Fiction logo

A Very Odd Movie Review

The Odd Couple (1968)

By Digital_FootPrintPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
A Very Odd Movie Review
Photo by Alex Litvin on Unsplash

I’m up watching the Odd Couple, the 1968 movie version starring Jack Lemmon & Walter Matthau. This is my first time seeing this film. At the beginning, I didn’t realize Felix Ungar, played by Jack Lemmon, was going to off himself.

Apparently, he and his wife were calling it quits and ole Felix couldn’t take it. He wanted to throw himself out the window but injured his back trying to get the darn thing up in the first place. It just wasn’t his day at all.

I also never realized that Oscar Madison, played by Walter Matthau, lived in an eight bedroom apartment. I wonder what the going rate for a place like that was 55 years ago.

I can only imagine what it would be today. Matter of fact, let me take a gander and see if I can come up with an approximate figure. After a quick bit of research, I came to conclusion that an 8 bedroom apartment in New York will run you around 15–16 million.

That’s not too shabby isn’t it. Damn! You’re going to need that Derek Jeter money to live up in that building. Interesting to see how Matthau’s character kept one filthy ass apartment. His place was so nasty that the roaches done moved out years ago.

It was very similar to his character in the Grumpy Old Men movies which also starred Lemmon. If my memory serves me correctly, he even joked about that in one of the scenes in that film.

Ole Felix was a bit of a worry-wart and I thought I was bad at planning my day out to a t. This man really takes the cake. Poor Oscar. He thought he got himself a new roommate and ended up getting a new “wife.” Or a mife in this case.

A mife is when a man takes on a male roommate that acts in a compacity more similar of a wife instead of a roommate. For example, if he’s arguing about how late you been staying out.

Or you having to work late and not calling him to let him know in advance that you’re going to be late for dinner. That sort of thing. Watching this movie makes me realize that I’ve never been a big fan of meat loaf. I just never saw the appeal.

A loaf of meat? And it’s not in between buns or covered in spaghetti sauce and noodles. Can’t do it! The two women is this scene are not incredibly, hot even for the 1960’s but they do have boat loads of personality.

I bet those ladies would be a whole lot of fun especially the “red-headed” one. I put that in quotes because I’m not so sure if the carpet matches the drapes if you catch my drift.

Actually, when I look at it a little more it’s not really red but more like a platinum blonde. She stands out. Especially, the way she bounced up and down on that sofa once she sat on it.

I got something for her to bounce up & down on. Let me stop. Otherwise, this is going to turn into one of my other “blogs” in a second. Felix doesn’t realize this but he could totally smash both these ladies and leave ole poor Oscar with that meat loaf while hes giving those ladies his loaf of meat.

Felix lucked himself into those ladies inviting him and Oscar over to their place but he doesn’t want to go. Smh at Oscar asking, “what is he going to do with two girls.” That would be easiest question for any red-blooded American male to answer. I have to give it to Felix though.

He keeps one clean house. I bet that porcelain in his bathroom is so shiny that you could eat off of it. I take it by the juvenile way that Oscar is acting that he didn’t smash.

This reminds me of something Reggie Hammond said in 48 hrs, “lack of pussy will make you brave, man.” Matthau and Lemmon had great chemistry. No wonder why they worked together in so many films over their careers.

They’re driving around looking for Felix now and not one of the 5 men in the vehicle are wearing a seatbelt. You know I didn’t realize that was a thing until my father told me about that back in the day.

Great times indeed. Felix finished strong in this movie and delivered one of the greatest lines ever, “marriage may come and go but the game must go on. So long Francis..” Great movie overall with one of the great themes in the history of cinema.

Humor
Like

About the Creator

Digital_FootPrint

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.