Fiction logo

A Curse to Break; Chapter 7

Chapter 7

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished 27 days ago 5 min read

I sit on the edge of the wagon, watching the men. Some relax by the fire while others stand about. I know more are milling about out of sight. True to his word, the man I had spoken with the other day who I had to assume was the leader hadn't locked me in the trunk again. Part of me hates how easily sitting silently and avoiding trouble comes. Years of practice had made it second nature.

A cold breeze sweeps by. Shivering, I pull my legs up next to me, snuggling further into the blanket I've been given.

"You are allowed to sit by the fire," the leader muses.

I glance over to find him casually leaning against the wagon. My eyes flick back to the fire and the men near it. None of them had done anything to make them worthy of the distrust I felt towards them, though I suppose they hadn't had much of a chance, but I don't want to be near them.

I also can't deny that the small voice begging me to run is slowly growing louder and louder. I want to be anywhere but here with them being taken to some undisclosed location. If I mustered the courage to leave the wagon, I was scared I might just try to run. I doubted I'd make it far. I'd be locked in the trunk again.

I shake my head.

"Very well," he sighs. "Sleep well, Miss Levine."

He meanders towards the fire, whistling as he goes along. The men clustered there greet him loudly. He accepts a cup passed his way, nodding his thanks.

They were all so easy together. If it weren't for the fact that I was a prisoner, perhaps it would put me at ease.

Another roar of laughter fills the air.

I let my eyes wander away from the men around the fire. We were still in the forest, no paths in sight. That's when I realize none of them are watching me. Even the men standing closer to the wagon.

Despite the cold, I slowly let my legs drop back down. Just as slowly, I slide down the ground. I can feel the grass bending beneath my feet as a leaf crunches. Despite the sound, no one glances over. Even as I shuffle my weight, trying to get my feet accustomed to the feeling on the forest floor, I remain invisible to them.

I glance at the forest. This was a horrible idea. I had no idea where we were, no clue how to figure out which way to go if I even managed to get away.

I can feel myself trembling, and not from the cold. If I managed to get away, I'd have no way of surviving. If I didn't, I'd be stuffed back in that trunk, forced to finish this journey. If I just stayed put. . . I'd still be forced to finish this journey. Two out of three chances, I'd be finishing this journey. Was it worth the risk?

The small voice urges me forward.

I take a step towards the forest.

"Miss Levine?" I hear the leader call. He doesn't sound alarmed. He sounds curious. "Is something-"

I take off. Against all reason and all better judgment, I find myself dashing for the forest, leaving the blanket to flutter to the ground in my wake.

The surprised silence only lasts a moment. I can hear him shouting, ordering his men after me.

Every step, I can feel something bite against my feet. I don't know if it's rocks or sticks, but I pray that nothing cuts me.

I can hear the pursuit. It wouldn't be much longer before they were upon me; before I was dragged back.

Tears are already pricking my eyes by the time the first catches up with me. The pain at being yanked back by the arm only ensures they break free.

I don't get the chance to fight back. I don't even have the chance to find my footing. Whoever has my arm continues to pull me back, a second hand on my other arm helping them along. I've no choice but to stumble blindly along.

It's not long before I'm released, forced to turn and face their leader.

He stands before me, face unreadable. He studies me for a moment, before sighing as he shakes his head. "Miss Levine, I thought we had an understanding. I hope you believe me when I say this brings me no satisfaction." His head turns slightly, eyes focusing on someone else. He nods, waving a hand.

The hands are on me again. I'm picked off the ground this time, slung over someone's shoulder. Seconds later, I'm released. Ungracefully dropped to the ground. No. Not on the ground. Into the trunk.

My hands come up, but it's too late. The lid slams shut. I push against it, but there is no give as I hear a lock click.

I pound against the sides, the lid, begging, pleading, tears streaming freely. Just like home, my cries go ignored. Was it truly that shocking?

I curl up onto my side. The tears are still coming, but there's no point in begging. They didn't care. I was just an assignment to them. I doubt anyone was looking for me either. They certainly didn't care either.

I'm not sure exactly when I drift off to sleep, but I'm awoken by the creaking of the hinges. I blink as my eyes work to adjust to the sudden flood of light. The morning light is soft though, and easy to adjust to. Their leader perches lightly on the edge of the trunk as I tentatively sit up.

"Am I going to come to regret letting you out again, Miss Levine?" he asks, voice hard.

I look down as I shake my head. Be unseen. Be unheard. Can't even do that right.

"Good," he says, light tone returning as he rises from the edge. "Come along now. I'm sure you're hungry. Can't have you wasting away to nothing on me."

I look up to find him holding out his hand. When I don't move, he quickly beckons me twice with his fingers.

I manage to get myself to move, reaching out to take his hand. His hand closes around mine, pulling me to my feet. His hand remains firm as I step out of the trunk.

"And no pecking away at your food like a little bird," he chides as he leads me towards the smoldering remains of the campfire. And despite his presence beside me, I can feel his men watching me this time.

SeriesYoung AdultMysteryFantasyAdventure

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Katarzyna CrevanWritten by Katarzyna Crevan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.