Fiction logo

Acknowledged

Written for the Heather Hubler 'Unscramble challenge'

By Lamar WigginsPublished 15 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
45
Dall E

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

12 letter word used (Acknowledged)

I shattered a window today. I'm not sure if they noticed or even care. My reasons remain cloaked, forever enlaced in a boundless mind.

Time has congealed. Thickened and caked like day old tomato soup left on the kitchen ledge...

I once thought of myself as a cloned hero; a person who could be relied upon to save the day. But I've become leaden, downright wacked in the skull, wedged between here and there.

I remember the glow, the dance of happiness locked in motion, wintering in a decadelong glance.

They know I'm here, but only coddle their own feelings. I used to be like them, living out dreams and sharing love, until my body left me for reasons I can’t recall. Only the repetitive memory of a gun and a struggle with a woman I don’t know, remains. I’m left with my wakened spirit to linger between these walls. No angel or light to lead me away, no one to acknowledge me...

Dall E

PsychologicalMicrofiction
45

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (37)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 days ago

    Utterly unsurprised this won!!

  • Christy Munson4 days ago

    Congratulations!

  • Paul Stewart5 days ago

    Back to say congrats on winning the microfiction 1st place for theHH's challenge, buddy. This was just incredible!

  • Well deserved win in Heather's challenge.✅

  • Cathy holmes6 days ago

    Congrats again!

  • Sandra Matos6 days ago

    Congratulations on winning Heather's challenge! It is clear why you won. You were able to take us on a journey with a limited amount of words. You were able to surprise us and make us feel by using words made out of letters in another word, which is not easy to do. I found it difficult to not sound choppy, yet your story flowed so easily. Excellent!

  • Anna 8 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Heather Hubler8 days ago

    Just wow, Lamar!! I'm so happy this received TS because it was too good not to get more exposure. You really came to win with this one. The picture and the mood you set and then the revelation at the ending...I was pulled in and felt it all. Excellent work, my friend :) Thank you for participating!

  • Oh wow! First off, congrats on the top story! I see why it got that! This was so good, and with such a limited use of words. I was trying to figure out what was happening along the way, and you revealed it little by little. I liked this surreal tale, then again, perhaps a tale too real. Excellent stuff!

  • Abdul Qayyum11 days ago

    Your writing is incredibly engaging and vivid! I felt like I was right there in the scene alongside the characters." https://vocal.media/fiction/the-time-traveling-plumber

  • Great Top Story take on this challenge… so many excellent words included in this micro fiction! ‘My reasons remain cloaked, forever enlaced in a boundless mind.’👍🏼

  • People nowadays are really lost so this is all for you guys https://vocal.media/motivation/guiding-light-kpru0r8q

  • Novel Allen12 days ago

    This is so sad yet relatable. I think this is how I feel these days about Vocal. 🙊🙈🙉🫠. Hoping this is not how you feel, if so hugs. Congrats.

  • real Jema13 days ago

    Have you ever found yourself feeling disconnected from reality

  • Natasha Collazo13 days ago

    This was superb 🔥

  • Christy Munson13 days ago

    You’ve crafted a haunting one. Lamar! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • The Writer 13 days ago

    Congratulations 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

  • Gerard DiLeo14 days ago

    Very nice! Well deserved.

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Wow, this was really good!! Congrats on TS, loved it!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)14 days ago

    I loved the overall mood of this one, so dark and brooding!! Great work Lamar and congrats on Top Story!

  • Tiffany Gordon 14 days ago

    Phenomenal work Lamar! BRAVO! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • D. D. Lee14 days ago

    The best I’ve read today of the Top Stories. This is brilliant! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Babs Iverson14 days ago

    Awesome story and it flowed so perfectly!!! Loved this!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Derby Hyrum14 days ago

    Remote work isn't just a trend, it's the future of work. Work Remotely from your own house. We just want your typing skills, You as7 can make more than 120USD/Hr. No matter where you are. Let’s Grow together and do great things, even if we’re far apart… Take a Look.......................... W­w­w.S­m­a­r­t­P­a­y­7.c­o­m

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.