Fiction logo

After the Battle of the Bulge

Vocal Microfiction Challenge (Based on a True Story)

By Chuck EtheridgePublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
After the Battle of the Bulge
Photo by National Library of Scotland on Unsplash

“Hands up!” The American sentry said.

“Yes, Corporal.” I comply when a rifle points at me.

“You talk funny.”

“I am English,” I said. “Is it you who ‘talks funny?”

“What do we have here?” said an arriving sergeant.

“Guy says he’s English. But I think he’s a German spy.”

“I’m English,” I said. “But I lived in the States before the war.”

“Oh yeah?” said the sergeant. “Who won the 1939 World Series.”

“No idea. But I starred with Ginger Rogers in Bachelor Mother that year.”

“What did you say your name was?”

“Niven. Lieutenant Colonel David Niven.”

Historical
Like

About the Creator

Chuck Etheridge

Novelist, Teacher, Transplanted West Texan, Reluctant Poet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Chuck Etheridge (Author)12 months ago

    Thanks, Sherry. You're right about the photo; it was the closest thing I could find to a WWII pic in the Unsplash library. I have been looking for your entry in the "Passings Ships" challenge and can't find it. Maybe I'm navigating Vocal wrong.

  • Sherry Lowell-Lewis12 months ago

    Hi, Chuck! Glad to read your micro-story. It's cute. But the picture looks more like WWI than WWII. Since I've read the biographies of both Rogers and Niven, I'm tickled. It's a great "reveal" of an unknown fact about Niven, a favorite of mine. Good luck! I hope you'll read and comment on my stories, along the way!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.