Fiction logo

Abandoned Memory

Escaping Life’s Death Threats

By Rachael FrazierPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Abandoned Memory
Photo by Rosie Sun on Unsplash

“The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night a candle burned in the window.”

XXXX

Here at a campfire telling the story is Angela Brown. And she is channeling Diane Powell on her wigeboard. telling of the story of Diane Powell. Diane was the only woman in the world to survive it. Survive that night. Survive that dark night in the woods…from a peculiar murderous man who was on the loose from her..

XX

From here,

There I See.

There is and old man in a rocking chair with long gray hair, that scarily is looking out the window at me.

Having put my pieces together, I know what I need to do.There is one way out!

I had one chance from the get go.

Here goes.

To tell the first story and the only story of the greatest story of the “only” woman who made it out alive…

that night.

Here really goes..

Was that/this the light to the end of all mental institutions?!

Hi my name is Diane Powell. Out of curiosity and full survivalism, I knew it was my turn. Having grown up here, my whole life, this was my opportunity to make it. This actually was it! I knew I’d never be the same. Just many years in question, pondering and thinking wondering what life would be and feel like if I was a success story, and be not another documented story of another murdered or killed bodied woman who didn’t make it out alive!

Went.Going, I ran up towards the cabin, I see as I peer through the the red-/orange window I see a man in a rocking chair!

He saw me!!

As I start to run, getting away from him, I hide in the cold woods where I see him but he cannot see me.With my whole body in the ground like a grave,toes in the ground shaking! I can’t feel anything. Silently praying in my head and heart that he will not hear or see me. He laps and passes me up twice. At this time we both know each other’s company & we know what we want and where we need to go. As he take the boat to look for me out the woods, I over hear him say he’s going to rape and murder me if he finds me!

So as I see him go for lake stevens. I run into the cabin in the dark night, -burn out his candle, but before I do that I light me an invisible light only for my way out and for me to see. I’m in full array. He had just called the house and he left a message. He was talking to me, but I knew he was lieing. After all these years I found a way out.

I ran ran ran for my life!bAnd I was crispy and good at it.

Because I knew he set this house up & was coming back, I disappeared for good. I took the second boat out of country to a distant land,like Colorado or New York City. Some place I forever knew he could not find me, in seclusion. The truth about any woman and telling local helpers who really can’t help you because they cannot, and the reason for that is because help can’t help what is not clear , what is not their clear picture. You can always call. But help isn’t always on time.

You don’t know this story until you actually lived it.All I know is I’m living in Washington State in abandoned woods, and I don’t know when I’ll see someone or when my next meal would come in. Next time I found my self I was in the safest place on earth. When I found myself running away. I was always running from a man but this wasn’t another night. This was me fleeing for my life!

XXXX

The next morning

I ran with full- force. He came after me and this time he had a chainsaw!!!

I knew what to do. Thank God! I had a gun on me and it was definitely time.

I’d shot him in his head.

Showing no remorse for the old man,my story was done. I did what I needed to do I cried fierce tears as I now felt free to place a rose on my mother’s grave in peace. She’d always want this for me. There was no time for anyman.This was no time for extra any longer I felt if anything,I’d survive the distance no woman would ever live to had told. What she wanted for me came true, and this is as real as it’s going to get.That man I Diane was able to kill that morning,

I felt stronger as this day has ended.

I went one final time back to my mom’s grave and then back to that cabin.

As I carry the same lantern my girl Becky once carried many,many,many…years ago. Having know that I survived a man that tried to kill me and I in return killed him. I chose to stay in the same cabin because if you know anything about horror flics. I was worthy of living here and I (Diane)in Washington State can now lead an example for all women and for all then on to see.

I sat in that rocking chair and rocked it!

I will forever be free!

I kinda made it a place of my own.

And one day some else.

Turn out the light💡

THE END

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.