Fiction logo

A Lucid Dream

Chapter 7

By Zeline FarneyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

I found myself laying on a cold block of ice drifting with nothing but water encompassing me. I felt impeccably small, and for a moment, I viewed myself from a bird's eye view, staring down upon myself, just a speck of white floating in the calm sea. I abruptly came back into my body and jumped to my feet.

“Hello!” I called out, but the sound of my voice was absorbed completely, the same way noise is absorbed by a fresh blanket of heavy snow. I spoke again, “Hello?”, this time more quietly. I thought for a moment that I could see my words in the air, brief vibration, before they fell to the ground and writhed like worms drying in the sun. I sat. I felt the whiteness of the ice beneath me. Cold. Hard. Rigid. Prickly. There was no wind. No noise. No sounds. I was not cold. I leaned forward and looked into the water. It reflected the sky so perfectly that I thought it looked like a mirror. “I will walk on you,” I whispered. I stood, and stepped out onto the water. It held me because I believed, and I walked daintily forward, careful to not break the surface. A breeze started. It blew cool air against my face. My hair flew out behind me like a flag on a windy day, and the tips of my hair flicked the bare skin of my neck, shoulders and face. It stung. “BE STILL!” I roared. The wind knelt to my command. Everything stilled. My heart began to race as panic rose inside of me. I started to run. Starting slowly, my pace quickened with each stride. The water now splashed with each strike of my forefoot, spraying up and out; it dampened my clothing. Finally I stopped.

I looked to my left. Nothing. I looked to my right. Nothing. I looked behind me. Nothing. The ice I had found myself on had disappeared. I stood now in complete solitude, in complete silence, completely alone in nothingness. The sky was perfectly blue with a few white wispy clouds. I looked down. The water was no longer a mirror but clear glass. My heart began to pound hard in my chest as I became terrified of breaking through. Doubt began to fill my head, spinning and spiralling. I could hear the beating of war drums, the sound of my heart.

CRASH.

The glass broke beneath the weight of my fear. I was being pulled down into the water.

Down.

Down, like a cement block was attached to my feet.

Down, like a smooth, round rock sinks, steadily, without floating from side to side. I sank without struggle. My arms tight to my side. My ankles bound together with imaginary twine.

It was a long way down. When my feet touched the bottom, I knelt. I touched the soft, fine, sand with my fingertips, and closed my eyes, hanging my head low.

Why was I here? How would I leave? What was this place?

I was not out of breath. And despite the situation, which should have evoked terror, I felt no need to panic. I looked around. There was. No Fish. No seaweed. Nothing. The landscape glistened. The light rippled in the water and danced on the white sandy bottom. I stood and walked again. Walking in the water was difficult, my limbs heavy and slow. I felt an awareness.

I looked to my left. There, though it had not been there seconds prior, arose a perilous castle. It was obsidian and Gothic with three towers. It stood in stark contrast against the white sand and the pristine cerulean water. It cast a shadow twice as long as it stood tall, and I wondered if the peak of its highest tower broke the surface.

“I have chosen you.” a deep voice declared.

I felt a tingle journey up my spine. Turning to the voice, there was a mermaid. I squeezed my eyes shut. Astonished by what I was seeing. I opened them. Now I was staring at a great octopus.

“What?’ my words sounded muffled.

“I am whoever you need me to be.”

Now I was staring at a great white shark. The presence of this shapeshifter was alarming, and I fell to my knees.

“Now child, do not be so alarmed. I am the greatness of this world. I am the light. I am the way. I will be your shield, your sword, your courage, and your amour. It is through me you will find greatness and fulfill your destiny. RISE UP!”

I opened my eyes and stood only to see the being was gone.

I felt the touch of a hand on my right shoulder. A whisper came in my left ear, “You must free Isaiah.”

I looked, but no one was there. For the first time, I started to feel cold. I wanted to walk to the castle, but I was floating upward. I was rising. Shooting upwards to the surface, I felt wet for the first time.

I shot up out of the water and…

“AHH. Oww.”

There was a loud thud. I held my head, and tears came to my eyes almost immediately. I had smacked my head against the ceiling of the shelter, and a tiny stream of blood dribbled down the center of my forehead and between my eyes. I held my damp shirt over my head. I was cool, and while I had dried out a bit from the previous day I was still a little wet in some places. Especially my feet. I had a headache. I felt an almost unidentifiable emotion welling up inside of me, the irresistible desire to sob, but I didn't.

“Are you ok Natasha?” Vanessa looked at me with big blue eyes, and I thought for a moment that her eyes looked just like the water in my dream.

“I don't know really,”

I thought for a moment. “I had a really weird dream, Vanessa.”

“It's ok. You have me Natasha, and I will help you no matter what.” I knew she meant that, and I knew it was true. She was loyal and loving and capable. She had faith in me and my ability to guide her. I felt as strong as I had ever felt. My mind settled on what I needed to do.

“Ness we need to head out. We have a lot of ground to cover” I took Vanessa’s hand and squeezed it.

“Ok, Tasha. Let's go!”

AdventureFableFantasySeriesYoung Adult
Like

About the Creator

Zeline Farney

I love poetry and the way words sound. I am a fiction lover. I love adventures and fairytales and things that could never be real. I love daydreaming. I tell silly tales to my children and recently decided to create a book for them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.