Fiction logo

All About My Bruises (Pt2)

and the story continues as I invite you to listen as I tell you all about my bruises. The story I'm about to tell might seem unreal and almost fake especially the part I was imprisoned in by my husband who abused and broke me so much, I didn't know I could be out back together. Let's see what you think by the end of the story. Even I couldn't have predicted the end.

By Nneka AniezePublished 2 years ago 20 min read
Like
All About My Bruises  (Pt2)
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

CHAPTER TWO

"What will you take?" Sam asked me.

Sam was looking as handsome as he used to be. I have been dating Sam since he came to visit me last month and he sure knew how to make a girl feel special. Today was the fifth time he has come to visit me and as usual, he brought so many things. He came with his friends as always. I found out the first time he came to visit me that Sam was very famous among his friends. They followed him around; I was not really happy about that but I did not want to come between him and his friends. And they seemed like good fellows.

Sam was dressed simply as he has always done since we started dating. He was dressed in chinos and t-shirt and he was looking handsome in it. His hair was decent the way I liked.

I was now the envy of all the girls in school. They still could not find what Sam found in me that made him want to be my boyfriend. Sam was also behaving like he could not take his eyes off me and I liked it.

"I will like salad and little rice," I said a little shyly. I did not want Sam to see that I actually wanted the fufu. He did not like me eating a lot. I, on the other hand, ate a lot.

"That's my girl. You have to be very conscious of what you eat. I don't want you to grow fat and lose that fine shape."

I was tall and I have a very impressive shape. I was also very dark and beautiful. I knew that was the reason Sam wanted me but I did not care. I was feeling very special. A girl from the deepest part of Ezeagu was the girlfriend of the mighty Sam. Cool. I did not need Sam to tell me that I have to maintain my shape.

I was sitting in the visiting hall with Tracy, Oge and five of Sam's friends. They were all very handsome but none was as handsome as Sam. We made a good couple. His friends have said as much. Sam knew how to gloat but I didn't care, as long as he paid attention to me. Sam liked to do everything in a big way. He made ceremony of all his visiting.

"Sam, since it's my birthday, can we now open the wine?" Tracy said.

She did not support my relationship with her brother and she did not try to hide it, she has an open disdain for me. Her brother did not care when she insulted me in his presence. He just laughed as if Tracy has said the funniest thing in the world. Sam never scolded Tracy for anything. She was the last born of the house and he did not like to make her cry. It only served to irritate me. Tracy was as spoilt as she could be; she did not hide it.

"If you want to open the wine, Tracy, go ahead," said Ozo, one of Sam's many friends. He was a quiet one. You could hardly notice him. He was gentle and well-mannered unlike the other friends that always looked at my backside with obvious fascination. Sam never came to see me with the same group of friends or the same number. He changed them a lot. I bet they followed him because he was very rich.

I could not say yet whether I love Sam, but I knew that I had feelings for him but I could not call it love yet. He made me feel big and above people like Oge and my class members. He said that he loved me and I believed him even though I knew that, somewhere in my heart, he did not really love me. He just wanted me because I was very beautiful. But then I chose to believe what he said; he would not spend such money on me if he did not love me, would he? I also believed him because he has not asked me to come outside with him or to lodge with him in a hotel like Oge said that he would ask one day. Oge said that the only thing men who did not love the woman they were chasing wanted from them was sex. Sam has not asked this of me yet he spent a lot on me. He did not only feed me, he also bought things like provisions, cloths and lingerie.

Tracy opened the wine that Sam bought her for her birthday. She poured for everybody but Oge and me. "Others should please serve themselves," she said.

She said that with enough venom to sting and it did. Tracy derived unwarranted joy from insulting Oge and I whenever we were gathered for stuff like this. Whenever she said something insulting or made one of her remarks that was aimed at telling Oge and me that we did not belong here, I ignored her because I did not want her trouble. I knew in my heart that I ignored her because I did not want to give Sam any reason to hate me or my friend but one could only take too much of such things and I bet I have taken my share. And bless Oge; she has taken more than her share and then some more. Tracy was just being spoilt. Looking at Oge, I knew that was the last insult she would allow Tracy to give her.

"You just poured the wine Tracy. Why don't you pour for everybody then?" Oge asked Tracy.

Tracy gave her the evil eyes and said, "I don't pour anything for those that I am better than. And I suggest you drink water."

Sam laughed at what she said. I knew that Oge would not let it go. She hated to be insulted by anyone. I was really hoping that Sam would step in and do something about his sister's attitude but as usual, he did not do anything.

"Wait babe. Did this thing just call me a serf? I don't blame you. They have spoilt you in such a way that you still feel like you are five years when you are menstruating. I really don't blame you," Oge insulted Tracy. She has been sitting quietly while enduring Sam, Tracy and their friends for me.

"You are the fool here. What would you be doing here if you do not want to eat with the rich? If you so much hate it, go to your room and don't come out. Gold digger!" Tracy shot back and looked daggers at her.

I gasped. That was harsh even for a snob like Tracy. Five months later I was still surprised that Oge did not jump out of her chair and grab Tracy by her hair extension. She looked so angry that I thought that she would blow up. I really hoped that she would not cause any fight. And I was also mad at Sam. He was not doing anything and it seemed like he was actually smiling. It infuriated me more. These were the kind of things that made me wonder if Sam really loved me like he said. He would not let his sister insult my friend like that if he really loved me. But I tried to create excuses for him. Maybe he did not like to get involved in women's fight and it would seem somehow for him to back his girlfriend over his sister but a stern word of correction would have been enough.

"That does it. I am leaving. Adaeze, see you in the hostel. I do not know how you stood this but I, in particular, will not take it anymore. I don't know how you endure that but I am done with it," said Oge looking at no one in particular.

Oge was looking very beautiful even with her anger. She looked very tall and fierce when she was angry. I always told her that she looked most beautiful when she was angry but she just laughed it off. I could see the men that Sam came with looking at her in a new light. Even Sam was a little intrigued or so I wanted to believe.

I didn't blame her. She had enough from Tracy. Tracy was being mean to her. Every time Tracy addressed Oge, it was to insult her or to point out to her that she didn't belong here, but Oge was not the only one that has had enough. I, too, was fed up with her attitude.

"Wait for me Oge. You can't leave me here. We came together and that is how we are going to go. Sam, I will call you later. Guys, thanks for coming. Tracy, happy birthday that is if you can find happiness. I hope you really grow up this time around," I said and made to leave.

"Adaeze, wait. I want to talk to you.

"Can't it wait? I am leaving." I was angry at him because he did not say anything to his insolent sister. He behaved like Tracy had every right to say whatever she did. He ran up and joined me. It was apparent that what he wanted to tell me was urgent for him. I wondered what that could be.

"It can't wait. I have been trying to gather up the courage to tell you this. I am going to do it today."

I did not like the sound of that. I was that kind of person that did not like expressing her emotion. The way Sam was behaving, I had this foreboding that what he was about to say would be highly emotional. I did not like things that would force me to face my emotions. He took my hands in his and started speaking.

"Ada, I have known you now for a very long time. Well, four months to be exact but that's enough time for me to know that I have come to love you. I love you baby girl and I want to be with you. I know you want to be with me too." gave a small smile before moving on. I did not say anything to interrupt him. I couldn't say anything. I was in shock. He went on saying, "I don't want to date you or to mess around with you baby girl. I want to wife. So I'm asking if you would make me the happiest man alive and be my wife. I will make sure that you have everything that money can buy if you say yes. I will make you very happy Ada. Just say yes!"

I watched him with great fascination as he went down on knee. I could feel the others looking at us with held breaths. I still couldn't believe that Sam was proposing to me in the school visiting hall. I said the first thing that came to my mind.

"That is very sudden Sam. I am still in school and..."

"I know that. People stay in school and get married all the time. And besides, people go to school to qualify for a nice job so they can make money. I have a lot of money and as my wife; you do not have to work. You can still go to school if you want. Just say yes. You will not regret it," he said with so much assurance.

I wanted to go and hide. Talk about emotion! It did not get more emotional than that. I was not surprised, I was surprisingly speechless. I knew Sam liked me but not that much. Why would he want to marry me? He did not even know me that well. I could not help it but the first thing that came to my mind was that I was very lucky. I have nothing at all to offer a man like Sam, yet he wanted to marry me. I must have found favour in the sight of God. Looking at it, I could not find any reasonable reason to say no. He must love me if he wanted to marry me. I did not love him yet but I was sure I would learn to love him with time. All it would take was time. But I prided myself on my common sense, so to justify common sense; I asked him, "Why do you want to marry me? You did not even know me. Why would you want to marry me?"

"Why would you ask that baby? I love you. I love everything about you, all of them. The first time I saw you, I knew that you were mine. I don't care if you don't have anything. As long as you have me, you will not lack. I will make sure you have everything that you desire dear."

That was a good speech. He was on bended knees, giving me ring and he loved me. How did I get so freaking lucky? I knew then that wild horses would not stop me from marrying him. My education, I decided then, could wait.

I looked around and saw that so many people were watching me to see what I have to say to the man that just proposed to me. They would think that I must be crazy if I refused him. I did not want anyway. Sam was everything I wanted in a man, including richness.

"Yes, I will marry you. I will, I will, I will, I will." I sang it like a mantra.

He stood up, hugged me so tight I thought I would crack and then he kissed me on the lips as if there was no tomorrow or so I wanted to believe. He did not even care that we were in the school with the matrons and everyone looking. He kissed me full on the lips and I did not care either. I was on top of the world looking down on all the creations on earth. That was how happy I was.

His friends came forward and congratulated us. They shook his hands and some of them hugged me. I was happy and shy and I was feeling very little. I felt happily out of place. I stomped down that feeling. I am engaged to be married, what on earth could go wrong? It did not get any better than this. I didn't want to notice that his friends were very reluctant in their congratulations. Maybe they were jealous of him. That must be the case. There was no way they could pity her for marrying Sam. that was not possible.

Tracy, on the other hand, was staring daggers at me. I knew we would not be best of friends but I hoped we would learn to be civil to one another. I went out of my way to be nice to her. I knew I did not have to, but it would not be nice to be in enmity with the younger sister of my husband, now would that be right? She was so cold to me that I feared she would freeze me if I touched her.

Oge was not there to see what happened. I will tell her everything in full detail. She would be thrilled for me. Who wouldn't?

****************

"You can't just marry a man you don't know and don't love. It is not done anywhere."

I have heard that from Oge for more than seven times and I knew more was coming. Oge was dead against my marrying Sam. She believed that he did not love me. She believed that Sam wanted to use me for his own ends. I have no idea why she would think that. What could Sam want from me? If anyone could gain anything from the marriage to would be me. I did not have anything to offer him which was what convince me to believe that he loved me. I was still trying to find reasons why Sam would want to use me. I just did not make any sense of that and I have told Oge so but she did not want to believe me. I did not know how else to make her see reason the way I did. Marrying Sam could be one of the best things that ever happened to me. I hoped she could believe me.

"He loves me, girl. He said so himself. If not love, why else would he want to marry me? I am not rich or something."

Oge flopped down on the bed and looked at me like I was crazy, as if she could not believe the words that just came out of my mouth. We were in the hostel and in out day wear.

"Look at you. You are very pretty, the very bane of what they call African beauty. Any man that appears in a public with you in the right attire will be the envy of all other men. Sam, I am sure, wants to use you as his own private handbag. He just wants to show you off. Girl, can't you see that? There is nothing you can offer him and he has known you for only three weeks and you believe that he is head over heels in love with you?" Oge stood up and came and held my hand. I wanted to shake it off. I did not like the points she was making. I wanted to hear what she had to say so I could tell her that she was very wrong. "Girl, you need to wake from your day-dream because love does not happen like that," she went on. "It takes more than that and I don't see the rest of it."

I did not like how Oge was sounding. I removed her hands from me and picked my cloth from the bed and folded it so I could put it inside my box. The box was open on my bed and filled with my cloths. I turned and looked at her. She looked right back like she did not say anything wrong.

"What if I tell you that I love him? Why can't you just let it be? I am marrying Sam and nothing will stop me. You are my friend. You should be happy for me not criticizing him. I might not love him now but I am sure that I will learn to love him."

Oge put her hand on her head and looked up at the ceiling like she was seeking divine intervention. She was very dramatic when it suited her. Right now was one of those times.

"Adaeze my friend, I would be happy for you if I did not see the way Sam looks at you. He does not look as a man who is consumed with desire; he looks at you as a price, like a chair that will be right for his living room, like a handbag that will be good if he were a lady, like a car that will draw the right attention, like an asset. I don't see love in his eyes when he looks at you." she threw up her hands in frustration. "God! He does not even respect or defend you. A man that loves you and wants to marry you will not let his kid sister talk to you the way Tracy talks to you." She walked up to me again. I resisted the urge to draw back. "Even though you are bullheaded, I love you, Adaeze, and I don't want you to do something that you will regret later. You deserve better."

I was then angry at her. She was making me too uncomfortable. I didn't like to have emotional conversation and she kept bringing it up. Being angry at her, I knew, was my way of defense but I could not help it. I walked away from her again to look into my cupboard to check if I got everything and to stay away from her. "You talk about love. How do you even know when someone is in love? It doesn't show."

"It does show my friend. It does show. You just have to feel it then you will see that love does show and you are not feeling."

I left the cupboard and went and sat on the bunk. I hated what Oge was telling me because it was so close to the truth. We hardly argued; I didn't like shouting a lot. Oge liked observing people and I knew deep down that her observation was my conclusion but I refused to admit it to myself. I knew I was just deceiving myself but I plowed on. He said that he loved me. That should be enough for me.

Oge stood on the ground and looked at me like she pitied me. I shrunk from her expression. I knew Oge meant well but then I wanted her to just stop bugging me with her lectures. Not caring that I did not reply her or comment, she carried on. "An Igbo adage goes, 'asukata eze anya, ekpulu nkata n' isi gwa eze okwu'. I will tell you this so that you will not say that you were not warned. 'Isi kote ebu, o gbaa ya.' You will be leaving school to become Sam's house wife. You won't even get your WAEC. I know you Adaeze; I know you will regret this later. I am clearing my conscience. Do not say that your best friend Ogechi Aniamalu did not tell you." She pulled at her ears to emphasize the point. She turned and went to her own bunk.

"Okay, I hear you and I will still marry him. The truth is that none of the things you said are true. Maybe you are just saying it because you do not want to lose your best friends. We will still be friend dear. I am getting married, not exiled. Thanks for caring." I was close to tears and I didn't like crying. It made my face all red and puffy. I also knew that I was hurting Oge but I could not help it. I wanted her to side me but she still would not like Sam.

"I do not envy you my friend. I pity you and I know you do not like that. I wish you well in whatever you do, yes, I wish you that. How I wish you were getting exiled instead of married to Sam. I have looked at Sam and I am telling you that he is not a good person. My mum told me that you would know a wife beater by the way he behaves towards a woman. I did not get her before but I think I do not. I have seen the way Sam treats you and I am telling you, I have seen nothing to show that he is so very much in love with you. He does not even respect you or even defend you against that vile sister of his and you want to tell me that things will change for the better? I doubt that but since you have made up your mind, I wish you well."

She came and hugged me. She was crying. I knew why she was crying. She thought that I was giving myself away for nothing. I wanted to reassure her but if I opened my mouth, I would only end up crying. And I did. I held her tight and cried. I would take care of my face later.

After the emotional display, we went back to packing. I was going home to the village to tell my people that I was getting married. I was afraid of the confrontation. My father did not go to school but he valued education a lot, just like so many people in my family. I didn't think that they would like my getting married. I was not looking forward to meeting them.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Nneka Anieze

Hello there,

Nice to meet you. My name is Nneka, mom of one living in Windsor, Ontario. I enjoy reading a lot and have decided to try my hand at writing. Hoping to better my skills and perfect my writing skills. I hope you enjoy my writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.