Fiction logo

A Dream of Snow

Prompt: Write a 250 word microfiction that takes place in a snowy setting.

By aprilPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Snow Micro Challenge

It snows for the first time in twenty years. Grey fills my vision, another colourless smudge in this eternally colourless world. Snow drifts like fallen ash.

Ash…or snow?

I cannot be sure. I remember snow from a time before, before the world as we knew it ended. It was white then, pearlescent. Soft like feather down, and bone-chilling, but also so, so warm beside a fire, a mug of hot chocolate in hand. I lick my lips. It tastes like a forgotten dream.

Unwittingly, I stick out my tongue. Something brushes against it, the remnants of a lover’s kiss. I stretch out a trembling hand, the skin mottled and ribbed like woollen gloves. Snow kisses the cold digits.

Something glows orange in the distance, flickering like lights from a house. My aged legs protest as I struggle to my feet, dragging them across the barren plain. If only I could get there…

My lungs rattle.

Maybe I could go back-

I land face-first in the snow. Child-like laughter rings through the air like bells, the first human voice in years. “Look! Jimmy’s tripped over his own feet again!”.

A cough burns in my chest, stretching and warping at the edges until it resembles a rasping laugh. My eyes drift shut, a feeling of warmth and safety blanketing me even as my sense fade. It’s alright to rest, I think, because soon someone with the softest embrace will gather me in her arms, and chide me for staying out too late.

Short StorySci Fi

About the Creator

april

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    Great micro in a vivid and intriguing setting! Great work!

  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    The imagery you create is fantastic April, and lines like “ It tastes like a forgotten dream.” tie in perfectly with the idea of twenty years without snow. This feels like someone flashing back to childhood memories of snow at the very end of their life, and the whole scene feels gently alive, but also so still. Love it! 👏

  • Test4 months ago

    Lovely.

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Ah, sad. A poignant ending for an old man. Echoes of his beginning too make it more moving.

  • Lisbeth Stewart4 months ago

    😢 Beautifully written

  • Congratulations April on your win in the Snow Micro challenge!!!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Congratulations on the runner up win!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    Very well written! Great job!

AWritten by april

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.