Fiction logo

After picking up the wallet

Last November 6, around 1 p.m., I rode my bicycle from Taizhou Huangyan District

By Ebrahim mohammadiePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
After picking up the wallet
Photo by Johan Godínez on Unsplash

Last November 6, around 1 p.m., I rode my bicycle from Taizhou Huangyan District, the north end of Orange Avenue intersection on the east side of the non-motorized road to home, into the intersection about 50 meters, found a wallet on the ground, rectangular about 25 x 13 cm, from the color, concluded that the wallet used by lesbians.

At that time, no one was around, so I picked it up home a checkpoint, there are 1066 yuan in cash, two ID cards, four bank savings cards, credit cards, and several valuable cards such as supermarket shopping.

My goodness, I am the first time in my life to pick up so much money and things, my heart is very happy.

But immediately think of the people who lost the wallet must be very anxious at this time, how to return the wallet to the owner as soon as possible?

How to hand it over? The address shown on the ID card in the wallet is a town in Feishui County, Anhui Province, but there is no contactable phone number. They may be working in Taizhou, but it is not easy to make money, and lost money and belongings must be very heartbroken. After a discussion with my lover, I decided to give the wallet to the police.

I immediately took the wallet to the unit and called the police to 110.

10 minutes later, a police car drove to the door, down three police officers, to my desk, and asked is I just reported the police found a wallet, I said yes, then give us it.

After I wondered: how to pick up the wallet to the police is so simple, do not ask the name of the pickup, there is no contact number, where the wallet is picked up, what time to pick up, what things inside, etc., should also have a detailed record is ah, so that the pick up feel that I picked up something to the police to rest assured. The company's main goal is to provide the best possible service to its customers.

According to the address shown on the ID card in the wallet, the person who lost the wallet is from a town village in Feishui County, Anhui Province, with several groups of people. They are unfamiliar with Huangyan, lost their wallet to where they can find it, and can not be returned to the original owner is a question mark for them.

But there is no phone number to contact, and I am afraid that the police will not be able to find the lost person in time, making the lost person anxious.

I immediately contacted the district alien population registration center, requesting to find a contact number of a person named Cui Mouling in Feishui County, Anhui Province, and explained the reason, and soon replied that there was this person but did not leave a contact number, indicating that it was difficult to find the owner for a while.

But I always have a desire to find a way to find the owner promptly, so that the owner can return the property to its rightful owner so that the lost person will not be anxious for a long time.

I thought of the wallet in the bank card in China Post Bank, Industrial and Commercial Bank of China may wish to go to the banking sector to understand the contact information.

I went to a window of the postal bank on Orange Township Avenue, provided my name and ID number, explained the reason, and asked for the customer's contact number, but the salesman refused to inquire because he "can't leak customer information for a third party". However, I left my contact number at the window and was told that they found a bank card and the whole wallet had been handed over to the local police station, so please inform them in case someone comes to ask about the lost and found.

I immediately went to a window of the Industrial and Commercial Bank of China on Orange Township Avenue to request a query in the same way, and was refused in the same way.

It is difficult to just stop looking for the owner, no, I do not edge to just give up.

The next day, I wrote two informative signs, inserted in the north end of Orange Avenue (where the original wallet was lost) on the east and west sides of the intersection, hoping that the owner can see the lost and found in time, after two days also no response.

This thing makes me more anxious.

On the fourth day, through a variety of ways to find the owner in vain, I remembered another way, according to the address on the ID card at the time, sent a registered letter to his hometown in Anhui, hoping that the people back home immediately after receiving the letter to contact the relatives in Huangyan, in time to claim the lost wallet, you can say that this is my last trick.

November 18, I just received an unfamiliar cell phone call, the other party first called a Feng uncle, and told him that he is the Anhui Feishui County Cui Mouling's lover, lost the wallet which day is anxious, to that postal bank to register the loss, the bank clerk told him, no need to register the loss, you lost the bank card and wallet has been picked up to the local police station, and then he went to the police station to retrieve the wallet. If you hadn't sent a letter to my hometown, I wouldn't have been able to contact you and other words of gratitude. I asked if the money and belongings in the wallet were missing, and he said that none of them were missing.

After hearing this, I felt very relieved but also very confused.

The relief is that the owner has promptly reclaimed the lost wallet, and my ten days of hanging heart have finally fallen to the ground.

The dumbfounded is that the relevant departments of the disposition of the lost and found results and the owner of the lost and found, the channel of information exchange has become so narrow, so that the finder in the dark for more than ten days, but also has been thought that the owner can not be found.

Really: a matter of a heart, the matter is not finished heart restless.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Ebrahim mohammadie

Go for a walk. Get to know more about the world. Want to go on adventures?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.