Fiction logo

A Stormy Night

Poem

By GiaPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
4
Credit: Nick Seman

“Boom! BAM!” Went the thunder,

Loud enough to wake up the big black bears from their deep cozy slumber

The lightning danced across the sky

And dimmed the lights of the houses nearby

I rubbed my eyes and sat upon my bed,

this night was going to be filled with dread

I silently listened to the noise of the crazed laughter between the lightning and thunder

How I wished to climb into her arms, alas, she

was out of town, my dear sweet mother.

I pulled my blanket over my head

And held my teddy bear tight to get rid of my fright

I was trembling like a leaf in the wind

and sweating bullets in my bed.

I looked over at my clock, it was still 11 at night.

I heard a knocking at my door

Now who could that be?

It slowly creaked open, revealing my mother who entered with water dripping from her coat to the floor.

“Mother!” I cried with glee.

“Hello, dear. I decided to come home early

after hearing about the storm, it was raining cats and dogs!”

She hugged me comfortingly and I smiled, feeling swell.

Then she went to the window and opened it, revealing an earthly and moist smell, I laid back down and sighed, relieved that this night had turned out well.

Short Storyfamily
4

About the Creator

Gia

"To gain your voice, you have to forget about having it heard." - Allen Ginsberg

"Stay faithful to the stories in your head." - Paula Hawkins

“I write because I don't know

What I think

Until I read

What I say.” - Mary Flannery O'Connor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Fantastic writing. Such a captivating story.

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I love that feeling when your safe person comes home.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.