Fiction logo

After the World Ends

A story of the apocalypse

By Christian BellmorePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

It took three hours for the Earth to stop flooding. Nearly a third of the entire population was taken out, and destroyed almost everything standing.

Humanity didn’t do too bad, all things considered. I mean, come on! It’s the end of the world and only a third got taken out! It could have been worse, anyways.

It’s been eleven years since then, and of course there’s still water everywhere. Some of it is ankle high and doesn’t get in the way of daily life. But boats have become the most common form of travel now. Towns along the coasts are completely sunken, and I doubt they’ll be livable anytime soon—unless we start to develop gills or something. That wouldn’t be surprising anymore.

I lost my family during the flood—or, at least, I think that’s what happened. I can’t remember much of my life in the Before Time™. It’s mostly just flashes, if I’m being honest. I think it’s a trauma response, but I suppose it doesn’t matter either way. I can’t remember jack shit, and there’s nothing that can be done about it. All I have is this heart-shaped locket with a water damaged picture of a family on the inside. It was found in my old, oversized army green jacket I was curled up in, so I’m assuming I knew these people. I mean, why else would I have it?

Since my memory is so hazy, I’m not really sure how old I am, but I think I’m about 15. Once the flooding stopped, rescue teams were sent out. Apparently I was abandoned with nothing but the clothes on my back and the contents in my pockets. I’m glad I don’t remember any of that.

After the flood, different governments tried to form, but none of them really stuck. I live in what used to be the Midwest, and even now it’s far from being considered “important” to anyone. It’s kind of an every person for themself place, and nothing that anyone in an disfigured ivory tower can say will reach us.

Don’t get me wrong: it’s not completely lawless, exactly. Like, there’s little communities that have sprung up in places, and those typically have some regulations in tact. I live in one of those. It’s… well, it wouldn’t have been my first choice, but you know that saying about the beggars and the choosers.

Besides, it helps combat loneliness. I’d take it over isolation any day.

Anyways, the community mostly resides in this old theater in the middle of some small town. It’s the highest point—hence why it was chosen—but there’s other buildings that have been taken up as well. Like, there’s this building on the other side of this random, very square park that separates it from the theater that has become a quasi political building. I’m not sure what it was before this. An art gallery? Who knows. Doesn’t matter anymore.

I’m one of the gathers. I look for supplies: y’know, food, batteries, weapons. Things like that. It used to be easy since there was a convenience store just down the block from the community, but that’s been completely raided. Now I need to make trips to the grocery store at the edge of town. I suppose I shouldn’t be complaining, really. The walk is under a mile, and now that cars have become obsolete I don’t have to deal with any traffic on the highway that cuts through the town like a festering wound.

But I suppose that can’t be added onto the list of things that don’t matter anymore. Like the masks we’re supposed to wear when we go out. Ace, our leader, insisted on them from the very beginning. He was very against the first government that formed: called them tyrannical and insisted we hide our faces to stay out of their control. And repeated that speech with every government that’s formed since.

To be fair, he’s right, and I was a huge supporter at first (well, I was a kid, but still). But it’s been, what, three failed fascist governments? Yeah, three failed fascist governments that couldn’t even extend their “power” this far and haven't affected us in the least bit. I get why he was so worried at first, but at this point he’s overreacting. Nothing’s going to happen to us!

Don’t get me wrong, Ace is a great leader and all. He’s just high strung. But, hell, maybe that’s why he works as a leader. Doesn’t mean living with him is easy, though.

“Where’s your mask?”

Ah, speak of the devil.

“What are you, my father?” I retorted as I turned to face Ace.

I don’t know much about him. No one does, really. He likes to keep to himself most of the time—which I never really understood, but I suppose we all react to big, traumatizing apocalypses differently. All I know is that he’s tall, has a low, booming voice, is somewhere in his 20s, and is always covered from head to toe. Forget his face, I don’t think I’ve ever seen his forearm! He always wears a big purple cape; the rest of his outfits are all black, even his gloves. His mask is the only exception. It’s white with tiny eye slits and a painted-on smile—which is odd, since I’m sure he never smiles. I think he might have been part of a circus before the flood. Either that or he was just a giant nerd.

“You know the rules, Jamie. Do you enjoy putting everyone’s life on the line?”

Oh yeah, he’s the drama queen to end all drama queens. Forgot to mention that.

I sighed, crossing my arms. “You’re overreacting, Ace. There’s nothing but radio silence out there. They don’t matter anymore.”

He was still for a moment, then asked if I got the supplies. Evidently he was no more in the mood for a fight than I was. I swung my backpack off my shoulder and showed him the contents: two different boxes of cereal, some granola bars, and a few cans of refried beans.

“That’s it?”

I huffed. “Of course that’s it. I’m just one person. If you wanted more you should have sent a team.”

“I didn’t… look, there was another reason I sent you out there.”

Nodding, I said, “To see how much longer we have until we need to find other places for supplies.”

“And?” Ace asked as he held the theater’s door open for me. There wasn’t much inside. A big, gaudy staircase was on the back wall, and a giant shattered chandelier hung from the ceiling. We’ve been meaning to take it down for some time now, but it’s never been a priority. Besides, it gives the room character. We walked to a room on the left. It was completely empty when the community first moved in, but now it’s been repurposed to be the supply room. You want food? Here it is. Need a knife? Check the knife pile! Water?

Go outside. There’s tons of it out there.

“There’s enough supplies for a few weeks, but that’s just a rough guess. We’re going to have to scout out a new place soon.”

Ace sighed, mumbled something about how this is getting harder, thanked me, and then walked away. I gave the contents of my backpack to Serina, the person in charge of the supplies, and went to my living space. It’s a little room in the back of the building. Judging by the giant mirror, I’m assuming it was a dressing room. But hey, there’s one more for the list!

I flopped down on my bed in the corner. There isn’t much in my room besides it—decorating hasn’t been a top priority to me. My dirty clothes were in a pile on the floor opposite of my bed, the makeup desk in front of the mirror has old drawings and food wrappers (what? You can’t expect me to give everything I gather to the community. I’m trying to survive here! I should keep some of it!).

Typically after an outing, I would have tried to sleep before dinner, but that night I couldn’t. All I could think of was how picked over the store has become and what that meant for the future.

Hearing my door open, I jolted upright. It was just X. They’re the second in command of the community, and Ace’s complete opposite. Basically, X is the fun loving parent who gets their kids ice cream whenever they want. I know that sounds weird considering these two run our community, but X and Ace really balance each other out. X has been taking care of me since the flood. They’re kind of like an older sibling, always annoying me until I really need support.

Except at that moment, I could tell they needed me more.

“X, what’s wrong?”

They didn’t reply. Instead, they closed the door behind them and sat down at the edge of my bed. Their mask was pulled up over their face, which was something they rarely did even when the two of us were alone. Their nose was crooked from being broken over and over again, their black bangs were badly cut from years of doing it themself, and their soft golden skin was dotted with sweat. Looking into their black eyes, I could see just how afraid they were.

“It’s Ace,” they began.

“When isn’t it?” I don’t know why I was so mean to him, really. Sometimes you need to take your feelings out on someone else I guess.

“Jamie, listen. He’s… he told me…” They got up and walked over to the desk, their hands covering their eyes.

“He told me he was actually going to do it.”

Ice filled through my veins. “Do what?” I already knew, of course. I’ve heard plans for this for years, but I never thought it would actually happen. I needed to hear X say it though.

“He’s going to stage a coup. He’s picking out his team as we speak.”

I didn't move. While he got on my nerves, I did care about Ace. I didn’t want him to go on some suicide mission, and I definitely didn’t want him to drag others into it.

“There’s something else,” No. No, there can’t be anything else. “He… he wants you to come too.”

I stared at X, my mind going completely blank. “But… why? Why me?”

They shook their head. “I’m not sure. He said he would only talk about his choice with you.” They walked over to me and pulled me into a hug. “I can talk him out of it. Don’t you worry.”

But this is the end of the world, isn’t it? How could I not be worried? We only have temporary solutions. If we don't come up with something soon, our community will die.

I didn’t respond, but I had a feeling I already made my decision.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Christian Bellmore

they/them

Linktree: https://linktr.ee/wish_ful_thinking

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.