Fiction logo

A Mysterious Package

What is inside?

By R. D.Published 2 years ago 3 min read
A Mysterious Package
Photo by J King on Unsplash

As I walked out of my house I saw another Christmas package sitting on my porch step. I must have missed the delivery truck dropping it off. I noticed a drone flying away, but I didn't make a connection to it with the package. This time of year there's so many packages coming in from family members across the country. I run it in the house. Then I head off to work.

I didn't think about the package all day at work. When I got home though I saw it again. I thought maybe I should examine it. It was addressed to me. so I went ahead and opened that. in the box that was probably, 3 ft wide by 2 ft wide and 12 in deep, was a letter.Just a letter.

Okay now I was intrigued. At this point I probably should have been a little bit more cautious, but with it being so near Christmas I didn't think anything about it.

By Mediamodifier on Unsplash

The letter in the Box was directions to pick up a ticket. I thought this must be from my brother. He's such a prankster. He's the kind of person who likes to show up even though he lives in a different state without telling anyone he's coming. So I think it's got to be from him. I call him and ask if he sent me anything. He tells me I did. Later I found out this was not from him. His package ended up coming a few days later.

So I decided to go and pick up these tickets. I figure this is a scavenger hunt or a special vacation that my brother has planned.

When I follow the directions I end up at a station. A train station. So I'm thinking that maybe my brother is doing some kind of Harry Potter themed party or maybe some kind of trip to the North Pole party since it's Christmas.

I give the ticket agent my name for the tickets that are supposed to be reserved for me. The envelope I'm given is made out of paper heavier than the normal white envelope. I open it and it still does not have a destination on it but it tells me which platform to be on at what time.

At this point I'm sure it's for my brother. Because nobody else would know that my vacation from work just started today. Inside the envelope are instructions to go to a locker and the train station and a bag is already packed for me there. To me that's even more proof that my brother is up to something. That he's having some kind of themed party and there's a costume waiting for me.

By Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

When I go to the locker, there is a lock on the bag. So I called my brother, and I told him this is fun. I tell him I don't have a code for the lock. His response to me confuses me a little bit. He acts like he doesn't know what I'm talking about. I have done this with him before though. So I'm still thinking he's part of this game.

The tickets say that the train will arrive at midnight. So I go to the cafe next to the train station to wait until midnight. I start googling train timetables. I'm trying to find where this train will be taking me.

There's no train that's supposed to leave from this platform at midnight. So now I'm thinking this might be a mean prank from my brother instead of a Christmas present. But I'm at the train station already so I decide to wait and just see what is going to happen next.

By Rohit Munshi on Unsplash

At midnight I go to the platform. Besides a janitor sweeping the floor, there are no other passengers waiting with me. It seems like half the lights have been turned out. I debate to myself whether to see this through or just go home and go to bed. Just as I'm about to give up, I see a train coming towards me. When I board the train it is empty but I see a conductor coming towards me.

To be continued…

Mystery

About the Creator

R. D.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    R. D.Written by R. D.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.