Fiction logo

A Love Song

A Forever Love

By VirituosoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

The night was young, the sky was clear in the small town of Maui, and the sun was beginning to set, casting a warm glow over the streets and houses. Jenna sat on her front porch, strumming her guitar and singing a soft, sweet love song. She had always loved music, and singing was her passion. She had a natural talent for it, and her voice was like honey to the ears of those who heard it.

Jenna had just finished high school and planned to attend college in the fall. She was excited to start a new chapter in her life, but at the same time, she was a little bit nervous. She had always been a bit of a loner, and she wasn't sure if she was ready to leave the safety and comfort of her small town behind.

As she sang, Jenna couldn't help but think about the boy she had been in love with for as long as she could remember. His name was Ben, and he was the only person who had ever really understood her. They had grown up together and always been there through thick and thin for each other.

Jenna had never told Ben how she felt about him, and she wasn't sure if he even knew. She had always been too afraid to risk their friendship, and she didn't want to do anything that might jeopardize what they had. But as she sang her love song, she couldn't help but wonder if maybe, just maybe, Ben felt the same way about her.

As the sun disappeared behind the horizon, Jenna finished her song and packed up her guitar. Suddenly, she heard a voice behind her. She stood up and stretched, taking a deep breath of the warm summer air. "That was beautiful," said Ben, who had just walked up to the porch. "You have an incredible voice."

Jenna blushed, feeling embarrassed and a little bit self-conscious. "Thanks," she mumbled, fidgeting with the strap of her guitar. Ben smiled at her, his eyes twinkling in the fading light. "I've always thought you were talented," he said. "I'm so glad you're finally going to college to pursue your dream. I know you'll be a huge success."

Jenna felt her heart skip a beat at his words. She had always known that Ben supported her dreams, but she had never realized how much he believed in her. She looked up at him, her eyes full of gratitude and love.

"Thanks, Ben," she said softly. "I couldn't have done it without your encouragement."Ben reached out and took Jenna's hand, giving it a gentle squeeze. "You don't have to thank me," he said. "I'm just glad to be able to help you in any way I can."

Jenna's heart was racing as she looked into Ben's eyes. She couldn't believe this was the moment she had been waiting for her whole life. She took a deep breath and mustered up all of her courage. "Ben," she said, her voice shaking slightly. "I need to tell you something. I've been in love with you forever, and I don't want to go to college without telling you how I feel."

Ben's eyes widened in surprise, and then a slow smile spread. "Jenna," he said, his voice full of emotion. "I've been in love with you for just as long. I was too afraid to say anything because I didn't want to ruin our friendship. But now that you've said it first, I don't think I can hold it in any longer. I love you too, Jenna. More than anything."

Jenna felt tears of joy as Ben leaned down and kissed her softly. It was the perfect moment of her life, and she knew she would never forget it. As they pulled back from the kiss, Jenna looked up at Ben with a smile. "I can't believe this is happening," she said. "I've been dreaming of this moment for as long as I can remember."

Ben chuckled and brushed a stray strand of hair from Jenna's face. "I know," he said. "I have to. I just never thought it would happen."Jenna wrapped her arms around Ben's neck and pulled him close, feeling the warmth of his body against hers. She knew they had a long road ahead of them, with college and other life challenges, but she also knew that they would face them together. And as they stood on the porch, wrapped in each other's arms, Jenna knew that she had finally found her happily ever after.

Young AdultShort StoryLove

About the Creator

Virituoso

I am a short story writer who loves reading and watching movies. I have five kids, a wife, and a dog. I try to live life to the fullest and enjoy every moment. I am a virtuoso when it comes to living life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VirituosoWritten by Virituoso

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.