Fiction logo

A Haunting

A Comical Ghost

By Isabella RosePublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 7 min read
7

THE LIVING ROOM

Beaming at him with excitement in her eyes, she quickly pushes the slip of paper into his open palm. Pressing her lips to his, she happily states, “We’re going to the castle to spend a night with the undead,” as she jumps into his arms.

“The undead, if I wanted to spend a night with the undead, I would see my ex-wife again. Anyways, you know that I am skeptical about ghosts and ghouls, and things that go bump in the night. I am happy to hold your hand as you go and explore, though. What castle are we going to or is it a surprise?” he responded with a chuckle.

Please do not mention ITs name again, my handsome poet,” she screeched with some force before dropping her voice to a whisper and drawing him to her with a sly smile, “Besides, who says ghost hunting is all we will be doing?” Before allowing her mind to finish the imagery that started to form, she bounded to the other side of the room, throwing open drawers like a child ripping into boxes on Christmas day.

“Now, what are we bringing with us, My Raven?”

“A torch, E.V.P. reader, and the video camera. I just hope we do not encounter a spirit as bratty as you. You go pack, I need to work out how to get to the freezing dwelling you are dragging me toward.” He replied as he poured himself a coffee.

CASTLE COCH

The quiet darkness of the evening sky wrapped the day in its embrace as they pulled up to the mysteriously lit castle gate. A gentle swaying of the surrounding trees almost beckoned them toward the old stonework of the walls.

“You did book a room, right?” he quizzed nervously.

“Yes, it’s where she is supposed to be?” she replied, half distracted by the imposing structure looming before them.

“The last thing that I needed is another crazy woman in my life, ah the joys. What have you got me into, My Little One. I will just have to try not to marry this one. Did you pack all the bits and pieces that we decided on? Did you bring a torch? Where exactly do we go to sign in and get a key?” he spoke through a cautious laugh.

“If I have to fight a female ghost for your soul then I will.” She continued with a smile, “I am the only woman you are marrying, My Love,” as she led him to a stone staircase. “Our room is in the old dungeon,” she said with a slight grin.

“Hmm, dungeon. Chains, clamps, and alike? I am not one for dungeons. Why couldn’t you have gotten one of the cozy and warm bedrooms that I am sure they have here? Why would a woman be haunting a dungeon? More to the point why would I need to be anywhere near it?” he spoke as a wry smile appeared on his face.

The air felt like an icy hand grasping them with every footstep that they took. The limited light given by the badly placed candles floated across the stone pathway as a large and intimidating oak door materialized in front of them.

“I’m sure this wasn’t always here,” he whispered, trying to keep his voice steady as she pushed open the heavy wooden door with a harsh shove.

Their footsteps echoed from the cobblestone floor as they made their way to their comfortable bed that was, ironically, placed in a cold and damp corner of the room.

“It’s this way, My Raven,” she said enthusiastically as she pulled out her flashlight to illuminate their path.

“So, what is the story about this demonic woman? I bet she is a Janet; it is always a Janet. It’s not liable to throw things, is it?” he commented through a giggle.

“It is an interesting story, My Raven, and a sad one,” she said as she calmly took his hand before continuing, “The Prince was a bit of a...” She stopped and cocked her head as she listened to the sound of tiny rodent feet scurrying over the stone floor. She continued, “Let us just say that he had some issues with being him. Anyway, his mother caught him with a peasant girl, accused her of witchcraft, and sentenced her to death by starvation in this room.” Her voice quieted as she continued, “It didn’t quite go as planned, though, she survived for months by eating rats.”

“So, she lived like she ate at a Wetherspoons every day. Saying that, if they served rat at a Wetherspoons you would only get the tail, I know what they are like for portioning food. I take it that they kept her down here in the dungeon. How does she scare people or is it one of those illustrious stories random people tell you about when you mention ghosts?” he inquired as he lit up a smoke.

“Are you ever going to kiss me, or are you really too nervous,” she teased as she lay on the bed. “It’s rumored that she tries to hang any woman who dares venture down here to bother her,” she uttered as she patted the bed beside her. “I’m serious,” she continued, “Women have left with rope burns on their necks,” she remonstrated as her eyes grew wide with a bit of a panic.

“Me nervous, in a dungeon with a pretty lady, never. What has my life come to? I am quite convinced all women are insane by default, or do I just drive them that way? I am sure if this spirit, ghost, or ghoul exists, it is going to be angry. Who would not be, after being accused of witchcraft; and then starved to death. Although, I am sure she would have been a lot angrier if she had to eat American food. Who adds sugar to cheese? A random country, and do not get me started on what the f, grits are. Rant over, I thought we were hunting ghosts, not creating babies,” he monologued, before placing his hand softly on her cheek and gazing deep into her eyes.

“For heaven’s sake, just kiss me already, or that ghost isn’t going to be the only lady with a temper in this room, My Raven,” she exasperated as she looked at him expectantly.

Joining his lips with hers as he combed her hair behind her ear, he whispered to her, “Did you just plan all this to seduce me, Missy.”

“Seduction is not a bad idea, but this place really is haunted,” she gasped as her breaths grew heavier. “Something is choking me,” she admitted to him.

“We need to leave, now,” he shouted to her as he grabbed her hand.

“Don’t forget the bag,” she motioned, just before they got to the door.

“I usually don’t mind being choked, but not by a damn ghost,” she agreed as they rushed for the slowly closing door that threatened to lock them inside of the cold and cruel walls.

This story was written by me and My Raven on January 9, 2024.

LoveHumorHorror
7

About the Creator

Isabella Rose

I am a dedicated author with a passion for fiction. I own a joint business with my amazingly talented co-writer and poet, Raven Black.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    WOW! Very amazing work!!

  • noor4 months ago

    story just blow my mind how someone can write such a great story

  • Hahahahahahaha I kept finding some parts of the story very amusing and then I saw you added the Humour tag! We certainly share the same dark humour, lol! That peasant girl's story was very sad though. I wish she would take revenge on the Prince's mother! Hahahahaha! I enjoyed your story so much my Morbid Friend! I noticed that Raven has created an account, I've subscribed to him. Looking forward to reading more stories from you both!

  • Very Good and It is one of the Creative story.

  • Raven Black4 months ago

    It isn't often we write stories with a comedic element.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.