Fiction logo

A Magical Night

Was it Real or Just a Dream?

By Eliza VargasPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
A Magical Night
Photo by Monica Malave on Unsplash

There is nothing like so effortlessly gliding through the cold and crisp air on a cold afternoon in the middle of the winter. At least I would imagine there wouldn’t be. I actually hated the winter which is ironic because I was born during the winter in one of the coldest places in the country. But one day something made me rethink my feelings about the often hated season.

My family always talked about renting a cabin in the woods for Christmas and this year they decided this was the year. At first, I was dreading it: the freezing temperatures, possibly being stuck in a blizzard, and all the snow. I grew up with all of this, there was no reason I would jump for joy at the idea of this kind of vacation. But alas I didn’t have a say, nor did I have a choice on whether or not I was going. At least I could look forward to all the cups of hot chocolate and nights sitting by the fire in my pajamas. Well, and Christmas, of course.

We got to the campsite just a few days before Christmas Eve in the early afternoon just before the temperature was supposed to drop for the day. After we checked in at the lodge my family all went their separate ways once hitting the cabins, some exploring the area, others eager to settle in right away. I for one just wanted to sit inside and get the fire going. Thankfully this was one of those remote fireplaces, my parents never taught me how to make a fire and if I tried to start one now I’m sure that wouldn’t end well. I quickly made myself a hot chocolate and got cozy under the covers on the couch by the fire. Now, this is the best part of a Christmas camping trip.

No sooner than I got comfortable all of my cousins came running in, excitedly shouting how this place was great and how all our cabins were connected, and if I made hot chocolate for everyone. So much for my moment in solace. Thankfully they were all quickly distracted by one of my relatives mentioned getting food at the lodge cafeteria. They went as swiftly as they came. Ah, now I can get a moment to myself. Then my stomach started gurgling. Well, I guess I could go get some food too.

Afternoon quickly became night and all but I were fast asleep, or at least I thought. I was still sitting by the living room fire, quietly watching television by myself until I thought I heard something. At first, I wasn’t sure what it was, so I quickly shrugged it off and returned my focus to the tv. After a few moments I heard the noise again, but this time it sounded like a whisper. Maybe someone is up? Probably Sean sneaking around looking for some late-night snacks. Wait a second, he better not steal any of my hot chocolate...or eat all the snickerdoodles!

I slowly make my way towards the kitchen hoping to catch the sleuth in the act before he could take any of my stuff. As I come to the doorway, I peek my head around to see if I could spot anyone. At first glance, no one seemed to be around, so I tip-toed my way further into the room. I scan the room and there is no one in sight. I even turned the kitchen light on just to be sure.

Maybe he heard me coming and snuck back to the room where the rest of the kids are sleeping.

It had felt as though hours had passed and I looked everywhere, but everyone had been in bed, sound asleep. Am I going crazy? I could have sworn I heard something. Huh?

As I return to my place on the couch I hear the voice yet again, except this time it’s louder. Almost like it came from just a few feet away from me. I whirl around and still see nothing but feel a rush of cold air hit my body.

“Follow me.” The voice was right in my ear and I jumped. However this time someone was there, or something. It almost looked like a small person surrounded by this faint glow. She moved about like a fly, going back and forth, barely able to see but you still know it’s there. Okay, I must have fallen asleep because there is no way this is real. Ooo maybe I can fly too, that would be fun. In spite of my sarcasm, I close my eyes and focus with just a spark of hope my feet would magically lift off the ground like in Peter Pan. After a moment I open my eyes and see that I sadly have not moved. Well if this is a dream, it’s not a great one but I’ll bite. So without another thought, I began to follow the “fairy”. It must have realized I was now willing to follow as it began to move slower and almost float towards the door of the cabin. The closer it got to the door, the door creaked open without any help from something touching it. It’s probably freezing outside, should I put on a coat? Well if this is a dream I wouldn’t need a coat would I? The fairy didn’t seem as though she was willing to wait. So I went straight out the door in hopes not to lose her.

There was some light outside, it was something like what you would see at the break of dawn. The hues of light blue, pink, and purple shone on the horizon. There was some snow on the ground but with every step, it felt more refreshing than numbing. A slight breeze grazed through my hair like the caress of a hand on my cheek. We make our way down a hill and through some trees when all of a sudden I seem to lose her. I began to run in the general direction she was going in while continuing to make my way through the Evergreens. After a few moments, I came to this large pond. The water in it had frozen and sparkled like crystals. As I got closer I could see a girl gliding across it with such elegance. I soon realized it was the fairy but she was normal-sized now. When I finally got to it I hesitated to get on the frozen water in fear of falling on or through it. The now large fairy approached me and held out her hand. I grab it and she hurls me onto the ice. I almost lose my balance but somehow she keeps me from falling. We start off slow but soon I begin to glide as effortly on the ice as she did. It was magical. It was freeing. Even then I’m not sure that truly extravagant the feeling was. I almost felt like I was in another world. I mean, after all, this was a dream, right?

The moment I allowed myself to second guess what was happening, I came to on the couch in the cabin. My little cousin Sean was staring at me like I was an alien.

“Aah! Why are you looking at me like that?” He almost gave me a heart attack.

“Why are your clothes all wet?” He points to the ends of my pajama pants. We both curiously look to where he is pointing and then after a moment back at each other.

Was it real? But how can that be? I have to see if the frozen pond is really there. But if I go by myself how will I know it’s actually real?

“Sean. Do you want to go on an adventure with me?” His face instantly lights up and he jumps to his feet.

“Oh boy, can the others come too?” I think for a moment, pretending to hesitate over a huge crowd coming with us.

“Sure, why not.” Sean soon begins to run and scream around the house “WE’RE GOING ON AN ADVENTURE!” It only took a few minutes for everyone, children and adults alike, ran out of their rooms excited for this “adventure” we’d be going on.

I led the group outside, the same path I believed I had walked just hours before. The kids sang and ran around on our journey happy just to be out in the winter wonderland we were surrounded by. I soon see the Evergreen trees and my heart gets stuck in my throat. Is this just a coincidence or is the majestic frozen pond I had visited last night really just beyond these trees? After a few minutes my question was answered. I ran to the pond with my family following suit. The kids weren’t scared at all to attempt to skate on it while I stood back just taking it all in. Soon I felt a tap on my shoulder. When I turned to look it was my grandmother looking at me with a curious smile.

“Why did you bring us here? I thought you hated winter and didn’t want to come?” I took a moment to decide the right thing to say.

“I’m coming around to it...but let’s just say, you wouldn’t believe me if I told you.” I thoughtfully looked to the ground at my feet. She nudges me in my arm.

“Try me.” And she winks.

Young Adult
1

About the Creator

Eliza Vargas

LA, aspiring singer, actress, and writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.