Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

A Stairway To Hell

For A Vocal Social Society Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
10
An Ai Creation By The Author

This is for a Vocal Social Society Challenge that you can enter here:

A Stairway To Hell

It has been remarked that while there is only a "Stairway To Heaven" there is a "Highway To Hell" and that the road to Hell is paved with good intentions.

This journal was found, seemingly dropped from the balcony. A search of the house found no trace of the person who wrote this, although a blood-stained pen had been dropped on the balcony. DNA and fingerprints proved that it belonged to the journal's author, but of him there is no sign.

I have been dared to spend a night in this supposedly haunted derelict mansion and write down what I see and experience in this journal. I believe there is a rational explanation for everything and there are no such things as ghosts.

There is evil and badness in this world but it is up to the good people to stand up and counter that.

I am doing this dare for a bet and a local charity will benefit if i win, and another one will benefit if I lose.

That huge curving staircase does look ominous, and though this place is deserted there are noises coming from upstairs so I do need to go up and investigate.

At the top of the stairs, there are many rooms, all dusty and cobwebbed, there has been no living thing here, apart from me for a very long time.

There are voices, I am sure, but I can hardly hear them.

They are creepy, I think they are saying "We Have You Now" or "We Have Blood Now".

Some of the doors are difficult to open, and the dust clouds are nearly choking me. I step back.

I can see someone, I can see through them, like a ghost.

They are coming towards me, they have a knife

Short StoryMysteryMicrofictionHorrorCONTENT WARNING
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Good story, Mike.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Hopefully the knife is as ghostly as the ghost, and it is not a real threat to you.

  • Hahahahahahahahaha well, still a win win situation because no matter if he lives or dies, still a charity benefits. Lol. Loved your story!

  • Getting right to the point, I see. Next?

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Great story! Well done!

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Fun little ghost story. I might have to see what I can come up with.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Great story. I'll have to check this challenge out.

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Great imagery in this piece. Bravo. I might try this Challenge 🙂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.