Fiction logo

A Special Breakfast

Painting the Maldives

By Lois BrandPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
There's nothing like a deep, dark chocolate cake.

The diaphanous white curtains billowed in the warm breeze from the ocean through the opened patio doors. I stretched leisurely like a cat, dragging out the extensions, combined with a little creaking sound in my throat as I reached the extent of the stretch. It felt magnificent being here with you, being spoiled by you, and luxuriating in all the rich experiences you had in store for me. The scuba lessons were yet to begin, and you hadn’t brought me to the Maldives just to take in the superlative hospitality.

I didn’t know where you had gone, I assumed you must be in the restroom taking care of your morning routine. I hopped up and went to knock on the door. “Robert, are you hogging all the water?” I asked playfully.

There was no answer.

“Robert?” I pushed the door open and the room was vacant. “Oh well,” I thought. “it’s my turn.” I went ahead and started with my morning ritual. When I turned on the shower of water from the rainfall head to let it start warming up there was a slight commotion in the room outside.

“Jele, don’t tell me you’ve started your shower.” He rapped on the door.

“No, just about to, though.”

“Come have breakfast while it’s good.” Robert pleaded with me. “I got it specially just for you.”

I grinned and turned off the water. Breakfast sounded terrific. I hadn’t realized how hungry I was in this climate until now. Walking out still dressed in Robert’s shirt, I noticed his funny smile. I couldn’t tell if it was because I was still dressed or if it was his shirt. I didn’t put much effort into the thought because he was standing there with two loaded catering carts.

Robert had tipped the waiter handsomely to leave the carts with him and allow him to bring them into the room and make the presentation. He was a man with a plan and he was on a mission. “Won’t you please get back in bed, ma’am, so I can serve you breakfast?”

“Oh! What did I do to deserve this?”

“You’re just my love, baby girl.” Robert effused.

I know I blushed, but he knew I loved the way he called me “baby girl,” even if most people would consider it a put-down. I wasn’t into power politics, but I was into Robert. I jumped across the distance between us to throw my arms around his neck. “And you’re my very own Bobby.”

We kissed the reckless, intense passionate kiss of new lovers, holding each other tight, running our hands over straining bodies. Robert pulled away and stammered, "the food is waiting."

Both of us more or less dropped our arms as we looked at each other. He most earnestly, and me like he was suddenly losing his mind. Robert stepped over to the bed where I’d slept and patted the mattress meaningfully.

“You, want to do breakfast?” I questioned him.

“Yeah, sure. Get in here and let me serve you breakfast.”

It was clear that he was up to something so I decided to go along out of curiosity. He rolled the first cart up and he expertly opened the bottle of champagne and poured two flutes full. There was a large, fluffy omelet for two. I was so glad he wasn’t trying to get me to eat seafood. He knew though, that I couldn’t handle it regardless of where we were. Interspersed with bites of the omelet were bites of fresh fruit to provide a pallet cleansing contrast. It was all delicious and Robert continued feeding me after I was full.

“Oh, I can’t!” I whimpered, waving his hand away.

Robert smiled wide as he jumped up and shoved the catering cart out of the way. “But we haven’t even gotten to the second cart!”

I groaned. “Oh no, I couldn’t!” I watched him carefully as he grabbed the second cart and pulled it up close where the other cart had been. Instead of multiple dishes, this one had one main, large dish in the center, it looked like, covered with a beautiful silver cloche. Exotic flowers filled the corners of the table.

“I had this made especially for you.” Robert grinned. “I brought the recipe and some of the ingredients from the states.”

“You bring me to this beautiful place, but bring food from home?” He just grinned at me. “You’re silly”

“Madame,” Robert removed the silver cloche with a flourish. He revealed a great big, dark chocolate cake, baked in a ring. “May I serve you?”

I sat there looking at my wonderful, smiling man, standing next to this wonderful chocolate cake. I couldn’t help but my head was nodding in assent.

He took up a delicate silver server and used it to cut a small piece of cake. He turned to me and gave me a bite so cautiously watching for crumbs, it was sweet.

“This - is – de – li – cious.” I managed through a mouthful of dark chocolate cake.

“Good.” Robert was obviously pleased and fed me another bite.

“Oh, baby. Aren’t you going to have some?” I felt guilty about taking it all.

Robert smiled as he shook his head. “I did this for you, baby” He continued to shovel chocolate cake my way.

I put up my hands to let him know I’d had enough. “Oh no, honey, you can manage another bite…” I ducked my head just in time to get chocolate cake and thick ganache icing smeared across my jaw.

“Ah!” I squealed. “You did that on purpose!”

He grinned mischievously. “I’m so sorry!” Another piece of cake immediately materialized.

“I think I’ve had…” and a bite of cake sort of went into my sort of open mouth.

I grabbed for his hand and his equally fast free hand caught mine, wrestling with me. I was laughing and he was chuckling, and there was a bite of chocolate cake floating around, that I couldn’t get a hold on. It moved perilously closer. “No-o-o!” I squealed.

“Boop!” He laughed, smearing the tip of my nose with the frosting. The cake also fell onto Robert’s shirt, like the other bites had. That and the bedding.

“Oh no, you’re getting the chocolate all over!”

“It’ll clean.” Robert came at me with cake in his hand.

I arched my back and dove across the bed, dodging his hand. I tried to go around him to arm myself with the dark, moist gateau. He got me on the neck and it went down the inside of his shirt. He tried pinning me on the bed, but I had one arm free, and I could reach the cake. I grabbed a handful and when he turned to try and get a better control of me, I rubbed it into his chest and pulled his tank shirt open for the crumbs.

“You Manx!” he cried and swatted my passing rump with his cake hand.

“Ooof! You better watch out, Mr. Man.” I mocked. I shot past him and off the side of the bed. I grasped some more cake in passing, it really was good cake, and waited for him to pounce.

Robert spun and grinned psuedo-maniacally. He always seemed to have cake in his hands and he came at me, my strong, tall, handsome, chocolate-frenzied, psycho-Superman, and he was out to get me, with cake!

“No… Robert… “ I backed away, snagging another handful of cake as weaponry as I passed.

He stalked after me with twinkling eyes and a broad smile...but seriously, as any predator after his prey, armed with cake in both hands.

Out through the doors, trying not to get chocolate on the curtains, I continued my escape, watching Robert carefully. I knew the swim deck was behind me somewhere, I glanced back and he made his move, with quick, long strides, he stepped up and fed me more chocolate cake, getting it all over my face.

I capitulated and let him have his way, making the mess he wanted to, and when his guard was down, my arms shot up and I smeared chocolate cake all over his bald head.

Robert threw his head back and laughed. He got cake in his face for the effort and he scooped me into his arms and walked me backward dumping me into the water, as he jumped in too.

“Augh” I came up sputtering. “They’re not going to want all this cake dumped in the eco-system…”

“They can bill me for the clean-up.” We shed the messy clothes and tossed them up on the deck.

And now, come to think of it, the rest of my memories weren’t about the chocolate cake!

Love
Like

About the Creator

Lois Brand

Sometime writer looking to rekindle the smithy for the word artistry. So, I overdo. It's one of my faults. I'm accused of making much of nothing. But then, I'm so far outclassed...

I love creating no matter what the craft!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.