Fiction logo

A Sin So Cruel and Empty

Chapter One (Sneak Peek)- SUBJECT TO CHANGE

By Nina RuedaPublished 2 years ago 15 min read
Like

A SIN SO CRUEL AND EMPTY- CHAPTER ONE

The kitchen had become a circus. The wooden barstool I sat on shook with every step Grand Avia took, and I had to keep reminding myself that it was indeed possible for one individual to cause so much insanity. Her shoulders sagged on a normal day, but Avia buzzed around her tiny workspace now, cutting her shallots with a newfound urgency.

“I don’t like this,” Avia stressed, tasting each flavor and spice on the counter. “Not one bit.” She turned to me, waving her knife around like a toddler. “I’m starting to not like you either. You and your useless cooking skills.” I smiled slightly and continued to prepare the silverware. Grand Avia’s mood had plummeted the moment the sun rose, and the fact that it was shining on her sour face instead of matching her demeanour with a storm had her mumbling about demonic exposure and rain when we needed it the most. Her and I both knew, however, that Mo’tzar would stop for no one, and no weather.

The fresh smells of garlic and basil drifted across the kitchen, and I looked over to see Avia mixing her chimichurri balsamic. My mouth watered as the strong, bitter flavors cut through the air, but I kept working, resisting the very food that kept my kind safe.

Avia’s voice filled my head. “It might just be me, Raine, but stress is better for my cooking,” She shook in some spices, marinating her chicken and sauce all at once. “Now whether that’s because we die if I don’t succeed or not, I have no idea. Might be a superstitious thing.”

My lip twitched slightly, and I turned back to my silverware packaging so Avia didn’t see me slacking. I wrapped the utensils together quickly, pausing only when Avia slammed a spoon down on the counter.

Now was a good time to restock.

“I need more bands.” I called over my shoulder, collecting the remaining spoons and dumping them in a basket. Grand Avia shifted to my section of the kitchen, checking her steamed shellfish before saying, “Go get more. No time to waste. None.” She kept on rambling.

I snagged a bag of coins from the counter, pausing long enough on my way out of the door to shout a farewell. I wasn’t going to stay for her hourly wrath.

Sea breeze greeted me as I stepped out, an easy gust of wind blowing the hair away from my neck. I listened as I walked, enjoying the slight crash of the waves against the harbor, the late summer heat. Zephyr was considered small compared to other countries, but the vast amount of spirit within made up for the fact. Its coast was lined with bazaar stands, and if the clumps of people weren’t enough indication of the events to come later that night, the decorated streets sure were. Multicolored cloth had been thrown over each platform, with merchants standing to the side of each one in an attempt to lure the next unsuspecting victim. Stands with fish hooks and threaded bracelets circled the mainspring too, gemstones glittering in the vests of spiritual sellers. They waved over crowds of people, spreading the tales of shadows, magic, and groups of immense power.

Their obsession was eerie, and I couldn’t tell if it was because of my common morals or the fact that I was a part of the group they worshipped, but to me, the events planned for tonight were not comforting.

Mo’tzar, an annual festival and holy day, was an event the North Commons had prepared for through the uses of my family- the lower of the Dagre practicers and the less advanced group of sacrificial spell casters.

Grand Avia’s preparations were very thorough and very tedious, and it shot straight through the heart of Zephyr and their culinary traditions.

Avia had been placed with the job as the owner of Marellos, Zephyr’s very own authentic seafood joint. Marellos overlooked the water, decorated with sterling corner posts and brass tiles that put those around it to shame. It had branched from the North Common’s very own Din Halveer, a man whose incantations beat my family’s ill-practiced ones, and the provider of Marellos to Avia.

But Din Halveer was no friend, and Avia had never been the true owner of Marellos in the eyes of the North Common Dagre. The glamour of Marellos served as a mask for our provider’s true intentions, and instead was insurance that our family- and a few others in the same position- stayed in their place.

Halveer’s empire grew with the con artistry of his own talents. He inspired all amounts of spiritual beliefs to the mundane, advertising and investing in any item that could potentially compromise our secrets. The higher ups were safe, though, isolated on a mountain full of wealth and prosperity, but lower was where we feared our abilities were to be questioned had any mundanes truly found out.

What was known as the greatest eatery in Zephyr to the common folk was really the North Common’s greatest puppeteer strings on the lower witch class. Avia used to be forced to partake in his plans, but sacrificed her embarrassment when she realized his risky game. From that grew a materialistic Mo’tzar, and in the North Common’s attempt to promote more gems and magic, it became Avia’s job every year to act as a front for the Dagre- even if she wasn’t one herself.

Yet, the North Common couldn’t be touched, and while the festival worshipped my kind- with no repercussions to the higher ones- it was a job within itself to hide those who couldn’t be hidden.

“Fools,” Avia would say. “They give me this restaurant and think food is inferior to those who believe. ” She would pop a tuna roll in her mouth, wipe her face, and say, “I can cook, and make mundanes like me wish they purchased more salmon puttanesca rather than those flimsy gems.”

“Don’t hate the player, hate the game.” I would mumble.

“Ah,” Avia had turned to me, correcting my cutting technique. “Don’t hate the puppet, but the bearer of its strings.”

“-learn the ways of those that created you.”

The culinary hardware store was a short walk from our home kitchen. Avia had always preferred to do her cooking away from Marellos because she feared sabotage from Halveer and his goons. Even if he was aware of our tradition, Avia knew that he would rather ruin Marellos name for her, and embarrass her, than shut it down all together.

Wind brushed my cheek as I stepped out of the store, a package of utensil clasps in my hand. The sea stares back at me, covered by mundanes and Dagre alike traveling between the maze-like streets of Zephyr. Commoners shopped for tonight’s party, and a few Dagre watched from afar, hands ready at their sides as they gazed at their surroundings.

I skimmed my own palm against my hip, feeling the print of my secara. I pressed harder until the tip pricked my finger gently.

“Paranoid?”

A male voice came from my left and I turned slightly, holding my secara closer than it already was. I released a breath when I saw who the voice came from, smiling warmly at my close friend. Dray Kierdano lived close to our spare kitchen, and sometimes had his family help out with Mo’tzar preparations. He also always stopped by to remind us of our “fortunate yet unfortunate situations,” a flaw in his usually peppy demeanor.

I couldn’t lie. “I’m always paranoid.”

Dray hummed, pulling out his own secara, scanning it in his hand. I cursed and pushed his hand down, looking around before glaring at him.

“What?” He shrugged, waving it around. “It’s just a dagger to normal people.” I huffed, letting my hand fall as we continued walking. “Still can get in the wrong hands.”

Dray slid his secara back into the scabbard attached to his hip. “Besides, half of these people would believe I have it for ‘spiritual purposes,’” He glanced over at me, stepping into a matching pace. “How’s your grandmother holding up?”

“Frantic,” I waved the bag in my hand. “Had to get some silverware accessories.”

Dray stayed silent for a moment, and I looked up to see him studying a group of kids fighting over their party masks for the night. His dark skin tightened as he pursed his lips, the corners jutting up ever so slightly. He held in a laugh before turning back towards me, sliding his gaze towards mine. He grinned. “Kids are such bullies.”

I tsked, rolling my shoulders. “Must I remind you that you teased me a lot when we were younger?”

“Developed emotional stability.” He corrected, raising his hand to guide me towards another street. The alleys of Zephyr were a lot quieter than the main strips, and instead of having shady criminals lurking behind each corner, kids and adults lounge out in peace. A few were playing some sort of ball game, and the others were talking and laughing joyfully. I waved at everyone we passed, smiling softly.

They wouldn’t smile back if they knew what we were.

I shook off the thought. We kept walking until my kitchen came into view, where my grandmother stood on the front steps with her hands on her hips. Dray chuckled.

“Busted.” He waved to Grand Avia, whose features calmed slightly before scrunching up one again.

“Rainelle! What took you so long?”

I groaned, handing her the bag. “Dray slowed me down.” He gaped at me, shaking his head immediately. “Not true, Avia. I was blessing and protecting her with my Dagre given presence,” He peeked inside. “Smells wonderful by the way.”

I scoffed. Suck up.

Avia hummed, ushering us inside. “Help first. Then snack.” Dray shrugged, listening to her directions eagerly.

The next few hours were spent cooking, and I couldn’t lie and say I wasn’t jealous when Dray snuck a few pieces in every so often. For taste testing purposes, he claimed, and Avia did all but spare him a second glance.

A table full of food lay out on the main kitchen island when we finished, and Dray was forced to munch on a loaf of bread while Avia and I organized.

“It’s a wonder how you stay so fit, Dray.” I called over my shoulder, wiping down the floury counter. He muffled out a response, shoving the last slice of bread in his mouth.

“Thank you.” He repeated, grabbing one of the plates in the sink. He hunched over, arms rippling as he moved on to scrub a pot of fried rice. Dray and I stayed busy, Avia too, until she began pacing around the kitchen.

“Just a few more hours. Just a few.” I looked over to see her panicking, and Dray and I glanced at each other worriedly.

“Hey, Avia. Why don’t we go down to town and set up the stands for you? Have you rested up a bit?” Dray offered, sliding a clean pot into the cabinets. Avia shook her head, wiping it with a wet towel.

“No, no. I need to be there.”

I placed a hand on her shoulder, then kissed her cheek lightly. I looked over at Dray, nodding encouragingly as he began packing the food on a cart.

“I’ve helped you for years, Nan. I know what’s expected.” She looked over at me, sighing defeatedly. I took that as a sign and smiled, grabbing the basket of utensils. “Meet us there when the sun sets.”

Dray waved goodbye as we walked out of the door, baskets in hand and wagons trailing behind us. I struggled with the weight of mine, Dray powering through with his much heavier cart.

He looked back at me and chuckled, stopping long enough for me to catch up.

“Don’t rub it in.” I grumbled, huffing as he practically skipped ahead of me once again. I held in the urge to scrape my arm and cast his infuriating self away.

“I know what you’re thinking.” Dray rolled his head back and grinned, humming happily at the thought of annoying me. I ignored him, pushing myself harder.

Silence took over, then loud thoughts, and I knew I was thinking too much as I imagined Dray’s smugness to be similar to that of Halveer’s. Was our suffering a sort of satisfaction to the man? The lower class practiced what they could, but it didn’t seem enough compared to the strength of our superiors.

“Your concentrated face is scary.”

I glanced over, the features of my face relaxing as I laughed gently. Dray smiled at me, then motioned to our carts- a silent order to keep moving- and despite my efforts, we only got as far as the next street before my arms threatened to fall off. Dray noticed. He took the secara out, twirling the dagger in his hand.

“Let me.” He raised his eyebrow, looking me up and down slowly- challenging me to say one of my famous snide remarks. His fingers pulled his sleeve up, showing dark skin and a stark vein. He dragged the tip of the secara down his arm, aiming it at a vessel, and I watched as dark brown turned to dripping red.

“Maiusoar.” He mumbled. He winced slightly as a black blur sealed the cut on his arm. Dray looked at my wagon then, and I tugged to find it lighter than it should be.

“I could’ve done that.”

He pinned me with a look, and I snapped my mouth shut. I knew why he gave me that look, we both did. We live the same life of limited use of our abilities, and hold the same amount of power. Anything Dray can do, I can too. We weren’t allowed- weren’t able- to do what the higher ups can, and that restricted us to the same spells. Dray didn’t need a reminder that I indeed could’ve done it myself, because it was a reminder that we were weak.

Still, and it was easy to tell with Dray’s confidence, we held our heads up high, because at least we had something.

The wagon trailed behind me easily now, but the basket in my hand still slowed me down. Dray continued one step in front of me, moving quietly. The sun was a few hours from setting, which would’ve given me a reason to panic, but seeing Dray’s patient steps comforted me.

With lighter luggage, we arrived at the front of the bazaar in a short amount of time. Dray began unloading the wagon, while I assembled the stands and hot plates.

Sweat beaded across my brow as the hot sun blazed down on us. It was beginning to get darker, but the heat and humidity remained. My eyes had fogged over into unconscious planning, body moving easily and distracted by my task that I hadn’t noticed the group of shadows lurking beyond the street corner.

My blood ran cold as someone pressed themselves against my back, only to push their body in front of mine. I looked up, relieved to see Dray, see him glower at the men who began to approach us.

“Setting up for the festivities?” The man in the front taunted, dipping his finger in one of our vinaigrettes.

My nose wrinkled.

“Get out.” Dray gritted. I stepped aside, staring at the embodiment of materialistic greed.

Din Halveer sighed, wiped his hand on his pants. “I just wanted to wish you luck tonight. Where is that wonderful grandmother of yours?” His eyes slid to mine.

I stared, letting my eyes fall to his figure. A green tunic covered his chest, embroidered in what looked to be gold- and very well could be. A scabbard like Dray’s was strapped across his hip, holding a secara decorated in silver flecks. Golden hair fell across his eyes as I met his gaze once again.

I ignored him.

He shrugged, then picked an invisible hair from his shoulder. His arms bulged as they crossed themselves over one another, his youth definitely noted by the flawlessness in his movements.

Halveer turned, eyes suddenly sparkling. “There she is!” He clapped, smiling tight as he approached my storming grandmother.

“As I was telling your prodigies, good luck tonight-”

Avia hurled a stale piece of bread into his face. Dray snorted.

“Go back to your house of wealth, you diavoli.”

Halveer masked his rage, eyes flitting down to the piece of food. “Such anger from a woman past her deathbed,” He nodded to the rest of his group, watching as they dispersed amongst the oncoming crowd. Probably to distract them. “Your embarrassment could have been saved had you delivered your annual quota.”

“I’m not playing your games, Din,” Avia stared straight into his green eyes. “I will not sell my kind’s secrets.”

This time, it was Halveer’s turn to snort. “A powerless kind, at that,”

“And why do you think that is,” mumbled Dray.

Halveer turned, waving carelessly.

“There are more,” I called. He paused. “There are stronger, more powerful sacrifices that others have access to.”

Halveer turned his head, adjusting the strap around his waist. “And when I find those who have access, I’ll be sure to kindly ask for their assistance,” My eyes fought the urge to roll. “Perhaps I’ll tell them to teach a certain girl a lesson.”

I bit my tongue. Watched as he walked away. There wasn’t much I could do even if I wanted to.

Avia rubbed her temples, pushing us forward. “Go, both of you. The bait shop is open,” she dabbed at her forehead with a wet towel. “Stay there for the night, it’s hidden from the harbor, but close enough in case I need help. And skin those fish while you’re at it.”

My fingers tapped the secara hidden in my waistband. Avia couldn’t protect herself. Dray and I couldn’t either, but we weren’t expecting anything other than the average intoxicated, aggressive mundane.

I almost yearned for my danger, more responsibility. It meant more knowledge, and more reason to learn.

But tonight was normal, and the only threat was the powerless.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Nina Rueda

Hello! My name is Nina Rueda and I am a student at the University of Central Florida studying biomedical sciences with a minor in writing and rhetoric. I have hopes of publishing my own stories in the future, so thanks for the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.