Fiction logo

A Voice Unlike Any Other

The Story of a Talking Dog

By Ammu Published about a year ago 3 min read

I go by the name Whiskey, given to me by my parents. However, the world knows me as "the rarest talking dog". My fame skyrocketed through social media, surpassing even Obama's overnight fame. I lived a luxurious life with my family in our owner's grand residence.

One rainy day, amidst strong thunder and lightning, I couldn't resist playing ball and accidentally stepped on a charger wire. The electric shock left me writhing in pain, causing my owner to panic and rush me to the hospital. After an hour-long examination, the doctor recommended an injection for relief. I screamed loudly as usual, "Mama". But that day, everyone turned around. Some even ran away while others recorded videos asking me to speak, leaving me confused. The doctor then coached me to speak a few words as if I were a child undergoing speech training, which I did. Upon watching the recorded video, I realized that the electric shock had given me incredible abilities unlike other animals.

Initially, I was ecstatic, able to use my speaking ability to ask for and obtain everything I desired. Since my owner did not have a child, he became increasingly attached to me. Despite having to eat food I didn't like due to hunger, I was satisfied with being able to enjoy my favourite foods. I even had the opportunity to get and replace items like my toys and clothes. Everyone in the neighbourhood was aware of this. Before, I had no one to play with, so I would beg and fight with others. However, now I find myself naturally seeking out to spend time with, enjoying their company for hours. It was then that I came to understand the differences between humans and animals. It seemed as though they had initially underestimated me since I was unable to communicate with them. However, this changed as soon as news outlets, from BBC to local channels, began showing up at my owner's doorstep on a daily basis. We would often converse and appreciate the beauty around us. Eventually, my fame spread worldwide.

Before I had the chance to revel in my newfound happiness, danger came knocking at my door. Some individuals approached my owner, offering him a large sum of money to have me placed in an American zoo. This incident caused me to realize that my owner's affection for me had been overshadowed by the lure of millions of dollars. It was a lesson in the true nature of humans - their tendency to act selfishly, even if it means resorting to questionable means. It felt like they were chameleons, capable of changing their colours and adapting to their surroundings. This realization made me wonder if humans had also become animals in their own right.

As I reflect on my life, I cannot help but feel a sense of disappointment and sadness. Despite initially revelling in the perks and benefits that come with being a VIP, my life took a dark turn when I was thrown into a four-wire cage and put on display for the entertainment of others. Tickets were sold, and people were allowed to come and talk to me for as long as they pleased. Every day became a monotonous routine of talking to these mindless individuals and posing for their selfies, all while being constantly monitored by cameras.

As time went on, I began to realize just how difficult it is to live like this. There is no privacy, no autonomy to choose my own likes and dislikes, and no place to call my own. It feels like someone is always watching, always scrutinizing every move I make. As I sit here, I cannot help but ponder the fate of other animals like me who are forced into the same kind of situation. It is a cruel and selfish world we live in, where animals are not allowed to live normally and are instead used for human entertainment.

I longed to be an ordinary animal again, free from the constant gaze of strangers. It was then that I realized that every living being has a purpose in this world, and that we are all created for a reason. Unfortunately, society often fails to recognize this and instead, forces us to conform to its narrow ideals of what is acceptable. The key to a fulfilling life, I have learned, is to make the most of the hand we are dealt and to find contentment in our own unique circumstances. These are the lessons that I hope to share with the interviewers from Discovery, as I recount my experiences as a rare and remarkable animal.

Written By : Ammu

Young AdultShort StoryHumorfamilyClassical

About the Creator

Ammu

I am compelled to write the things that I write, out of the passion that blooms within me ..

Story Writer - Ammu

Pls do support அம்மு ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Zayn 8 days ago

    Amazing story

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was really well thought out and written! I love that you took the time to explain how Whiskey gained the ability to speak, so smart! Feel so bad for Whiskey and the fate he had to suffer through!

  • Raasu Kutty about a year ago

    👍

Ammu Written by Ammu

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.