Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

To Dream is to Forget

3:00 AM Challenge Entry.

By Paul StewartPublished 9 days ago Updated 9 days ago 3 min read
To Dream is to Forget
Photo by Jarle Johansen on Unsplash

"I've dreamed a lot. I'm tired now from dreaming, but not tired of dreaming. No one tires of dreaming, because to dream is to forget, and forgetting does not weigh on us, it is a dreamless sleep throughout which we remain awake." - Fernando Pessoa, The Book of Disquiet

Am I awake or asleep? It's getting harder to know. For the last three months. At least, I think it's been three months, I've been stalked by my dreams. I get...these headaches. They've increased in frequency recently. Ever since...well that doesn't matter now. Sleep has a habit of sneaking up on me, when I least expect it.

One moment, I'll be awake and then the next I'm walking through some unknown place. No... that’s not right. They're never truly unknown. I... just am not sure where they are. No matter how often I end up there, I am none the wiser. Everything is a little bit blurry; you know? That's when I can tell, I'm there and not here. My hands look fuzzy, as I move, pixelated or like they aren't solid anymore.

Sometimes, I find myself by the sea, at my favourite spot. I sit on the old brick wall that runs along the pier, and watch the tide roll in. It was...peaceful. I'd suck in the salty air through my nostrils and swear it was real. Then I’d be jolted back here, where it all feels darker, duller, more lifeless than there. Funny that...isn't it? I think so.

If it wasn't at the pier, on that wall overlooking the sea, it would be at the funfair. Imagine a fun fair where you didn’t need to worry about money. You could go on all the rides, as often as you like. I'd often sit on the Ferris wheel and when my cabin reached the top, I'd just imagine it slowing down and stopping, and there I'd be, sitting at the top in silence. Looking out across the fun fair and beyond.

It was peaceful and tranquil. Then. I'd wake and I'd be back here in the misery and the noisy silence. Silence on the other side is different to silence here. There's always a clock...a buzz, something to remind you. There - it can be as quiet as you need it to be...as quiet as you want it to be.

I know I said I’m unsure of the difference and you’re probably thinking that doesn’t make sense. But that’s the thing. Lately, it feels like the dreamworld is bleeding into reality. I’ve noticed my hands becoming fuzzy even when I think I’m awake.

I can’t tell why, but it has something to do with June. I can’t recall anything specific, but I keep seeing newspapers or TV screens in café windows, all highlighting June.

June is important and I don’t know why. I feel I’m getting closer, though, because…it’s hard to say. I feel colder…less calm…even over there.

My sanctuary feels less and less like a sanctuary, each time I return there. I wish I knew why June was important. Why June leaves me feeling cold and empty.

Wait…. who are you again?

“Alan, I’m Doctor Boswell. My team and I have been looking after you. Do you remember?”

I…I think so. What’s wrong with me?

“Do you remember what happened to your wife…to June?”

What?

“There was an accident.”

No… not my dear June. Please tell me I’m dreaming. Please, Doc…

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Another entry for the 3:00 AM Challenge that came to me very quickly. Almost stream of consciousness. Hope you enjoy it. It's rather sad, sorry about that.

Here are some other pieces you might like:

Short StoryStream of ConsciousnessPsychologicalMysteryLovefamily

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 days ago

    Oh that was brilliant! Never thought of the possibility that June could be a name. I feel so sorry for him though. Loved your story!

  • Oh my goodness… you’ve excelled, as always!🤩 You’ve perfectly captured the weird way dreams throw up random memories: ‘ Sometimes, I find myself by the sea, at my favourite spot. I sit on the old brick wall that runs along the pier, and watch the tide roll in. It was...peaceful.’ Brilliant but sad ending.🥹

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.