Fiction logo

A Dream

by D.P. Hunter

By Patrick BramerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

A Dream

As a boy, I always aspired to do great things when I got older. There were, of course, the usual likes to what kids wanted to be when they grew up such as a police officer, fireman, doctor, or even a cowboy. When dreaming of these “jobs” no one at this age really thinks about what kind of money one would make, they just think that it would be “cool” to do it. I am no different from the normal kid that dreamed of these things. There was a difference in the way I was thinking though. I mean, if I was correct about every kid and all they wanted to do when they grew up is to be one of these 3 things then I should possibly change things up a bit and go for something that is “cool” but with less competition for the “job”. Why not be a horse trainer going with the cowboy theme. There couldn’t be that many people wanting to do that sort of thing right? Well, I was a kid, and horses kind of scared me so that may not be the best “job” to aspire to be while growing up, plus there were no horses around where I lived. Okay, so that “job” is out of the running. Needless to say, I wasn’t too broken up about the fact I won’t be doing that for a living. I’m not saying that this is a bad “job”, just not something I would aspire to do, but I will keep it on the list as a “last resort”. The only bad thing about the horse “job” would be that I really wanted to be a cowboy but to do that you have to be able to ride a horse, right? Oh well, it is on the list so I’m good with that.

So, what could be a “job” that no one else has thought of being, with little competition that could aspire me to dream about? Well, before I tell you what this inspiration is I must tell you a little bit of what I was like when growing up. I was a scrawny kid. Not much muscle but boy could I eat anyone under the table. I had some friends, but no one I could really call a “best friend”. I think, at best, they tolerated me being around them. I wasn’t really included in all the fun things that my “friends” did but did experience so fun activities. I tried to do my best to bulk up my physique, however, I just couldn't understand why all my “friends” were getting more muscular while I stayed scrawny. After a while, I just accepted that I was never going to be someone with bulging muscles on my body and decided that who I was, was just fine with me.

Now without getting way off topic and giving you an extremely brief description of what I was like when I was a kid, I am going to tell you what I dreamed of doing when I got older. The dream that I aspired of doing was to become a Brick Layer. Yes, that’s what I said, someone who makes brick walls. Okay so maybe this big reveal isn’t what you expected but for me, it was a dream that looked like “fun”. How could something like this be a fun activity you might ask? It’s hard to describe what goes on in little minds, but for me, it was the fact that these guys could make a wall of bricks from 1 foot to 100 feet tall and that looked amazing. Now I understand now that what I was seeing was just a mirage’ of what was going on with these people stacking bricks. There was and is actually more to it but that was my dream and anything else on my list did not matter.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Patrick Bramer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.