Fiction logo

A Boy and His Dog

They develop a language of their own

By J. S. WadePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
16
A Boy and His Dog
Photo by CRYSTALWEED cannabis on Unsplash

Before my eyes opened, I heard the desperate cry of a human that pierced my heart. I wasn't supposed to care about anything but the sounds and scents of my momma. I competed with the other squeaking whimperers as we jostled for position at feeding time.

"Mom, what is that noise. The cries make my chest hurt."

"That's a human baby. You were born the same day as he."

"Doesn't his momma take care of him like you do me?"

"Yes son, he's fine. It's his way of communicating his needs to his mom. Some day you will understand him too."

3 Months old

"Mom, what is that smell? Doesn't Jamie know to go outside to poop?"

"Humans are complicated Henry. They poop in our magic water bowl. You'll get used to it."

1 year Old

Henry met Jamie crawling across the floor. The urge to lick his soft pink skin overwhelmed him. The baby laughed and gurgled as he grabbed the pup's tail with his fingers and yanked.

"Ouch," cried Henry and ran to his mom.

"Jamie hurt me."

"He doesn't know what he's doing, son. Many times in your life, a human will hurt you, but it is our duty to be loyal and faithful even when humans don't deserve it.”

2 years old

"Henry, watch Jamie. It's your job to protect him. Be on the lookout for intruders."

"Yes ma'am, he's quick but I'm faster."

3 years old

"Mom, wake up mom. Mom!"

She raised her head and, with great effort, said,

"Son, I must go. I'm being called across the rainbow bridge. Our ancestors are waiting, as I will wait for you one day."

"Mom, don't leave me."

"Your task on earth is here with Jamie as mine was for his father. Love him and protect him."

"Mom, don't go! Wake up, Mom. Mom!"

5 years old

Henry lay across the foot of the bed as Jamie cried into his pillow. The Bull Mastiff crawled up against him and whimpered with him. Jamie rolled over and threw his arm around the dog’s muscular shoulders.

"I wuv you Henry. Can I tell a secret? I'm scared about school tomorrow. Can you go with me?"

Love burst from Henry's pulsing heart, and an unforeseen urge to comfort the little boy caused him to speak.

"I can't, but I will be here when you come home."

"You can talk! I knew you could," and his tears turned to laughter.

"Shhhh. It has to be our secret. Promise?"

Jamie held Henry's head in his hands.

"Okay, I promise." With his face buried in Henry's blonde shoulder, he fell asleep.

Eight years old

"Come on Henry, fetch the ball. I've got to practice my pitches. Coach says I'm playing tomorrow night. That's it. Ewww, you slobbered on it."

"I don't see you using your mouth," said Henry.

Ten years old

Henry lay on the bed and basked in the rays of the afternoon sun. Jamie rushed into the room with his friends Tommy and Bobby.

"I swear he can talk. You don't believe me?" Jamie said.

The three boys surrounded the bed.

"Tell them Henry. Count to ten."

Henry feigned sleep and didn’t budge nor speak.

"You're a liar Jamie," Tommy said.

"Yea, dogs can't talk," said Bobby.

Embarrassed, Jamie punched Henry's shoulder.

"Come on Henry, you're making me look bad."

The strike dulled in comparison to the heartbreak of Jamie's betrayal. Henry leaped from the bed, lumbered into the living room, and lay in the corner.

Late in the afternoon, Jamie called to him.

"Henry. Wanna play fetch?"

Henry ignored him.

"Okay, I will just play by myself. You're being a selfish dog."

Torn between his duty and heartbreak, Henry listened to the baseball thump against the house. Minutes later, a sound raised the alarm in his primal senses, and he lifted his floppy ears.

A rattle like one of Jamie's baby toys.

He recalled his mother's words, "It's our duty to be loyal and faithful even when humans don't deserve it. Be on the watch for intruders."

Henry sprinted through the doggie door and stopped at the patio's edge. A musky scent merged with the source of the rattle from under a bush.

Jamie released another pitch against the bricks, and it rolled under the shrub. Henry threw his body between Jamie and a six-foot Rattle snake in a race that only a loving dog could win. The reptile sunk his three-inch fangs into Henry's neck and released. He snatched the Rattler, gyrated his massive neck until its back broke, and dropped it on the ground.

"What a monster. He would have bit me for sure."

Blood trickled down Henry's white-aproned neck. Black streaks spidered across his chest from the poison. Fully dilated, his eyes turned to onyx, and his vision blurred.

"Henry, you okay? You saved me. Talk to me."

"I don kno what's happing to me, I wuv you Jamie," and fell to the ground and saw his momma waiting for him just over the rainbow bridge.

***

Eleven Years later

Before my eyes opened, I heard the desperate cry of a human that pierced my heart. I wasn't supposed to care about anything but the sounds and scents of my momma. I competed with the other squeaking whimperers as we jostled for position. This human voice I knew.

"That's the one Lori. He looks just like him with the blonde fur and white chest."

"Bull Mastiffs are so big Jamie. Are you sure?"

"My Henry gave his life for me. He taught me forgiveness, loyalty, and love; this pup will do the same for Junior. There’s something unique about a boy and his dog, where they develop a language of their own. That's what a boy and his dog do, right Henry Jr.?

Short StoryLove
16

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Oh, didn't expect the end, very moving. I was all in happy dog world there!

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Nooo! 😮

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    How did I miss this , this was an enjoyable read .🥰

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    That's a touching story Scott.

  • Manpreet Singh Bhinderabout a year ago

    What a beautiful story.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    What a wonderful story Scott. I like the way you formatted it. Made it very easy to read.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Oh poor Henry! 😢 Loved the timeline of your story. Jaime may not have known what Henry meant to him until he was gone, but Henry saved him in more ways than one. Beautiful story.❤️

  • No no no no no no. Jamie is a freaking piece of shit. Henry’s mom should have said this, "Humans poop in our magic water bowl and that's so disrespectful. Humans are the dumbest and most vile creatures ever so stay clear of them". Poor Henry 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful, heartwarming and heartwrenching at the same time. Excellent story, Scott.

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Really enjoyed this! So sad, but in a beautiful way. I liked the way you showed the passage of time and snippets from the characters at different points in their lives.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant & beautiful story!!! Loved it💖💖💕

  • I loved the way this was developed over a timeline, great Challenge entry Scott

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This was so great, Scott! So sad too obviously but I loved the continuity in this and the way you sprinkled in funny parts along the way!

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    This is beautiful ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.