Fiction logo

A Missing Piece

How Puzzling...

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 2 min read
13
A Missing Piece
Photo by Ryoji Iwata on Unsplash

Rattle, rattle, rattle.

“Ouch”

“Hey”

“Stop it”

“Quit pushing.”

“Get on your side.”

“Whose on my knob?”

“You’re breaking my outie.”

“Get out of my pocket.”

“Everyone quiet!!!!!” The TLC commanded and all fell silent. “Thank you,” they sighed in relief.

“What’s going on?”

“Why are we being shaken like a bag of beans?”

“Quiet.” The BLC snapped in annoyance.

“Obviously, it’s our season and we’re being brought out to be built again.” The TRC explained, “Now stop whining and prepare yourselves to be organized.” 

Thunk. The box landed on a hard surface.

Then a blinding bright light appeared as the top of the box was lifted off and the bottom was slowly tilted sideways. Everyone began to tumble out, they crashed into one another as they slid onto the smooth glass surface of the coffee table.

And that’s when the trouble started for me…

I collided with my companions and started to roll, I continued to do so until I surpassed the edge of the table and fell to the floor. Several of my comrades joined suit and we lay there until a set of hands began to collect us, incidentally leaving me behind.

I sighed as I waited for them to notice I had gone astray but instead received an unexpected kick that pushed me below the base of the table, completely out of sight from above.

In the hours that passed I watched as my friends were sorted, arranged and pieced together like the links they meant to be. Slowly they began to form various parts of the image we all made together; the tree with ornaments, the stockings and the winter scene outside.

All were slowly being completed except my section, the fireplace. I watched in anxiety as only a few more pieces remained and my absence would soon be noticed.

With one last click, “Hmmmm.” I heard a low voice grumble, “We’re missing one.” They proclaimed with an unsettled tone.

“Oh shoot.” The female’s voice commented, “Well maybe we just dropped it.” She suggested and a set of hands began to tap the floor in search.

I was all a flutter as I eagerly awaited for them to find me.

Feet shuffled back and forth, hands searched below the table but fingers never reached my edges.

“That’s weird, I swear we had all the pieces last year.” The deeper voice commented in disappointment.

“I did too.” The female agreed, “Maybe it’s under the table?” She suggested.

“I just looked there.” The man dismissed.

“But maybe it’s in the middle and we just haven’t found it?” She insisted, to my delight.

“We could lift the table and look.” He finally agreed.

“Okay.” She spoke and the shuffling of their feet rumbled the floor beneath me.

Suddenly I was bathed in the same blinding light as before this disaster.

“There it is.” The female exclaimed as the table was set down with a thud and I was scooped into her hands.

Then with a final soft click, I found myself placed in the fireplace section among my comrades and I am all the more grateful to be home again.

A note from the Author:

Just in case you were wondering, outie, knob and pocket refer to different parts of puzzle pieces, in reference to their shapes. Also TLC = Top Left Corner, BLC = Bottom Left Corner, TRC = Top Right Corner.

I hope you enjoyed my story, thanks for reading.

Donna Fox (HKB)

Young AdultShort StoryMicrofictionHumorHolidayfamily
13

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • J. R. Lowe4 months ago

    Forgive my pun, but I was very “puzzled” as to what those acronyms meant at the start haha. Well now I can say I’ve learned something new today! Very creative choice of object for the challenge 😁

  • This was so creative. I was a little confused at first before I realized what the abbreviations meant. I'm glad the ending I was expecting didn't happen. Ya know where the piece isn't found and the puzzle may not be tossed but every time after that you move on because someone says remember that ones missing one. Great Story Donna

  • I was shocked when I saw outie because my dirty mind thought of something else. If your mind ain't as dirty as mine, just Google "innie and outie" 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I kept wondering what were TRC, TLC and BLC and my mind kept going to a sandwich because it kept thinking of BLT hahahahahaha. Yes I was hungry when I started reading this 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 At first I thought they were Christmas tree ornaments but then I remembered your cover photo. Then I thought that was just a ruse but in the end, they were indeed puzzle pieces! I never knew they had names like knob, pcoket and hahahahahahahahaha outie. I'm sorry but that one is really funny 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I've been reading entries that are mostly sad for this challenge and yours was like a breath of fresh air! It was a fun story and I loved it so much! 🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    Well done, Donna! Glad you added the explanations at the end.

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Great! Really creative take on the challenge!

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    Nice take on the challenge!

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Very creative!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Miss Fox, you made my day after a renewal of teaching with some particularly tricket students this week! The last piece of my puzzle?

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Holy crap I was laughing so hard, I choked on my morning coffee. Well done I’m going back for another read (At first I thought it was foam popcorn packaging )

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Very well written! I was at a cottage this past weekend and my friends had almost this same experience 😂 Particularly enjoyed what I took as a bit of double entendre at the beginning with the reference to a nob 😂 I really enjoyed this one, Donna!! No notes 💖😇

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.