Fiction logo

A Light Flurry

Mixing my love for Dark Academia and snow together

By Brin J.Published 4 months ago 1 min read
8
*Unsplash*shubham-kayarkar

That's it. I'm moving back to Florida.

Mom said to give it a chance; it's barely my first semester, but snow just isn't for me. It's too cold and there's just too much of it. Jackets? Layers? What's the point? It still finds its way into my unmentionables.

Right now, a light flurry is swirling around the campus courtyard, but it's already ruining my day. I have to shield my books and laptop with my body, unable to care for myself to protect them from the elements.

Can't use a backpack. The bulky coat I have on restricts my movements, making it difficult to put on or take off, and the straps constrict blood flow to my arms. It's just not worth it.

As I exhale, a white cloud forms in front of my face. The moisture hits my cheeks and the skin chills like I got a wet kiss from winter's cold lips. I go to wipe it away, only to remember my hands are full.

Ugh! I can't stand it.

I'm miserable.

What possessed me to come to New Hampshire? I mean, it's beautiful, but I can obtain a History degree from anywhere.

Scowling, I dodge other students as we all try to navigate the icy sidewalk to get to class. I glance up at the old brick building as I approach the entrance. Secrets of the arcane past are taught within these walls, and with each step I take towards it, my resentment and chill gradually dissipates.

Stream of ConsciousnessShort StoryMicrofiction
8

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. 📖

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    No bad weather, only bad clothes! 😁

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Summer will come, stick it out girl! I loved this description, the character really felt real.

  • Check out University of Ohio in Athens. My sister-in-law is currently head of the history department there with an emphasis in women's studies. Plus, she frequently gets interviewed for tv & periodicals for her expertise on first ladies. Of course, they get snow there, too. But the fall foliage is spectacular. Or maybe this was simply a fun little piece of fiction, lol.

  • I've never experienced snow before. As a child, I've always wanted to experience it. Now it's a big NOPE! Lol! I can barely stand being in an aircond room for a few hours! I'm so glad MC is not letting the cold stop her. Loved the ending!

  • Bella Nerina4 months ago

    "... like I got a wet kiss from winter's wet lips." that's such a great description, I can just feel it!

  • Sara Wilson4 months ago

    As a child, I loved the cold. As an adult, it's a no for me. I lived in southern Cali most of my life and moved to Texas. At first, I was like, "Ew. It's too hot in Texas." With the weather we have had here the past few years. The "historical ice storms". I'm over it and actually miss the heat. I'm with you. Florida over snow any day.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.