Fiction logo

A Father's Drive

Hardships and Heart

By Raffe Ace GatuteoPublished 2 years ago 14 min read
Like
The place that father and son journey towards.

It was supposed to be a normal night with my ten-year-old kid Harper. Just a dad and his son having a nice dinner out.

A larger vehicle went out of control and tore through the road, I pushed my son to a safe spot, and the next thing I remembered was being in a lot of pain and losing all feeling on my right side.

I spent most of the next days in and out of consciousness. And every time I woke up, I just couldn't resist the urge to fall asleep again. while I couldn't feel my right side anymore, I often catch a glimpse of steel on my right arm before I lose consciousness.

When I regained my strength and was lucid enough I was briefed. The accident damaged most of my right side and cost me, my right arm and leg. They had me fitted with a prosthetic right arm and a brace for my right leg in order to properly survive and have a chance at living a normal life again.

It's a good thing my insurance had these covered. Otherwise, I wouldn't have been able to afford these and spent the rest of my life in a wheelchair. I wouldn't have been able to take care of Harper.

My son was safe from the accident and when I was injured, he was kept under the custody of a friend of mine while I was hospitalized. It was mostly just Harper and me. His mother was out of the picture when she passed away while giving birth to him.

I spent the next few days going through therapy. They helped me process through sudden trauma. What kept me from losing my mind, was the hope of seeing my son again.

-------------------------------------------------

I look in the mirror and see the new me. My right eye glows red every time it adjusts and focuses. I stare at my right arm and flex my fingers. I can feel the machinery inside. The doctor said I will get used to that in time.

"Okay, we'll need to do a quick test to make sure your cognitive functions are fine. Please state your name and age." The doctor takes his clipboard and pen as he says this.

"My name is Jack Wright. I'm 30 years old."

"And what's the year now?"

"It's 2066."

The doctor continued his queries and cleared me of my cognitive status. He began to brief me on the new physical features I received from the operation. He held a micro-drive in front of me.

"This micro-drive will be able to help you control your mechanical implants easily. We inserted a neural jack-in into the right side of your neck when we patched you up."

“Thank you, doctor. What else does it do?”

“Well with your new features we can also insert other kinds of micro-drives to help assist you throughout the rehabilitation. We enabled you to interact with VR micro-drives so you can go through simulations to conveniently adjust to the changes done to your body.”

It took months for me to learn how to walk again. I must have fallen thousands of times. But I was able to make it. The thought of having to stand up for the people who are still with me is what kept me going.

The day came when I was Harper was allowed to see me. The nurse wakes me up. She tells me Harper is on his way to see me.

I tense up. I'm not ready at all. What will he think when he sees me? I see him enter the room and was shocked at my new appearance.

"Dad......Dad are you okay?" Harper walks toward me and holds my left hand. He is eyeing the right side of me now.

"Yes, son... I'm fine....", I do my best to hold back the tears. It's probably a good thing my right tear ducts are gone. I only have my left eye to worry about whenever I want to cry from now on.

"I'm so happy you're okay Dad." He says this as he hugs me. This time he gently touches my steel arm. While we both embrace I can feel the tears streaming through my left cheek. It breaks my heart knowing I can only ever feel the warmth from my left for as long as I live.

"Do I scare you kid?" I asked Harper. There were doubts in my mind, thinking he was only pretending that he had no problems with his Dad looking less human.

I see a spark in his eye, the genuine awe he had as he told me that he always thought cyborgs were the coolest and that I look even great now than I was.

"Oh, you rascal!" I playfully tickle him with my left arm, I'm still not comfortable using my right arm, because I can't control it properly.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Three years have passed.

I was able to get back up on my feet and move past the physical trauma.

I work as a mechanic at a VR shop where customers pay to have a few hours of relaxation and entertainment. Pay is good, enough to maintain my implants and send Harper to a decent

school.

I place the VR helmet onto the client's head and insert the VR micro-drive in. Most people usually need a helmet to enjoy the VR drives' features, unlike me, who’s got a neural jack-in right in my neck. The neural jack-in is a thin mechanical tube connected to my brain, specially designed to help me be more receptive to micro-drives that help my brain manage my implants.

The technological wonder of the VR micro-drive provides the processing power needed for the helmet to simulate whatever it is the client needs in their virtual reality.

VR tech has done wonders for me in overcoming the physical trauma of my accident. I spent sessions in simulations getting my limbs back, and slowly learning how to manage and get used to losing the sensations and gaining new ones from my mechanical ones. It can be really tempting to hook myself into one constantly, just to get a feel from my right side again.

After a good day’s work, I walk back to our home. It's only a 20-minute walk and I rather enjoy walking. Especially when I still had sensations in my right leg.

I reach my house and the A. I system that maintains the house greets me. It unlocks the security measures for me to pass through and as I walk inside the house and see Harper doing his homework, practicing how to fix a broken prosthetic on a hologram.

During my rehabilitation, Harper said he wanted to study how cybernetic implants and prostheses work so that he can help people like me when he grows up. Sometimes I wonder where all that kindness in his heart came from.

"Hey Dad!" he runs to hug me.

"Hey kid, how are we doing with homework?"

"It's pretty tough but I'll figure it soon enough. When I'm done in school I'll build you better limbs!

Maybe give you lasers and a rocket leg so you can fly!"

I had to laugh. "Lasers huh, and wait....only my right leg gets a rocket?"

"I mean yeah.....wait that'll make you spin wildly from the right..."

Still chucking, I ruffle my son's head, "You got much to learn kid, better get back to it now."

As he goes back to his homework, I go to the kitchen to prep for dinner. Suddenly our A.I system along with my phone starts blaring out in a loud noise. I take my phone and check the message I received.

BALLISTIC MISSILE THREAT INBOUND. SEEK IMMEDIATE SHELTER. THIS IS NOT A

DRILL.

That's what I see flashing on the screens, on my phone, on our computer, I can hear those words repeating over and over by the A.I of our home.

This can't be real. The world can't be ending. Not like this.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Everything was in a haze when the bombs dropped. I don't know how I was able to get myself and Harper to safety. All I remember was carrying him and running as fast as my legs could carry us.

I remember the people screaming in terror and the roar of the sirens throughout the city.

It's been weeks since the bombs dropped. Harper and I have traveled far. We don't know what direction we're headed anymore. The sun hasn't shone in a long time.

There are other survivors out there, though the one's Harper and I encountered had already been exposed to radiation and urged us to stay far from them. It was sad. There were kind people doomed to die a horrible death. Then there were other survivors who were violent and hostile. So far we haven’t had any encounters with those types, and I am confident I am strong enough to defend us both.

Most of the area is tainted with radiation, so Harper and I had to travel from place to place very carefully. I was able to salvage upgrades from a broken-down Bionics Shop to enhance my artificial eye’s visual abilities.

I went ahead of Harper to scout ahead and see if the place is safe to walk through. I walk through this wide street which splits into two small roads. Buildings stand side by side. Windows shattered. No wind. Ash falling like snow. I tighten the cloth around my mouth.

On the right street, I see debris, broken glass, and metal skeletons of vehicles.

On the left road, it was fairly safer to walk through. I see the bodies of a family of four. Or what seems to be a family. They were huddled together in the middle of the street right at the center.

Harper and I will surely pass their corpses. I walk closer to them to check further and pay my respects. They were covered from head to toe and ashes. I-.....

......I saw one of their fingers twitch.

"...k-ki-...."

I inch backward. What seems to be the father is still alive.

"ki-....kill me...."

His ashen black arm tries to reach me. I turn and ran. I'm back at the wider street. Harper comes to me.

"Which way do we go, Dad?"

We walked to the right street. Avoiding the man and his family of ashes. I don't want Harper to see any of that. I thought of the man. I hope peace finds him soon.

I have given up on hope. The world is truly gone. It breaks my heart thinking that this is all Harper will have now.

No more food. No more clean water. No more walks in the park. No more learning how to be a mechanic. No more movies to look forward to. His future and mine are all just ashes.

All I have now is my responsibility as a father. My son. He is what drives me to continue on.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I don't know how long it has passed since then. It's hard to keep track of the day. With the ash and the smoke blocking the sky, it can be difficult to tell night and day sometimes.

Throughout our travel and scavenges we came across radios, and computers that miraculously survive and still function.

We've received signals and responses from other survivors about a safe haven. A place that still had plant life. Untouched by the nuclear fire.

We gathered everything we could about this safe haven. What scraps of news from the radio.

Whatever was left from computers and from fellow scavengers and survivors.

Our lead sends us next to a city that would take us two days on foot. As we walk on we came across a facility that upon close inspection was a maximum-security prison. Some part of me wants to check the place for supplies but I worry there might be hostile survivors. I can't risk me and Harper over the odds of finding supplies that might not even be there. I'll just hand Harper my rations, I can still walk around on an empty stomach for a while longer.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

"Dad I'm getting really hungry."

It's been days since we were able to gather enough food. The rations have run out, even the ones I spared for my kid. We were lucky we got into the city while we still had enough strength to make such a trip.

"Just a little longer son," I replied, "We're close to the hospital. We can find something there I'm sure."

I see the remains of a VR shop in this desolate city. Just like the one where I used to work.

Behind it stands a tall building. The city's hospital is just a few blocks away. Finally.

The clouds cast a bright light on us so we didn't have to worry about darkness. We enter the hospital. No lights except for the emergency signs.

"Stay close to me okay?" I said while ruffling his head to reassure him that he'll be safe. I feel him nodding in response.

We walk through the dark halls of the hospital with our flashlights providing illumination.

As I rummage for supplies in a room in the hospital I hear a sound. I quickly pull Harper closer to me. We turn off our flashlights in case we give our presence away to something dangerous.

Thanks to my cybernetic eye I can see with night vision.

We move to a corner of the hospital hallway, still hidden but close enough to check the source of the sound.

I see a thin man dressed in prison overalls rummaging through the reception desk of the hospital floor we're in. If it weren't for the wall we hid behind, Harper and I would have been spotted instantly.

I could tell the man hadn't eaten for days either because he has a crazed look on his face, desperate for any sort of sustenance.

I look back at Harper and mouthed, "Follow me and be quiet." He weakly nodded.

We easily make it to the stairs and went down, escaping the thin prisoner on the floor.

I have Harper walk in front of me so he can have a head start in case we get followed. We tiptoed through the hallway and were about to make a right turn to the reception area.

And to my shock I see another prisoner enter my field of vision, also stealthily walking in our direction.

Harper gasped and quickly backed away towards my outstretched arms. I instinctively reach for the steel wrench I use for defense.

The prisoner looked like a shadowy figure in the dim light of the hallway. Without warning, he stretches his arms out and lunges at us.

I try to make a hard swing at him with my weapon but he was surprisingly fast. I find myself pushed to the floor with him on top of me.

I feel arms and fists flailing at me. I use my right arm to shield myself. I hear pained grunts as my attacker realizes he was striking at metal.

I didn't have to say anything, Harper knew to start running. Running back where we came might risk him running back to the thin prisoner. The only other way was passed through me and this guy. He tries to zip past us but the man got a grip on him and held my son in place.

"I'll kill you both and eat you," he growled.

The thought of him hurting my boy drove me mad. That was all it took. I grabbed his throat with my metal arm and started squeezing it with all my strength. Harper quickly took a thin rusty knife he scavenged a few days ago and manage to stick it into our attacker's hand. Good.

Using my right leg, I was able to gain purchase, and topple the prisoner off of me. With my free left arm, I beat the man with my wrench twice. He won't be getting up soon enough.

We were able to escape the hospital and hide in the broken-down VR shop where we passed by before. Harper was in such a panic, shaking. He was clearly struggling not to weep.

"It's alright kid." I hugged him. "Cry if you need to. I-I'm so sorry you had to see me do that." He held each other. I kept him safe and that's all that matters.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Two hours have passed. It got dark and I was sure any other person would be taking shelter at this time. Harper stopped crying but my boy looks really exhausted now.

Harper's face was really gaunt. It's tearing me apart thinking how he must feel. I should really find him something. Risking him being found here while I search for something is worth it at this

point.

"Kid, I'm sorry we can't find something for you to eat. I'll try to find something out there again while you rest."

"Alright, Dad. I'm sorry if I'm giving you trouble."

"Hey, it isn't your fault okay? We're just not lucky today that's all."

"I feel really tired."

"Get some rest. Just hide right here. I'll try to find anything okay? I can't promise anything but I'll

try."

"Thank you, Dad. Please be safe."

I ruffle his head.

I had Harper sleep under a desk in the VR shop that is behind two huge filing cabinets keeping him hidden and safe. I watch over him as he falls asleep. Then I went out and searched for as long as I can possibly can. After around two hours I decide to go back to the VR shop.

I find Harper still sound asleep under the desk. Thank goodness. I put my left arm on his head and can feel him going cold. It's been a rough day and I'm tired too. I lie down next to him and held him close to keep him warm.

"Goodnight son," I whispered.

✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝✝

The next day when they woke up, Harper and Jack were able to find some food. They were able to safely leave the city without running into any other hostiles.

It took them weeks, but they were able to find leads to the safe haven that was being discussed among survivors. Father & son eventually found the right road towards the place.

The way towards the safe haven had them crossing through a mountain. While there was some trouble along the way, Red used the strength granted by his mechanical implants to safely carry and traverse through the barriers of rock and stone.

When they reached their destination they could immediately tell, the sight of such lush green trees brought such a joyous sensation. They could hear the sound of chirping birds in the distance. Blue skies seem to shine through the grey clouds. There were more trees to be seen from where they were standing. They have reached the entrance of a beautiful valley.

They've made it. The father whose only drive is to see his son be in a safe place can finally rest.

Jack collapses to his knees and sighs heavily.

"You did it, dad! You got us here!" beamed Harper.

Jack placed a hand on his son's face, "No kid, we made it. I-" Tears start to spill from his left eye. He hugs his son. "I- I wish I kept you safe."

From the blue sky, sunlight shone in their direction, its warmth felt very real on Red. He breaks down crying, still hugging his son. Holding onto him tight as though he might disappear if he lets go.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Reality no longer felt real to me when I woke up and realized Harper passed away in his sleep.

I didn't even know if he was already dead when I came back from my search. I failed. I lost my son. He was all I had left. He was what drives me to go this far. And I lost him.

I didn't want to be here anymore. There was no more reason to. I don't think I have the strength to bury Harper. I can't.

I look around the VR shop. I remembered back when I worked in one before the bombs fell. I noticed there was one more VR micro-drive still functioning. I took the VR micro-drive and inserted it into my neural jack-in and activate it. Before the simulation cuts me off from reality, I cradle my son’s body.

I don't care what happens to me anymore. Let me have some form of comfort before it all ends.

I just want to see my son smiling before I die.

family
Like

About the Creator

Raffe Ace Gatuteo

I mostly enjoy writing fiction particularly the fantasy genre. I enjoy trying to write horror and tragedy as well. I play D&D as a hobby and plan on writing stories surrounding my original characters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.