Fiction logo

Adrift

The Frozen Dream

By Gunnar AndersonPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Adrift
Photo by Kristian Ranstrom on Unsplash

Soft snow crunching under my bare feet. A cold wind encasing my naked body and whipping my hair about my head. Another step, and my bones become numb. The tingling raking through from head to toe making it hard to breathe. Was I breathing, or was it simply the idea of it? I was not aware to the feeling, if my chest was heaving at all or if it was a figment of my imagination. Another step, and I’m taking in the trees around me. Barren except for the heavy snow that coated the bare dead branches. The blizzard swelled around them and hid their tops from view; the shapes of their canopy drawing into a blur of darkness. Ahead of me is a vast expanse of white wilderness and a shadow, shorter than the rest. It protrudes from the vast expanse of snow with two limbs stretched out like someone waiting for an embrace. The arms waved and I felt a pull towards them. They seemed welcoming. They seemed familiar. Another step, and I made out the distinction in their body. The slimness of their neck, the faint whipping of hair, the separation in their legs as they stood there trying to steady themselves. Their features were still too dark to make out. A step, and I could make out the shape of their head. Another showed me the blue of their eyes. Step, and I could reach out to touch them, before falling into the cold, snowy darkness.

AdventureShort StoryMicrofiction
1

About the Creator

Gunnar Anderson

I am a young aspiring novelist with an arts degree in English Creative Writing with a focus in both fiction and poetry from Arizona State University where I made the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean's List upon my 2020 graduation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Harbor Benassa3 months ago

    Great use of concrete imagery. The ending made me wonder if there was really a person in the snow or if the main character was just hallucinating.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.