Fiction logo

Aftershock waves

Chapter 37

By Ann Published 2 years ago 7 min read

Ten minutes later, there was a noise coming out of the semiconductor. A male announcer's deep, nervous voice said: "The city's attention, the city's attention, the city has just had a 6.7 magnitude earthquake, the epicenter in the village of Yao, resulting in the collapse of some houses, there is no casualty information, the city government has been in the organization of disaster relief team, please do not panic, the following broadcast the earthquake period precautions and emergency measures..."

I hurried into Jing Ke's house, turn on the sound, attention is very concise and comprehensive, including during this period should prepare items and where to hide in the earthquake, by the way to do the popularization of knowledge, earthquake hiding three golden places: a small toilet, under the table, corner, my understanding is to put himself as indecent men, you see others Liu Bang is doing very well.

Half an hour after the broadcast, a number of unexplained items in the city began to run out of stock, including lighters (buried in bricks to illuminate and light smoke), whistles (buried in bricks to blow people to find you), knives (I don't know what to do, is it a severed limb? Horrible ah), flashlights, steamed bread sold at the door of the long line, then bread, biscuits, instant noodles were snapped up, many people go straight to the heart of the grain store.

The First Emperor of Qin looked out of the window at the people in panic and said to me disapprovingly, "You are doing a good job!" I see the steamed stuffed bun is not, jump scold: "You know now love people, the Great Wall who repair?" It suddenly occurred to me that when Meng Jiangnu was crying down the Great Wall, was the earthquake the first time she wailed? Well, if that's the case, we're a good match, except she has a better reputation than I do.

After checking the bun for a week, he told me anxiously, "There is a crack in the wall of my bedroom with Xiao Nan. We still have enough rice noodles to eat for a week.

I shouted: "Feather brother, with brother to grab rice, grab noodles, grab cabbage!"

Liu Bang suddenly said in a gloomy voice: "Natural disasters and man-made disasters, where there is price gouging killed without pardon, this matter if I do, I will make an example of the stability of the public - you say when the mahjong hall can open?"

Later events proved that Liu Bang was a bit wise in his overall view. The government soon introduced policies to prevent price gouging, which were repeated at first. Order began to be restored after the seizure of two grain and oil stores. While the large supermarkets such as Trust-Mart, Renren, Carrefour and other chain stores have almost all had the experience of dealing with similar incidents, the price remained stable and finally began to return to normal after several shopping peaks.

After the life has no worries, people began to worry about the future safety issues, the radio said, after the earthquake aftershocks although there is a possibility, but it is unlikely to exceed the intensity of the first, the radio also told us that the better security measures is to sleep under the bed, if the condition of the family can sleep in the toilet, do not recommend people build earthquake shed and go to the open night.

This last one is a reminder that camping tents and sleeping bags are running out of stock. Parks and school grounds were immediately filled with tents of all kinds.

The damage to houses this time was minor, and as long as they had not been built in recent years, they were mostly unscathed, but many panicked people, most of them wealthy, preferred to sleep in tents. The casualty data of this event also came out, a total of 14 people died, most of them are Yao village farmers, were killed by the collapse of the house on the spot there are 9, a few are being smashed into, and they are different from a just moved from the second floor to the 18th floor of the brothers, at noon is asleep to hear someone shout earthquake, do not want to jump out of the window... There was also a small accident. A young student got a tattoo, originally intended to tattoo a sword. However, after the earthquake, the technician drew a long wavy line with a shake of his hand.

In addition to the public security bureau, water plants and power plants such key departments, students and most of the factories are temporarily on holiday, this year there is no limited number of excellent teachers in our city, who did not just run in the earthquake to send the students to escape first, including one who teaches secondary subjects are all excellent teachers.

This was more than half a month after Jin Shaoyan left the matter, this boy's life is good, do not have to worry twice.

Now safety is also on my agenda. Confucius said, "A gentleman should not stand under a dangerous wall. It is not very good to let these people accompany me in a cracked house and resign themselves to fate without even seeking their advice." When I asked them if they wanted to move out and live in tents, they all asked me in unison, "Are you still playing?"

My only idea at that time was to put another one in front of them to prove my innocence, but this fart is a gas, not you want to put it, you want it to make a sound, hard to hold it is not difficult, hard to hold it out is not easy. I said at the top of my voice: "The earthquake really has nothing to do with my fart!"

Several men looked at each other, Qin Shi Huang said: "Crooked (that) tut (this) four feelings (things) don't go around the community (say) gas (go), you see the Hadron ha (scare) drop." Liu Bang nodded and said, "Well, even if the rest of us had better not mention it again in the future, we'll just pretend not to know." Xiang Yu said, "Let it go. What do you have to be afraid of?"

I gave up the idea of explaining, put a beer bottle upside down on the windowsill, look back to see Jing two silly eager to try, sigh a sigh, simply throw the bottle aside, die, die with them a few together I also recognize.

At this time the voice of Liu Lao Liu shouted me downstairs, I ran out, see Liu Lao Liu actually riding a Puma brand electric car, a foot to the ground, mouth a 18 piece of Lanzhou, I said: "Hey ah, rich ah?"

Liu Lao Liu nodded at me with a squinted eye, took the cigarette from his mouth, and said, "Not bad, the park is full, people have nothing to do and come to me to read the gua, this car is borrowed from a gua friend, I come to remind you to be ready, the 300 Yue army will come in three days, I have to go back quickly, I still have a queue, and if I don't go back the owner of this car should call the police."

"Didn't you say you were going to borrow it?"

"I asked him to borrow the ear-picking spoon on his keys, not the car."

I grabbed him: "You can send someone to me, but to my designated place, can you do it?"

Liu Lao six wave: "can't do, that is a fixed transmission point."

I swallowed my pride and said, "Then you'll have to come later. You can't come here with a battalion in broad daylight, can you?"

Liu Lao Liu thought about it and said, "I'll try it. Do you have anything else?" He looked at me and grabbed his hand.

I please said: "You tell me, later will not earthquake?" That's all I wanted to know, and that's why I flattered him.

I said, "Don't pretend to be a grandson. Aren't you a fairy?"

"There's a rule that you're not supposed to use your powers on earth unless you have to, but my divinations are pretty good. There's going to be an aftershock at three in the morning tomorrow -- that's what I've been telling people, if you like."

I see. I'm no match for the old devil. He knows the hooligan mentality.

The reason why I didn't get crazy about the early arrival of 300 this time is that I came up with an emergency plan less than 2 hours after the earthquake. I have ordered 100 tents from a place that sells camping equipment online in the city. One tent can accommodate 5 people, and my current reception capacity is 500. At this time, no one will suspect anything, and the house hunting can be put off. But I'm going to wait a few more days. I reckon prices are going to fall quite a bit.

At 2:30 that night, I confidently woke up my group of 5 people and Baozi, they did not sleep well, when I said there would be an earthquake at 3 o 'clock, except for the two women believed, I noticed that Liu Bang really did not dare to go behind me, we batch coats out of the house, standing in the square across the street from us shivering, at 2:45, A lot of people came out of our street one after another. At 2:55, old man Zhao and his family left their house as the last group of people, filling the square. At first, everyone was a little embarrassed.

At 3 o 'clock, the earth is as calm as water, people who do not speak, are focused on staring at the foot, 3:15, someone began to relax, they asked each other, a lot of people said: I was listening to the park wall under the Liu Banxian said.

I knew something was wrong. We waited until dawn that day without any intention of an earthquake. People yawned and went back to bed. There was a stern statement on the radio that day, saying that someone took advantage of this special period to spread rumors about the earthquake, his purpose is not hidden, the public security authorities have been wanted, this person has a nickname Liu Banxian, official name: Liu Lao Liu.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AWritten by Ann

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.