Fiction logo

A Golden Valentine

Young Love

By DianaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Golden Valentine
Photo by Jacinto Diego on Unsplash

"Hi Jack!" I exclaimed.

"Hey Bonnie," he said, grinning as he walked toward me on the sidewalk.

We both stared at each other for just a moment, wondering who would say it first before blurting out, "Happy Valentine's Day!" at nearly the same time and immediately falling into peals of laughter over our awkwardness.

"I got you something," he said, reaching into his backpack to pull out a bag of my favorite fruity candy.

Grinning ear to ear, I reached into my bag to pull out his favorite chocolate. We exchanged our spoils and started to munch happily as we walked to school.

Jack and I had lived five doors down from each other all our lives, and had walked to school together as soon as our mothers could bear to let us walk alone. He was my best friend.

It was so nice to know we would be there for each other, especially today. No one would give me Valentines except my girlfriends. Which was super nice! I loved that we did that for each other! But there wouldn't be any romantic gestures for me today. However, I could still proudly say that I had gotten a bag of candy from a boy, and let people assume what they would. I felt a twinge of guilt thinking this, and then the feeling became sadness.

I glanced at Jack and wished I were brave enough to tell him that somewhere in the middle of all those walks to school, weekends hanging out, and him coming to my band concerts while I went to his sports games that I didn't see him as just my friend any more. I wished I could tell him I would treasure my bag of candy in a way he would never understand. What was I so afraid of?

"See you after school?" he broke into my thoughts. I snapped back to reality, surprised that we had already reached school. I flushed red, wondering why he had let me be silent for the entire walk, wondering if he could tell what I had been thinking about?

"You know it! "I said, and off to homeroom I went, relieved to turn away and hide my face from him.

I was relieved again when I got to 7th period. Only one more class to get through and I could get out of this pink nightmare. So many girls with so many flowers and teddy bears. None for me though. The last indignity of the day was the carnation delivery, always done during last period. Seriously, who the hell thought this was a good idea? Why did they have to be publicly delivered so that everyone knew who was unloved? Didn't the powers that be know how cruel teenagers are? I quietly thanked God for Madison and Shelby when the delivery occurred. At least I had two carnations to my name. I risked a text under my desk to tell them thank you.

Finally, the bell rang and I was free! One last stop at my locker and I was getting the hell out of there. But as I approached my locker, my heart stopped. Tucked into the slats in the door was a single, perfect marigold. Tied to the stem was a note.

"Sorry I didn't get you a carnation, but I thought this would be better. I know marigolds are your favorite." XOXO

Only one person could have done this. All thoughts of dropping off my books forgotten, I raced to the front of the school. There he was, standing in our spot, waiting to walk home with me, smiling his heartbreaking smile.

"I see you got my flower," he said, face suddenly red. I was making him blush! Oh my God. OH MY GOD! He liked me back!

"I have something I need to tell you..." he trailed off.

And right there, in front of the whole school, on the most perfect Valentine’s Day, I kissed him.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Diana

I fancy myself a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.