary ‘Go walk through a forest and stumble upon it’ kind of hex. We’re gonna go. That’s a far walk from here but it’ll be less than 20 minutes if we get a ride.” Then we both gave Nimson a hopeful glare.

“If I wasn’t willing to lose this job, I wouldn’t help y’all. Also, being a good friend requires a sacrifice every now and then. I got you, I got you. Meet me out back in like 4 to 5.” He scrambled into the employee section and we quickly decided to game plan.

“Listen, Hay, I don’t know what we’re going to find and I don’t know if it’ll be an answer to all this but I’m ready. I’ll be fighting through the crowd if I have to.”

“I know, bro. Of all days I’m sure it makes sense it would be this. It’s safe to say that-”

“More chaos is bound to follow this day.” I commented as I clutched my forehead and stared down at the floor. “Are you sure you don’t want an amulet? Or something, anything? The wrong kind of hex can and will end us both.”

“I...” She lingered in her statement. “I think I’ll be alright for now, thank you. Nim has some useful tools in his sedan. Some masks in case of toxic air, some goggles, some waterproof and fireproof gear, some more things I’m probably forgetting-”

“Good! Perfect actually. We gotta go though. Now. I’m not trying to stand here any longer if dad is out there.”

We darted out past the patrons and into the lot. Nimson’s beaten-down silver ride was always reliable despite being a bit haggard. Hayra got in front, I jumped into the back, almost constantly checking the view of both windows. Our friend took off on a mission and we couldn’t be more grateful to have him by our side at that moment.

Traffic built up faster than we anticipated. All of a sudden we were tetras in a sea of metal. The honking added to the already tense vibe. I wanted to kick out my door and run. What should have been 16 minutes in total became 25 minutes at just a little more than halfway there. The restlessness was building in me.

“I’m this close to sprinting it. Is there another-”

“This is the best way, trust me, Jemm. Do you wanna take your chances with a possible hex or some cult member who’s dashing to exactly where we’re going? We’re protected.” My sister attempted to reassure me but I wasn’t having it.

“We don’t know how long it’ll take! This could be the key to everything, it could be to-to changing things! The key to-”

“Things going back to the way they were? Not happening, buddy.” Nimson suddenly tried to be the voice of reason as well. “Concepts like truth and disaster have taken new meanings. The time lost can’t just be overwritten like saving a-a document or somethin. No one can forget just how strongly their world was rocked. In this morning alone, the apps reported droughts as some rainfall reversed on crops. Some boulders raced into a city and destroyed property. A few people had limbs broken. C’mon, man. What’s real when lightning strikes from the ground up and scatters like a web? What’s real when the full moon duplicates itself but tides aren’t affected? We question things in new ways now. Pessimism is the norm. You can break free from it but don’t act like you’re immune to the past. No one is.”

I let out a murmur under my breath and tried to keep it chill.

A few minutes of resonant breathing had me much more relaxed. I stayed silent, knowing I had no choice but to be patient. I kept my head down.

The seconds inched by slowly but surely. From the collective sighs of relief, I knew we were close.

“The video didn’t capture the entire frame.” Nimson broke the silence. “It only glanced in both directions but there are thousands of...not sure you could say ‘people.’ Maybe souls. There’s someone I’m looking to find as well. I mean, that’s if these so called ‘ghosts’ stay local after passing.”

“Oh, Nim, we didn’t realize.” Hay’s conciliatory tone was welcome. “Your younger brother? You saw him?”

“Yea. Saw a form of him I suppose you could say. The hex that took him was a particularly brutal one. This is mostly rhetorical but have you ever seen quicksand form a hand and grab someone?”

“WHAT? No, you never went into much detail about it. I know you and your parents were traveling to-”

“To the beach. To this beach.” You could hear his teeth clench after saying that. There was a hint of rage there, bubbling, begging for a target. I saw that he and I were more similar than I thought.

“Again, my condolences, bro.” I chimed in. “There might be a chance that-oh, oh guys. Guys!?”

“What’s up?” They asked in unison.

“We gotta find a new road.” My breath was uneven again.

“This is the fastest way, Jemm! As the most experienced driver in this car, I think I-”

“You both need to SHUT UP and look to our right!!” I shouted while banging my fist against the fogged window.

“The cars aren’t...oh, OH!”

The car swerved like the steering wheel was possessed. A crimson fog barreled down the road adjacent to us. Any cars on the street between the buildings seemed to vanish in the smoke. I heard screams from within the haze. I looked in every other direction to be sure we were in the clear.

“Okay, okay we need to get far-and I mean far away from this area. If a concurrent hex appears, the odds of surviving are...”

“Jemm, we’re gonna make it out of this.” Hayra said as she looked back at me, trying her best to hide the fear. “We’re-”

Our car stopped completely. The sunlight magnified, so much so that we all had to remain still and close our eyes. More screams and crashes were heard in the distance. They were getting closer and closer. I started feeling around the compartments, hoping for some UV goggles.

“We got nothing, bro.” Nimson said. “My goggles can’t handle this much light, there’s no way they’ll help. But we can’t stay here. Our car WILL be hit by someone. I had just turned a corner. We should get out and walk with our heads to the asphalt.

We followed his lead and got out as soon as we possibly could. We hugged the walls of the nearest store and waited it out, occasionally blinking to see if salvation arrived yet.

It didn’t take long for someone to ram Nimson’s car and startle us all half to death. By the screeching and collisions, we could tell that multiple cars were involved. We leaned back, hoping no stray fender would end us.

Our own labored breathing and the disorder of the town became the soundtrack to our panic. After what felt like 15 minutes, we were able to blink normally. The light was no longer blinding. Once we could see, everything looked like something out of a post-apocalyptic film.

We each moved slowly, not wanting to speak in case we needed to hear a sign of the latest omen. I inched around the corner to see that the smoke dissipated. Nimson and Hayra tended to the car but could do nothing. They grabbed a few things inside and came back towards me. We walked to the beach at this point, despite it seeming like the universe didn’t want us to be there.

Inside the bag the others brought from the car was a tablet. Hay checked the Hex Watch app as we walked and I leaned over.

“It’s never been this bad.” I couldn’t help but say.

“Blood-red tides, Coast Redwoods surpassing skyscrapers, peoples' shadows extending to miles…this is beyond insane. Fires forming diamonds around strangers, gusts of wind carrying random people into the sky... And these are just a few headlines.” She remarked.

“I’m not gonna die until I solve this.” A rising confidence came over me. It was quickly combated by the vibrations in my jean pocket. My mother must have called me 8 times by this point, worried sick. I know she’d tell me to turn back but I can’t. What we find could mean answers, it could mean a shift in the way the world is.

In that moment I realized what I was willing to sacrifice for knowledge, for truth, for insight and for closure. Perhaps this decision bears too much weight for a twenty-four year old. Honestly though, if writing taught me anything, it’s that there’s always more beyond the surface.

I looked back at my fellow travelers.

“We should make a bee-line for the beach. Don’t fully sprint until necessary. Save your energy. And Hayra, don’t answer mom yet. We’ll talk to her soon enough.” Her nod and Nimson’s sharp grin were the approval I needed.

They followed as I led us through the bedlam. To no one’s surprise, sirens went off. Voices on megaphones alerted everyone to return home until told otherwise. I was sure it wouldn’t be long until emergency response teams got to the scene. I had to avoid them.

Anyone with half a brain was seen running to either their car or inside a building. We kept advancing, pausing at each block to observe in every direction. My heart had never been so on edge. I was convinced my aorta could rupture at any moment.

After enough diligence, we were within range of the beach. There was already a crowd forming, though it seemed no one tried to make direct contact with the figures. To make matters worse, dark storm clouds began to form over the water. Though they oddly made a circular pattern, avoiding the “ghosts” completely. As we got closer, more details emerged.

Many grains of sand defied gravity and started to float in strange patterns. Arcs of sand formed, other clusters were rectangular. If there was a sign, surely it would read “KEEP OUT.” Then I decided to get bold.

“Another hex is near. We should run and make contact before we lose this chance. I don’t know about you two, but I’d rather not wait another year. If we even have that long.”

“There’s being bold and then there’s being suicidal, dude.” Nimson added in protest.

“I can go without you, that’s fine. In the next 30 seconds, I’m making a move.”

He and Hayra were shocked to see me acting so rashly, I could tell by their expressions.

“Well-well someone needs to make sure a fool like you makes it out alive, I guess.” He forced a chuckle as he said it. Hayra simply nodded in agreement. I could tell they had faith. And I was determined to prove their faith right.

“Alright.” I said before I took the deepest breath I had ever taken in my life. “NOW!”

We ran across the street, disregarding any stares from the people ahead of us or behind us. We sprinted forward, feeling the colder zephyrs embrace us. My focus was unbroken and when my shoe touched the sand, I let up my pace.

Superstitious and paranoid mumbling became a torrent on our ears.

“The storm might advance if we get closer!”

“I just want to talk to her!! No matter what!”

“We’re going to die here too unless we repent!”

However, one quote struck me.

“There’s one among them that’s-well, they seem human. Perfectly still. I’ve never...no one’s ever controlled one before.”

“Controlled one?” I fiercely interjected. “What are you seeing?”

“Look for yourself.” The elderly woman pointed into the mass of “spirits.”

“No. Way.” Hayra added.

The clouds may have started to dim our vision but someone clearly stood in the center of more than 100 of the other beings. They were shrouded in some sort of gown that shifted in color. It went from a lush green to a bitter violet and even to a shimmering gold. Their head was exposed. Their hands were moving like a symphony. The coordination theory now had more weight.

Onlookers began pulling out their phones. I wanted to get closer. I was the only one to charge ahead.

“Wait!” My sister and Nimson shouted, respectively. Hayra’s hand caught the collar of my shirt for a second but I shook off her grip and sped to the sea, where all these figures stood. My body moved on its own. My yearning for things to change fueled this irrational need to do whatever it takes.

Everyone behind me fell quiet. I could only hear my exasperated breaths and the ocean. The closer I was, the more distorted the faces became. Mouths and noses spaced apart as if to escape my gaze. Their lower bodies were blurred and the singular colors that they all were began to brighten. I passed by one and began maneuvering between them, thinking that all that track and field stamina from school was paying off now.

Once I ran into my father, I halted completely.

“It’s you. It’s really you isn’t it??” But I heard no response. “You can answer me, dad. It’s Jemm.” I kept speaking to it, fighting back tears.

“You can talk to me. Say anything, really-anything.”

Silence.

I tried to touch his shoulder and the hex intensified. The sands rose up and spun to a coordinated rhythm. The clouds around us rained something with a tint I’ve seen before. The droplets were a deep purple. They were amethyst.

My allies were the only ones to chase after me. The others were caught in the range of the rain and shortly after it made contact with their skin they started collapsing to the ground. Whatever the rain was doing, it zapped them of consciousness. We were in a zone clear of the storm clouds. And that’s when of all things to happen, the shrouded person spoke.

“Sta-and. Ba-ck.” Each sluggish, staggered syllable echoed as if we were in a cave.

“Please, explain this to all of us.” I begged, walking closer to them.

“Dis-tance.” They said.

“Please, we all need to-” And with my next step, their left hand rose straight up. After that, a quake began.

“Okay, okay I will!” I retraced my steps and my fellow voyagers caught up with me finally. With my retreat came the disruption of the shaking ground, thank goodness.

“Dad couldn’t speak. I don’t know what any of this is.” Hayra said with growing uncertainty in her voice.

“I can’t find him.” Nimson remarked about his brother. It all made sense then. Many figures began disappearing. But at least this “spell-caster” spoke to us clearly. Seems like this charade was bait. The caster stepped forward and their platinum-skin came into better view.

“This is all your doing. I loved you all, every human, we both did.” They began. “Your alterations to the surface, to the plant-life, to the air and more...it all disrupted us in ways never felt before. This is not magic in the sense that you know. We are the fuel to every phenomena you’ve ever seen. Anything science can barely explain is rooted in us.”

“U-us?” I asked.

“I am one half the force residing in this planet’s core. I can shift, soothe, heal and grow. The other can reduce, inflict pain, decay and kill, among other things. The other and I have argued about how to change you all. The new world you see is a result of our conflict. Some of these actions destroy. Others are harmless, even beautiful.”

I couldn’t believe my ears. The storm clouds above inched closer from our rear. The downpour grew louder and louder.

“You see entities like myself as a myth. This isn’t my true form but it is one I can assume. Each planet has beings such as I. Beings that were present since the birth of our land. There is much you do not know about the intelligence of seemingly inactive structures in the universe.”

“I don’t understand. Why do this? Why not help?”

“The dilemma cannot simply be cured. You will repeat the same actions without enlightenment. I can assist in so-called miracles when you truly change.”

“So, what now?!” Hayra yelled.

“The rain will find you. When you awake, we will all be gone. You will hear that my presence was in multiple places at once.”

“Wait, wait!” Nimson exclaimed in fear. “You’re going about this all wrong. Talk to the leaders, they’d believe you.”

“On March 3rd of last year of your calendar, I spoke to many, directly. I was dismissed. I was hunted by their 'security.' I appeared in this form as well as others. The other half cooperated with me and when that approach failed, they took a more bold approach. The other and I are not in unison.”

“How can you be?” I asked, hyperventilating as the rain grew closer.

“Unite yourselves. In the face of doom, become that which doom cannot end: hope, realized. Respect the land you call home. Respect each other. Learn what it means to be truly enlightened.”

“You don’t know us well, do you? Can we really save ourselves, can we all be redeemed?”

And with that, the being faded into sand. Like a glitch in reality, every part of them transformed into grains. All characteristics of the form before vanished like they were never there to start with. I ran over, trying to cup the remains in my hand. I dug and dug but found nothing.

“Things will be different now. Others talked to it too. We can try to-”

“I don’t want to try!" I said to my sister. "I want to, I want to...” The drops finally found us. I became more and more hazy. I couldn’t fight it. Nimson and Hayra fell asleep right in front of me while trying to reach out and grab my arms.

I drifted off, unable to win this battle. My vision went black.

Fast forward, I woke up beside everyone else hours later with a massive headache. Disbelief clutched my very bones. I was still processing what happened.

I checked my phone: 31 missed calls. 467 social media notifications. 27 texts. And to add to the tumult, it was 11:48 at night with a dark sky. Could things have gone back to normal?

That didn’t matter. I knew this wouldn’t be the end of hexes. Now that I knew the intention behind all of it, now that we all knew, the future had potential to blossom into a new outcome. The real war was the one we’ve been losing: a war of minds, of philosophies and of values.

When the others wake up, time will tell if we deserve the Earth we've been given.

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Rich R.

Your mind and mine are both homes to infinite possibilities. Let's let them all flourish, shall we?

You can find more of my creations and my social media via this link! [ https://linktr.ee/rjrpoetry ]. I hope we get a chance to connect.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rich R. (Author)about a year ago

    This was originally a submission to the "Purple Clouds" Challenge. Vocal provided the first line: "Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky." I was a few hundred words over the limit. Due to my negligence, I didn't cut enough out in time. However, I hope you enjoy this story for what it is. All feedback is welcome!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.