Fiction logo

Affair? WTF said gently under my breath

ARE YOU SERIOUS

By Novel AllenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Yarenci-HDZ - unsplash

Just because I am successful, beautiful and accomplished....AND SINGLE...does not mean I NEED to have an 'Affair'.

Although you are 6ft 3inches of perfect sinew and muscle rippling gorgeousness...WITH RESPONSIBILITIES....you need to keep your distance.

Being a confident, well defined and purpose driven woman, who chooses to be single, does not give you the 'GREEN LIGHT' to swoop in and offer your services. Your attached, family at home, egotistic testosterone driven services. No thank you.

johannes plenio-unspalsh

I see you seeing me stepping out of the pool, my bikini clad toned body glistening with water droplets from my recent frolicking and exhaling. I am taking my time to work out the stress of a very productive day. Making MY muscles and sinew become one with my chi.

I saw you watching me as the water caressed and kissed my body. I know that I am moving slowly and suggestively, but that is for me to savor the wonderful feeling of freedom and peace by letting go and just move to my own rhythm. Please go away, This is my 'me' time, let me have my privacy.

I know you. I see you everyday, everywhere, maybe not always six feet three inches, but just as fine and fabulous. Well heeled men, and women I must say, whose lust filled eyes undress one as one goes about living one's life. I must confess, I too have undressed a few with my eyes as I flitter along life's journey. But, I move along and forget the thought or the sight, it was only fleeting.

It is hazy at best, this dance we do day after day. It is a perfect waltz, going around and around on life's dancefloor. We hear the music, we move to the rhythm, we clasp each other tightly and then let go. We twirl to the perfect Rhumba or Samba, we lift each other up to the crescendo amidst great applause, we thrust each other down, sometimes gently, sometimes crushingly to a painful encore of sadness or gladness.

The unspoken reality is that this is life. It comes with joy, happiness, pain, sadness, accomplishment and failure. Most people are content to grasp happiness wherever they can find it. In a one night stand, in a weekend hookup, long or short term. In an office romance, knowing that nine times of ten it ends in complete disaster. Still we indulge ourselves.

Who am I to judge. We make our mistakes and move on. We give ourselves that GREEN LIGHT to pick up the pieces, get back up on that horse and ride it to reparation.

Truth be told, I have a secret Beau. He is not six feet three inches in height. He barely brushes five feet, ten inches. I am a petite five feet four inches. But in my eyes, he is a great big giant teddy bear of a man. Why. He approached me as a lady on his initial contact, respect and admiration shone from his eyes across the distance. It was cliche love at first eye contact. He just sat across the great beautifully adorned expensive hotel barroom and stared unabashedly and undauntingly making even a skeptic like myself blush.

I was at a month long conference with authors and writers promoting my newest bestseller and discussing ideas about promoting new writers.

He did not approach me then. I saw him again the next night, still it was not until the third night when he finally walked over. He had me at hello. He introduced himself. Single, unattached, should have left the hotel three nights ago. Saw me, changed his mind, bided his time. Flexed his man muscles (his words), walked over bearing a single lavender rose. I googled lavender rose afterwards. Love at first sight and enchantment. How romantic, I thought. Well played beau.

He was dressed casually but elegantly, attractive man. The warmest of smile on his kind face. We chatted all night, he bought me a drink. Just one for now, he said. We need to get to know each other with a clear head.

He is an entrepreneur, made money trading stocks and such and lives a quiet life, he makes sure he is giving back. We all need to give back, It ensures our psyche is one of peace and serenity.

The rest is as they say, history.

So you see, I do not need an affair. With or without my secret beau, I do not need an affair.

I need respect, and space and the freedom to look sophisticated and accomplished and live on my own terms. I can make my own decisions and choose my own path.

Thank you.

Love

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.