Fiction logo

A Guide Home

Rapture

By Pamela JamesPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
A Guide Home
Photo by Gavin Allanwood on Unsplash

A GUIDE HOME

When I found the shape of a third heart-shaped locket this time in blood; I knew the man who pushed the cart full of cans down Porter Avenue was another angel, GOD was coming and the people left were in for it. If I would have known then what I know now I would have listened more closely.

The scene in Schindler’s List of the little girl in red haunts me and pops in my head like it’s a new idea. The frightened girl calmly walks through chaos to look for a place to hide as Oskar Schindler views the scene from his horse on a hill. That is how I spot things out of the ordinary. Things stand out. I know I need to pay attention. This is the second time I see the heart-shaped locket.

Cassandra was standing there in tattered camouflaged clothing directing people through an opening. She was probably at one time part of the military troop in this area but the operation has since been disbanded. Everyone including military personnel were on their own.

On the other side of the road, a group of people were rocking together slightly performing some type of dance. The others, vultures they were called, who were watching them threw pieces of bread and meat at the group. The group would quickly bend down and stuff the food in their mouths. The scene was mesmerized Cassandra who had tears streaming down her drawn face. Cassandra moved and waved her hand when I noticed a heat-shaped locket port-wine stain on the inside of her forearm. It wasn’t very big. My eyes shot to it like I was looking under a microscope, it jumped out like 3D. I observed the texture, a little bumpy and raised. She noticed me looking and said “It’s a birthmark, I wear my heart on my sleeve” and gave a loud cackle. She only had eight teeth in her mouth. She motioned me to come closer. As I walked near her, some of the vultures turned their narrow eyes to watch me.

Cassandra said “I don’t know why the moon started to crumble but we don’t have much more time in this world, they should not have tried to colonize there.” “Don’t you think we had a perfectly good place to live here on earth before those human vultures started to show up?” I glanced up now and the scenario was much bleaker than yesterday. A bigger piece had broken off and the remnants were floating in the atmosphere or tumbling towards earth. “There were eighty-two more tsunamis’ today” She said as she absently held out her marked arm for me to examine. I gently touched her beautiful scarred arm and she gave me the warmest smile despite her missing teeth. “I have my full armor at least that’s what momma said before she passed,” she said. “You know this is the line to go, underground don’t you?” Yes, I do, but I am going to wait a little longer, I am looking for two of my friends before I go,” I say to her.

I had lost track of time, Johnathan, Sonja and I were supposed to meet here at the coffee shop on Porter Avenue and Bergen Street. I know they would be here maybe they’re just late considering the circumstances. They would want to gather and take as many people as they could to safety.

I did not realize life; my life would change so drastically. I knew the world would come to an end, I just didn’t think in my lifetime. My shoulder blades ache so badly. It felt like hard bone trying to push through the skin. I guess eventually it will. When I reached back it was smooth and soft. This morning I awoke and looked in the bathroom mirror. I did not feel any different. I grabbed a hand-held mirror and turned so my back faced the mirror in the bathroom while I looked through the hand-held mirror at my back, slightly scarred and yet I still couldn’t believe it. In my head, I softly said “Why God”, Why Me? What do you want me to do? I had incredible peace about what was happening, but I had questions too. I would soon find the reason, maybe not in this lifetime though. The moon was crumbling and scientists did not have a clue as to why.

I met Jonathan soon after the weather started to get furious and the moon began to come apart. One morning, I opened my front door and the darkest man I had ever seen with the most incredibly brilliant white smile stared back at me. I was not frightened but surprised, instinctively I knew he was an angel. Now that I think of it I don’t remember what he said as he embraced me and held me by my shoulders. He pressed a heart-shaped locket into my palm and said “remember?” I nodded and closed my hand. Johnathan walked away. After that moment, I began to walk about and minister to people just by my presence. I would hardly say a word and people would come and talk to me about their lives for no reason at all. I was like a homing device as people sought me out to talk. Some would sigh and say “I feel so much better, thank you for listening”. I would smile and move on.

I saw Sonja first, she floated so gracefully towards me and stopped. She said “You ready?” I nodded she took my hand. The loudest utterance I ever heard in life came from her soul as I observed Johnathan swiftly come around the corner to meet us. We looked up and there HE was, brilliant light beaming. Thunderous claps filled the air and smaller glints of lighting swishing past the three of us towards HIM. Johnathan touched my shoulder now and there was a loud flutter. Wings burst from the spot where there was bone, blood spilled into a peculiar shape on the ground. Suddenly I knew. I was a guide. A heart-shaped locket to guide the way home. We were all going home.

Mystery

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    PJWritten by Pamela James

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.