Fiction logo

A story with ants

I found a large ant nest in the small vegetable garden. I poked it with a branch and the ant nest did not fall apart.

By VioletHoltPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A story with ants
Photo by Salmen Bejaoui on Unsplash

I found a large ant nest in the small vegetable garden. I poked it with a branch and the ant nest did not fall apart. A few patrolling ants ran into the hole in a panic. When I picked it up again, the four-way passage was revealed, but I still didn't find an ant. Could it be that the ants were not patrolling, but just running into a small hole for refuge? I had my doubts. I continued stabbing reluctantly, and finally, there were more and more ants running out of the hole in a panic ......

Suddenly, I found an ant running out holding an ant egg, which looked like rice and was pink in color. The other ants formed a circle to protect it. I touched the ants around it with a branch and they didn't even flee. So, I swept them back and forth with the branch, and finally, the ants were driven away. The ant holding the egg saw that something was wrong and hid the egg under its belly. I tried to get the egg, so I picked the ant up, but the egg was lifted with it, and it wouldn't let go of the egg. I had to pinch the ant off with my nails.

I picked up the egg and put it in front of another small ant's nest, hoping that the ants would adopt it. The little ants pushed the egg out as if they were afraid that the big ants would misunderstand that they had stolen the egg and come to the door to fight. Forget it, let's give it to the chicken.

The young, strong red hen was the first to grab the egg and ran away to find a quiet place to taste it, but the other chickens kept chasing after her. The two old hens behind her stumbled and stumbled because of the sudden emergency brake, and they were furious, each giving the red hen a good peck on the forehead to vent their anger ......

When I came back, there was almost no trace of the big ants. Did they run away or was there another passage? After a while, a few large ants ventured out from under some small rocks, pretending not to see me, and ran towards the small onion bed. I looked at the small onion but found no ant nest. After a short while, the ants poked their heads in and peeked out of the onion bed again. I glanced at the place where the ants' heads were facing, and there was a small passage in the opposite direction of the small onion bed. The ants were moving quietly towards the small passage. Ha! Instead of going directly to the secret passage, the ants were circling the opposite onion bed.

I picked the secret passage with a branch and to my surprise, a huge and came out with a belly several times the size of the head, probably the queen. There were many eggs under her belly. The ants took a look at the queen and swarmed over to protect her, even the ants hiding in the onion field also rushed to the rescue.

At this time, my grandmother was taking a small sprayer to the vegetables, so I kept the small spray and gave the ants some shots as well. At first, the ants didn't react much, but after a while, some of them were wet, like they were fixed in shape, and they were thinking about the problem. Other ants were still running around as usual, but strangely enough, they were avoiding the ants that were "thinking about the problem". When I touched these ants with a branch, they fell to the ground with a thud and stomped a few times, then died. Huh? What is this? It's strange, isn't it? A few drizzles of medicine are so powerful? Some other ants that were running for their lives crawled onto my feet and I threw them a foot or so away. I got a little impatient and stomped the rest to death, only the queen didn't know where she ended up.

Fable
Like

About the Creator

VioletHolt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.