Fiction logo

A grain of sand walking through the ginger manor

I am a grain of sand blown from Siberia, I fell with a lot of gravel, on a high loess slope.

By Angela R BillipsPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
A grain of sand walking through the ginger manor
Photo by Jocelyn Morales on Unsplash

I am a grain of sand blown from Siberia, I fell with a lot of gravel, on a high loess slope.

One day, when I woke up, I found that the wind had stopped, the earth was calm again, and I had become an insignificant grain of sand on the top of the high slope. Looking around, in the vast expanse of mountains, I saw a mansion - Jiang's Manor. It is not often that a mansion can stand on the fluffy sandy soil. I know that in this area, only the kiln can withstand the heavy weight of our fellow gravel, but the Jiang manor will be built into a fortress-style kiln, which is very surprising to me. Suddenly a gust of wind blew, and I was pushed and shoved by other sand back into the air. After a few spins, I landed with difficulty on the top of the tower of the Jiang manor.

Now, I stood on top of the tower high enough to have a panoramic view of the entirety of Ginger Manor. As if I were a giant on a high mountain, looking down on the small town at my feet, I saw the three-story courtyard built on the mountain. It was the lower courtyard, the middle courtyard, and the upper courtyard. The kiln in the upper courtyard was covered by a giant acacia tree, which looked very mysterious. The middle courtyard was more spacious than the lower courtyard, with two families living there. The lower courtyard has only four families, and the center of the courtyard is also a small tree, but the lower courtyard looks more down and out, I do not know if there are still people living. Throughout the entire Jiang manor, like a large three-step ladder, and on each step of the terrace, there are homes. On the Loess Plateau, the higher you stand, the more violent and mundane the wind is. Just as I looked up at the orchard on the far side of the mountain, the wind brought me back to the tiles on the fence.

The tiles in front of me had small holes eroded by the wind, so I huddled in a small hole and waited for the sand to stop.

I don't know how long it took, I woke up from my comfort zone, I found myself in the middle courtyard, all around has changed, those children who played together back then, now there is no trace. The neat stone and green pavement had become potholes, very painful, and the old mill in the courtyard had cracked in the middle and was filled with dust. "Bam", my tile fell from the beam, the fracture is still in the year that the green and black paint. I fell to the ground with the tiles and began to look up at the decaying courtyard.

There was a frightening silence all around, except for the tits flying through the air, and its call seemed to be a knife cutting through the sky, startling me with a jolt. Suddenly, I saw a girl coming toward me with a metal bucket, picking up the tiles. I hurriedly climbed on the tiles and let her walk with me. We went up stone steps, through a dark cave, and around another corner to the upper courtyard - the mysterious place shrouded by green trees. The girl stopped to open the door with the key, so I looked back to look around. There is a vegetable garden here, the smell of fresh vegetables makes me very happy, and the smell of moist earth is very soothing. The sky is extraordinarily blue, not a single cloud can obscure its magnificence. The girl pushed open the courtyard door, I looked in, the moment, the sun is extraordinarily bright, the upper courtyard of the mysterious painting sand as if about to be unveiled.

The girl put us on a stone porch and walked away, which gave me enough time to observe the upper courtyard. The big tree of that year had been cut down, revealing the withered stump. There were eleven kiln holes in the upper courtyard, which looked like the place where the owner of the Ginger Manor lived. The courtyard had a tall stone and green water tank decorated with sweet mountain dew that looked like it was still inhabited by people. An elderly man came out of the house, with the afterglow of history sealed in deep wrinkles. I heard the girl say something to the old man, and a big smile appeared on both of their faces. The sun was leaking down and hitting my body, and I felt like I was at the highest point of the earth. Everything was under my eyes. I lay on top of the warm tiles and felt the charm of freedom.

The sky was full of colorful haze, the smoke of cooking was rising, and the sun left the earth with a lingering look. It was dark, and I looked up at the sky again, when the stars appeared, the river of stars danced together, and light clouds brushed the moonlight, as if the hot air of the hot water in the house enveloped the windows, gradually becoming hazy and enveloping the light. It was late at night, the lights in the house went out, and only the lanterns on the walls remained bright. The wind blew up, I left the stone green tiles, looked at the red lantern light, and went back into the air.

Perhaps, I will be carried around the world by the wind in the future, but the Jiang manor is something I will never forget because I walked through it with a grain of sand.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Angela R Billips

Reading is the best learning

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.