Fiction logo

A Journey Between Worlds

A Mother's Paradise

By Anthony ChanPublished 22 days ago 4 min read
2
Mom During Her Younger Years

The scented flowers and the soft rustle of palm leaves filled the air as I found myself again in a dream that felt more real than life itself! The tropical paradise around me seemed to hum with life; the golden sand beneath my feet felt warm and inviting. Then, as I turned, I saw my dear Mom's face glowing with excitement, her eyes twinkling with the same love and enthusiasm I had always remembered.

"Look at this place!" she exclaimed, spreading her arms wide to encompass the breathtaking beauty of the scene. "Isn't it wonderful?"

I couldn't help but smile, my heart swelling with joy. Each dream was different, yet the theme was always the same. She would show me her new world, filled with marvels and wonders, and I would be entranced by the magic she wove around me.

"Mom, it's beautiful," I replied, letting the warmth of her presence wash over me. "This is an amazing place!"

We walked along the shoreline, the waves gently lapping at our feet, and she pointed out various sights—a lagoon with crystal-clear water, a grove of coconut palms swaying gently in the breeze, and a rainbow arching gracefully across the sky. The air was filled with the sounds of exotic birds, and I felt a sense of peace that I rarely found in my daily life.

"You know how much I love Hawaii," I said, my voice tinged with nostalgia. "This place is like a dream come true." She laughed, a sound that felt like music to my ears. "I know you do, darling. That's why I chose this location for you. I wanted to share something special with you."

As we continued our walk, I couldn't shake the feeling that something was amiss, a nagging thought tugging at the back of my mind. But in the enchantment of the moment, I pushed it aside, allowing myself to be fully present with her.

"Come, I have something else to show you," she said, taking my hand and leading me along a lush, green path through the forest. The air was fragrant with tropical flowers, and the light filtered through the canopy, casting dappled shadows on the ground.

A Big Moment

We emerged into a clearing, and there, nestled among the trees, was a quaint little cottage. It looked like something out of a fairy tale, with ivy climbing up its walls and flowers blooming in every corner. She opened the door, and we stepped inside. The interior was cozy and inviting, filled with mementos of our past.

"Do you remember this?" she asked, holding up a small seashell necklace I had made for her as a child.

I nodded, tears welling up in my eyes. "How could I forget?"

We sat at a table, and she poured us some tea, the familiar ritual bringing comfort and normalcy. We talked and laughed, reminiscing about old times and sharing stories. It was as if no time had passed, and I felt our bond strengthen with each moment.

Moment of Truth

But then, as always, the conversation took an ominous turn. She looked at me with hope and fear. I knew from prior dreams what she was going to say.

"I have something to ask you," she said softly, her voice trembling slightly. "I want you to stay with me here. This world is so beautiful here, and there's so much more I want to show you."

The words hung in the air, and I suddenly felt very uncomfortable and had intense stomach pains. "Mom," I began, my voice shaking. I love this place, and I love being with you. But... I can't stay. I have my life, my responsibilities, and my loved ones. I'm not ready to leave it all behind."

Her jaw dropped, the disappointment evident in her eyes, and it broke my heart to see her like that. "I understand," she said, her voice barely above a whisper. "But it's so hard to let you go each time. I miss you so much."

"I miss you too," I replied, tears streaming down my face. "But I still have things to do in my world. I'm not ready to come with you yet. Someday, I will. But not now."

She nodded, a sad smile playing on her lips. "I know. And I will always be here, waiting for you. Just promise me you'll take care of yourself and live fully."

"I promise," I said, my heart aching with the weight of the farewell. "And I'll always carry you in my heart, no matter where I am."

With that, the dream faded, the vibrant colors dimmed, and the sounds grew distant. I held on to her hand as long as I could, until the last vestiges of the dream slipped away and I woke up, tears still wet on my cheeks.

Lying in my bed, the morning light filtering through the curtains, I felt a profound loss and longing. Saying goodbye to her tore a little piece of my heart away. But I also felt a profound love and gratitude for the precious moments that reminded me that we would someday be together again!

I knew that one day, I would join her in that beautiful, magical world she lived in. But until then, I had my journey to complete and a life to live. I also hoped she would understand, even though I could tell my rejection of her offer deeply hurt her.

With deep pain in my heart, I got out of bed and began my day, carrying the memory of my Mom while keeping the dream close to my heart. As I moved through the challenges of the day and joys of my waking life, I held on to the promise I had made—to continue my life’s journey until we could be united again.

Lovefamily
2

About the Creator

Anthony Chan

Chan Economics LLC, Public Speaker

Chief Global Economist & Public Speaker JPM Chase ('94-'19).

Senior Economist Barclays ('91-'94)

Economist, NY Federal Reserve ('89-'91)

Econ. Prof. (Univ. of Dayton, '86-'89)

Ph.D. Economics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.