Fiction logo

A(rcher) for Effort

Inspired by the song "Trying to Kill The Moon"

By Glory DudaPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
A(rcher) for Effort
Photo by Avery Cocozziello on Unsplash

I let loose the final arrow from my quiver as the first of the tears began to fall down my cheeks. I knew that there would be no disruptions out here this late at night, that I’d be able to shoot in peace, but I forgot that then my brain would have time to think. The final arrow joined the rest of the others in the grass, just short of the target. I stared at the pristine target in the moonlight and crumpled to the ground, careful of my bow.

I knew I shouldn’t have let you go.

I heard a set of footsteps nearby and I whipped my head up. If it was an animal, I would have to hope it would leave me alone just long enough to reach one of the fallen arrows. If it was a person, I would just have to believe that I could convince them to leave me alone.

But I didn’t see anything in the pale light. I thought I saw you again, but it was just a trick of the moon.

I stared up at the cruel glowing orb, its twinkling background adding to the taunting, reminding me of nothing more than the last sparkle in your eye. For a moment, a bright line cut across the backdrop, a wishing star coming around at the most opportune time, but also too late. I wished that if anything, I could pin that stupid shooting star up in the sky, sticking it to the moon, both of them trapped, not allowing the day to come back around, not letting me live another day without you. I crawled towards the nearest arrow, the tears flowing down my cheeks thicker and faster, now more from anger than sadness. I didn’t know what I was angry at. The star? The moon? I pulled the string back on my bow.

But I knew there would be no getting you back until I was able to hit my target.

All I could do was watch as the arrow fell back down to the ground.

MicrofictionShort StoryLove
Like

About the Creator

Glory Duda

Working on remembering how to write for fun

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.