Fiction logo

A Fire In Sight

Burning Bright

By Isabella RosePublished 3 months ago 2 min read
3

“Here take this,” he whispered to her through the damp and dust choked darkness, placing a black, dragon emblazoned lighter into her hand.

Looking at the lighter before squeezing it tightly into her palm, she smiled, “It looks like my tattoo,” she confidently replied as the memories of the long-ago shop, decorated with flash art, danced into her memory. She continued, “Daddy was so mad at me when I got it done that he walked home in the rain.”

Kissing him on the lips, she flicked the lighter on and watched as the green flame danced from the mechanism.

Looking at him with a happy expression, she asked, “How did you know?”

“It’s not the first time we have done this, nor will it be the last,” he spoke through black chastened eyes.

He pressed his hands against the wall, feeling the moist, but rough moss on his palms, turning to her, “It’s anything that sparkles, or glitters, because you hated, with a passion, those same whitewashed four walls that you once thought would be your prison forever, right?”

Trying to steady her racing heart, she replied, “I love how you can see me. The walls were brown panelling, and I would do anything to cover them up.” Entwining her fingers with his, she looked at his beautiful smile.

“Why do I always want to kiss you?” she rhetorically asked, not expecting a response.

“Everyone just wants to be seen, don’t they? You already knew the answer. It does make me smile though, all that dreaming of a Prince coming to the rescue, yet you saved yourself. You became the person that you needed once, it is why you always help people in need.”

“It is more complex than that, My Raven. If someone else were to say that to me, I would want to hit them. They are not supposed to see me. You are.” she screamed at him, vigorously.

“What do you see, when you see yourself?” he quizzed unexpectedly.

Thinking about it a bit before speaking, she giggled, “A fox,” She continued, “I see a hyperactive person that just wants to be with you forever.”

“Is that who you are, or who you choose to be?” he replied with an intrigued smile.

“It’s who I’ve always been,” she said proudly. “I don’t know that I’ve chosen it. It’s just me, My Raven.” Looking contemplatively at him, she continued, “It’s ironic that ravens were messengers for the Gods. I remember your first message.””

“What do you see, when you look at me?” he spoke, though his gaze.

“An intelligent, poetic gentleman who regularly has internal battles with himself. Not just any raven, but my Raven. The one I always want to hold me close.”

“You frustrate me. I set out to light the spark that burns the world, yet you are the very reason, I’m going to save it. Love; it’s a powerful thing in the right hands, My Little One.”

Written by Isabella and Raven on February 15, 2024.

Love
3

About the Creator

Isabella Rose

I am a dedicated author with a passion for fiction. I own a joint business with my amazingly talented co-writer and poet, Raven Black.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    "You became the person that you needed once, it is why you always help people in need.” That line was so relatable. I have this saviour complex so I somehow feel it's my responsibility to help everyone, even if it's at my expense. I'm slowly learning to prioritise myself. I need to be the person I needed once, for myself first. And then for others. I loved your story so much My Foxy Friend!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.