Fiction logo

A Heist Story

How far would you go to get what you want?

By Edward AndersonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
A Heist Story
Photo by Marina Abrosimova on Unsplash

It's in my sight, I think it was placed there on purpose. Just out of reach. Someone wanted to taunt me with it. But they didn't know that I was going to get it.

I reached up but the shelf was too high. A cry escaped from my throat but nobody answered. Typical. They teased me with things and then ignored when I cried.

Maybe if I jumped high enough, I could get it. My legs weren't long but I could do amazing things with them. The sound the floor made when I came back down got attention from one of my parents.

"What is going on?" Dad asked. He looked at me and sighed. For some reason, he changed my diaper. Then put me back in the playpen.

But my rattle was still out of reach. I jumped again to no avail. What was a baby supposed to do to get what they wanted?

Then the answer came to me as clear as Elmo's World. I let out a piercing scream, drawing my father back into the room. He looked confused. To make it easy for him, I pointed to the toy I wanted.

He handed it to me.

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Edward Anderson

Edward has written hundreds of acclaimed true crime articles and has won numerous awards for his short stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.