Fiction logo

A Conversation with Abigail

Oh Dear. Somebody Please Help Me

By Cathy holmesPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
59
Princess Abigail

I was excited to see Vocal’s Talking Tails challenge, as I felt it would be a good opportunity to have some fun with a quick piece, and once again highlight my adorable cat, Abigail. I woke her from a nap, thinking she would share my excitement and boy, was I in for a surprise. Below is my conversation with the self-appointed princess:

Cathy: Hey Abigail, you’re not going to believe this. Vocal has a new challenge for animals. Isn’t that exciting? It’s not just for dogs this time. It’s for any animal who can talk.

Abigail: When are they sending me my money?

C: They’re not just going to send you money. We need to win the challenge first.

A: Obviously, I’m going to win. I’m Abigail. Everybody loves me.

C: That doesn’t matter. It’s a writing contest. We need to submit a story that’s good enough to win, one that stands out above the rest.

A: Of course, it matters. I’m adorable. How could I not win?

C: The best written entry will win the challenge, Abigail. That won’t necessarily be yours. There will be a lot of worthy competition. All we can do is attempt to craft an enjoyable story and hope for the best.

A: Well, listen to you being all practical and stuff. You do know that if I don’t win, it’s only because you’re a lousy writer, right?

C: Excuse me?

A: You heard me.

C: That’s mean. I demand you apologize right now!

A: Fine. I’m sorry that you’re a lousy writer.

C: Ugh. That’s not what I meant. Anyway, we have to write a fiction story about talking animals. What do you think the plot should be?

A: I think it should be about me, about how perfect I am and how much you love me, even though you never give me enough treats.

C: Sounds good, except it has to be fiction.

A: Excuse me?

C: The talking animal story needs to be fiction. Your story is real.

A: Are you off your meds?

C: What? I don’t take meds. What are you talking about?

A: Well you should, if you think this conversation is anything but fictional.

C: Oh dear. Somebody help me, please.

A: Yeah, you need help all right.

C: Why are you being such an ass right now?

A: I have to. It’s a mandatory course in the cat school curriculum.

C: Cat school? You went to school?

A: Of course. It’s home schooling. We are taught by our mommies that we must be mean to survive. It’s a cruel world out there, you know. I had to chew nips off my brother’s ears to even get a spot on Mom’s tit.

C: Eww. That’s nasty.

A: Yeah, for sure. He didn’t taste very good. He learned not to mess with me though. Hey, maybe I’ll start chewing nips off your ears so you’ll give me more treats.

C: Don’t even try it. You don’t need more treats anyway. You’re already getting chunky enough.

A: Pot - kettle, blah blah blah. Besides, do I look like I care.

C: Seriously, we need to write this talking animals story. Do you have any ideas, other than how perfect you are? Think about something that’s not you, for a change.

A: That’s impossible.

C: Why?

A: (Rolls eyes, exhales deeply and mumbles something about needing God’s help.) Why do you keep forgetting that I’m a cat? I meow in your face in the middle of the night. I grab your toes to wake you up because I don’t want to be alone. I run around the house one hundred miles an hour. I scream at the balcony to get out, only to demand to be let in again thirty seconds later. Then I do it again. I’m a cat, you knob. It’s not possible for me to think about anything else but me.

C: Why are you so grumpy? People are not going to like you anymore if you continue to speak to me like this.

A: Ha-ha. People love me. They know it’s your fault and you deserve it.

C: What did I do?

A: You woke me up to tell me about the talking animal challenge, then you told me I might not win. Why would you do that? I was having a nice dream about mousies and my brother’s ears, and you ruined it. You got my hopes up, then you dashed them. Just like that fly that slipped out of my paws yesterday, I am left with nothing but broken dreams. How could you do this to me?

C: Dramatic much?

A: Is it working? Can I have treats?

C: No, you cannot. I gave you some this morning.

A: hmmpf! Fine then. I’m going back to bed. Don’t wake me again until you have good news or more treats.

C: Ok, Princess. Enjoy your nap. Hopefully you’ll be less grumpy when you get up.

A: hisssssss

Humor
59

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (44)

Sign in to comment
  • Valentina Savage10 months ago

    Cute! I really like it! well written! I would be very happy if you go read one of my poems

  • Raghavendra S Rao10 months ago

    I love cats a lot. This is a good conversation. Nice pictures. She looks cute.

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    She is the most cat of cats 😁

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Haha! She sounds so much like any of our four lads: vain and endlessly self-assured. She is beautiful though and deserves endless spoiling and praise... Uh oh, Abigail is controlling my mind from a distance...

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Just now reading this. I love your sense of humor, and Abigail. She looks so cute in that second picture. 😻

  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    Hi Cathy - YOU Talk to your followers - Perhaps a formula for your success? I strive to communicate with my 'readers' as well. Although we have very different 'Styles' we may have similar Hearts! I've written a short article 'Rescue' for - Pet Haven Minnesota - that put a lot of pets into new-homes; that's a nice feeling! Thank you for the smiles! Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, Cal. 'Senior' Vocal Author

  • Alina Zabout a year ago

    Admirable writing, done almost entirely in dialogue! While reading, I literally saw the cat in my mind, saying her lines. You cleverly found the essence of a cat's life - 'It’s not possible for me to think about anything else but me.' Lovely!

  • Safeera Satharabout a year ago

    🥰🥰🥰

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Awww... your cat is amazing! As is this story! 😁 Grinning from ear to ear. Glad I finally got to read it. ❤

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    A cute conversation with with your kitty. Fum story

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    I just love this! Abigail is quite the character, isn't she? I think she would get along famously with my cat Ginger.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Abigail is so snarky. I love her :)

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Fun and feisty! Abigail is a double threat, beauty and brains!

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    The sass. Emulated the attitude of a cat so well here I’m questioning if it really is fiction🤔

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    Very funny but certainly reassuring that “A” sits on the throne, 😂😂 nice story 😀

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Lol! Couldn't wait to read Abigail's take on this! I was not disappointed. :)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    This is great!!! I love it... The two of you are so cute together. Great job as always Cathy!!!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Hail Abigail, She is back. The Queen . I cannot get enough of her. She is laugh out loud hilarious 😂 😂😂😂😂Thanks Cathy for sharing Abigail with us. She bring the best out of you for sure .

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Oh that last picture of her is just so cute! She is precious! Love this story! ❤️

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    I knew this was coming and knew it would be funny. LOL!! Laughed my ass off. I have met Abigail many times and can testify that this is her talking!

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    Oh, Cathy, you and Princess Abigail had me laughing aloud with your ‘… if I don’t win, it’s only because you’re a lousy writer, right …’ … priceless! A wonderfully fun challenge entry, and Abigail’s expressions in her photos are fabulous 💕🙂

  • Call Me Lesabout a year ago

    Brilliant Cathy! I was so hoping for an Abigail. Here I've been trying to write a fiction about a spider... I may just hop over and write a new Scarlett O'Clawra diary!

  • I love you Abigail. Everybody loves Abigail. Fabulous... Great job Cathy... Thanks for sharing this

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.