Fiction logo

Alaska

Wishful Thinking...

By Tonya R. MoorePublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
25

I think I'd like to live in Alaska for a while. Some way-out-there place where I'm surrounded by ice all the time. I think the isolation would do me some good.

I'd love the sensation of blinding rays of sunshine glittering against the pure white freezing my senses. I'd go spotting humpbacks playing hide and seek with the icebergs. I'd enjoy watching the endless progression of glaciers.

What does cracking ice sounds like from miles away? A bullet, thunder ... maybe violent rain.

I wonder, if I lived by the frozen sea, would whalesong and wind haunt my every waking moment?

Microfiction
25

About the Creator

Tonya R. Moore

Jamaican writer & editor. Half-baked poet.

I write about dark stuff and star stuff.

www.tonyarmoore.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    congrats on T.S. I did live in Alaska, LOL. https://vocal.media/fiction/keys-lost-in-the-snow

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    Great insight to one state I haven't visited mainly because I live in Sweden. I love feeling of cosy isolation. Good writing!

  • Very interesting blog. Thanks a lot for sharing such a good source with all, i appreciate your efforts taken for the same.<a href="https://bangaloredigitalmarketing.com"> digital marketing company in bangalore </a>

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Oh, this is simply stunning. 💗💓 Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Your imagery is so evocative; I feel ya. I'd love to move to Alaska for a bit. Amazing work, keep it up! Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Big up, Tonya! Nicely done.

  • Brin J.3 months ago

    Romanticizing ice.❄️🙌🏻 I'm in love. From afar, this is how I view snow, frost, and the cold. But I know I couldn't survive it for long. Lol. Very beautiful and illustrative.

  • Harbor Benassa3 months ago

    Great concrete imagery. I had a roommate from Alaska in college whose family kept massive containers of food on hand since it was such a remote place. I specifically remember her referencing the huge barrels of honey.

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Your descriptions are so good that I felt like I was there. What a great choice for a top story.

  • Test3 months ago

    Great job! Keep up the fantastic work—congratulations!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Super!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Shaun Walters3 months ago

    Congratulations! Great ending

  • Melissa Ingoldsby3 months ago

    Oh this is Really my dream!! Wow I really related and love your descriptions of the whale song, haunting and visceral

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.