Fiction logo

A Father's Lesson

Well Learned

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
15
A Father's Lesson
Photo by Євгенія Височина on Unsplash

I lay in bed, home for but a few days,

lounging, covered but sufficient to hide my indignity,

perusing a magazine I should not have had.

Without a knock, the door swung wide, & I hastened to cover my shame.

Had it been mother, she might have cast me out.

But it was father, who caught himself & backed away…

…without a word.

***

I burst into our son’s room without warning, finding them in full congress.

I caught myself & silently backed out.

A father’s grace well learned.

Young AdultShort StoryLovefamily
15

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer29 days ago

    Awkward 😬 this made me cringe lol glad I was spared this life lesson

  • Test10 months ago

    Yeah, that happened to me. My son and his girlfriend. Didn't know they were home. Don't even think they saw me. Well-done story, good advice.😉Pernoste

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    I loved how you applied what happened in your youth to your own parenting here 🤗 This is so well-done - awesome job on the double POV!

  • Very good

  • Excellent story. Very well written. I like how ultimately the father in the story respected his son's privacy. Great story telling with a moral at the end.

  • Oh wow, the double POV. That was extremely well written, and what a situation to wind up in!

  • Colleen Millsteed 11 months ago

    Hahaha this is every parents worst nightmare. Well written Randy.

  • Amelia Moore11 months ago

    ha! this was funny but also very sweet. really conveys a sense of family and affection, and demonstrates the borders and intricacies of the families. nice work!

  • Lol, this is why it's always important to knock and wait before entering 🤣🤣🤣

  • Ziv Agami12 months ago

    This story is a reminder of the fragility of life

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Comedian had joke about how they caught their sons , At least your situation was not made public on a TV Comedy show. It was a parent not a stranger. You never know if he ever did the same thing at some point in his life. You were not hurting anybody.

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    That sounds traumatic for everyone involved. Lots of weather talk and sports scores at the next meal together I would guess?

  • 👀💬I know what was happening, but great respect to Dad❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.