Fiction logo

Almost the End

A Barnyard Tale

By Anthony HerringtonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read

It was a night like any other, I was in the old barn with Rosie finishing up for the day when it happened. A loud crash that sent vibrations all through me. As if God had just split the earth in two right outside the doors. It nearly sent Rosie up a wall as she coward near me. I did everything in my power to comfort her but didn’t know what was going on myself. That’s when I heard all the cries of fear from outside.

Before I could peel Rosie away from me and check it out, I was nearly trampled as Ed came charging in followed by nearly everyone else, I knew. “What on God’s green earth is going on out there, and why are y’all in my barn”? I shouted in a stern but concerned voice.

Sorry about that Daisy, didn’t mean to barge in like that but it was getting crazy out there. Said Ed the farm hand. An apology I easily accepted as he had been one of my oldest friends. “Well, what happened out there” I asked. “We aren’t really sure”. Said Henry as he stepped from behind Ed. “It looked like …”. “The end of the world!” Shouted Buddy as he interrupted.

Oh great, good to see you here as usual Buddy. I thought to myself sarcastically. See Buddy was a nice enough kid but was always a bit too much for Rosie and myself. He had a knack for getting himself and everyone else worked up. Though this time his over dramatic words could hold some merit as it seemed everything outside my old born was far from peaceful.

“Okay enough with the crazy talk, you are scaring Rosie.” I said hoping to slow things down a bit. “From what I have heard we should all be scared.” Said Buddy in an unfamiliarly serious manner. “What have you heard exactly”? I asked in a somewhat teasing tone thinking it would break him out of this act he was putting on. Before he could even answer there was another crash even louder than before. Accompanied by bright flashes and a distant glow that lit everything around the barn. I wanted to make sure everything was alright, but it seemed best that I stay where I was safe with Rosie. A decision I am glad I made as the next crash seemly shook the earth and the barn doors slammed shut.

Ed attempted to nudge them back open, but it appeared they wouldn’t budge. We were trapped inside for the time being. A situation none of us were all too excited about. I spent most of that night holding my daughter Rosie close to my side trying to reassure her that everything thing was ok. A task that seemed in vain as Buddy continuously spouted his nonsense about this so-called apocalypse.

He even went as far as to say he had heard everyone saying the end was almost here and that preparations were already made. As I heard him blabbing away, I couldn’t help wondering if he was right. I was about ready to snap at him again if not for Ed coming over to check on me and Rosie. Ed was always the helpful type. I was sad to think that he would be retiring soon. I hoped he would still come around every once and awhile. He was nice to have around and always put me at peace.

Buddy on the other had was driving me mad. He had poor Henry in the corner so scared he looked ready to squeal at any moment. I was just about ready to let Buddy have an ear full when we heard a noise at the barn door. The sound was too muddle by the thick door and all the other sounds to really know for sure, but it almost sounded like someone yelling for help. I shivered at the thought of someone being stuck out there but there was nothing I could do.

My guilt was short lived though. As whatever was out there started to pull violently on the door with a beastly determination. I froze with fear as I set there listening to the scrapping and clawing, sounds against the door. As if the unknown thing was ready to tear it down at any moment.

“It’s the harbingers of death, they are coming to take us.” Said Buddy, to my distain. I wanted to stomp him like a weed at this point, but I was crippled by fear. We all were. Ed was too nervous to be still, Henry was shaking in the corner and Buddy was practically hysterical. My poor Rosie kept her face buried into me and I just stood there ready to cry as I watched the door get ripped open piece by piece.

When it became too terrifying to bear, I tightly closed my eyes. And before I knew it, it was over.

“They’re in here!” said a familiar voice. It was Farmer Montgomery there to save us all. “It looks like everyone is here. I see Daisy and her calf Rosie, Old Ed the horse, that crazy dog Buddy and even that fat pig. He looks a little worse for the wear though.” “Oh, thank goodness honey I thought we lost em all to that storm last night”. Said Miss Mongomery, the farmer’s wife.

As fate would have it, a bad storm came there that night. Lightning had struck Farmer Montgomery’s house catching fire to it which kept them busy most of the night to get control of. Which wasn’t helped by the rest of the storm the blew debris everywhere, including against the old barn door which by some miracle was relatively unharmed. As scary as it was that night turned out all right and we all made it through.

I’m still doing what I can to provide milk and take care of Rosie who honestly at the point she won’t need me much longer. Ed finally retired from helping Farmer Montgomery. He was replaced by a young Colt. Old Ed is happily spending the rest of his days in relaxation on the farm. Buddy on the other head is still a head case. To think I almost believed all his talk about the end and harbingers of death coming to get us. Of course, it was all a load of bologna because we are all fine now. Well at least I think everyone is. I don’t really know about Henry. I haven’t actually seen him in a while. Which is weird, because I could of sworn I heard Miss Montgomery talking about how good he was and how much she like that pig.

Short Story

About the Creator

Anthony Herrington

I am a lover, a fighter, a father, and writer. I am still making my place in this world but hope to inspire people with my poetry to do the same.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Anthony HerringtonWritten by Anthony Herrington

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.