Fiction logo

A Meeting with Myself in the Future

Time never stops

By Subhan WildePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I woke up to find myself in a strange room. Everything was white, and there were strange machines and gadgets all around me. I looked around, trying to figure out where I was, and then I saw someone walking towards me. It was me, or at least, it looked like me, only older.

"Who are you?" I asked, still in shock.

"I'm you, from the future," the person replied.

I couldn't believe what I was hearing. Was this some sort of prank? Or had I really somehow traveled through time?

"I know this is hard to believe," my future self continued, "but it's real. You have been selected to meet me, to see what your future could be like, and to make some changes if necessary."

I was skeptical, but there was something about my future self that made me believe what they were saying. Maybe it was the fact that they looked so much like me, or maybe it was the way they spoke, with a calm and reassuring voice.

"What do you mean, changes?" I asked.

"You have a gift, a talent for writing," my future self said. "But you are not using it to your full potential. You have been stuck in a dead-end job, and you are losing your passion for it. If you continue down this path, you will never reach your full potential as a writer."

I felt a lump in my throat as my future self spoke. They were right. I had always loved writing, but I had never pursued it as a career. Instead, I had taken a safe, boring job in finance, and I was miserable.

"What can I do?" I asked, desperate for a solution.

"You need to take a risk," my future self said. "You need to follow your passion and pursue your dream of writing. It won't be easy, but it will be worth it."

As we talked, my future self showed me glimpses of my future. I saw myself as a successful writer, with several bestsellers under my belt. I saw myself traveling the world, meeting fans, and inspiring others with my words. But I also saw a version of myself where I had given up on writing, where I was stuck in a dead-end job, and where I was unhappy with my life.

It was a wake-up call for me. I realized that the decisions I made today would affect my future, and that I needed to take action if I wanted to reach my full potential.

As I said goodbye to my future self, I felt a sense of hope and determination. I knew that I had a long road ahead of me, but I also knew that I had the power to change my future. I left the strange room feeling inspired, with a renewed passion for writing.

Over the next few years, I worked hard to develop my writing skills. I took writing classes, attended workshops, and wrote every day. It wasn't easy, but I knew that it was worth it.

Eventually, I published my first book, and it was a huge success. People loved my writing, and I started to receive invitations to speak at conferences and events. It was everything that I had dreamed of, and more.

Looking back on that strange encounter with my future self, I realize that it was the kick in the pants that I needed to get my life back on track. Without that wake-up call, I might still be stuck in that dead-end job, feeling unfulfilled and unhappy.

Now, I'm living the life that I always wanted, and I owe it all to that chance encounter with myself from the future.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.