Fiction logo

A Barter with Death

One must be the hunter, and one the prey.

By Nicole WesterhousePublished about a year ago 4 min read

"You've marked yourself for death." the stately beast bellowed. It bellowed? The lion could speak?

"I am no hunter, but a lost traveler." I offer, in hopes that my intentions will save me.

"Your reasons are unimportant. You are here now, so you will die."

"If you sought to kill me, I'd be dead by now." I counter, stepping toward the freedom of sunlight.

"Do not move another inch!" the lion roared. I'm frozen in terror.

I raise my hands up, well aware that this action transgressed the lion's request. "My name is Thomas." I share for no reason at all.

"Why should I care to know the name of my next meal?" the lion ponders. I can almost detect his mild interest. So I take my chance to speak again.

"Say, are you the type that enjoys playing with your food?"

The quip is well received. The lion's hearty laugh echoes throughout the dwelling. Its sound is both rewarding and unnerving.

"I suppose I am." he muses.

"What is your name?" I dare to ask.

"Why do you wish to know?"

"If I'm to leave this earth, I'd like to know the name of my unmaker."

"I am called Izem." the lion relents. He saunters toward me, setting my spine on edge.

"You are small, for a a man." Izem mocks, circling his prey.

"Hardly a meal worth having." I attempt to joke.

"Too small for me," Izem smiles, bearing sharp, murderous teeth. "But enough for my son."

"You have a son!" I choke out, "So do I!" A desperate call to mercy. From a father to a father. I'm not actually a father, but how is he to know?

His smile twists into a snarl.

"You are bold to lie to your executioner."

"I'm not-"

"A man who had a son would not be here, wasting time on worthless gold."

Gold is not worthless, I dare not say. For I suppose it is for a lion.

"You know about the treasure?" I ask instead, unable to resist the curiosity.

"You're not the first to look for it." Izem walks away from me, allowing me a necessary exhale.

While he's turned away I can strike, my inner demon dares. But Izem is quick to turn his sharp black eyes back toward me. He licks his lips with menace.

"And what became of the others that looked?" I swallow, attempting to digest my fear.

"They are looking no longer." is Izem's cryptic response.

There is a dagger inside of my boot. If I could reach it before the lion reaches me. If I could cut his throat...

But not yet. If this lion knows of the treasure I seek, I need him to tell me where it is.

"I've spent months planning this journey. I've charted maps and read countless books to learn of the exact location of that lost treasure."

"And what have you to show for it?"

"Tell me where it is." I offer. It's a risk, a foolish one. In a fraction of a moment I decide that this treasure is worth the prospect of my life.

"What does a dead man need with treasure?"

Izem seems to be fond of questions. I had one of my own:

Why? Why did I enter this cave?

Because my charts and my books and my gut instinct told me the treasure was here.

"It's here!" I echo my thought with the realization. Izem's smile changes once more, like he knows a secret. "Of course it is." I answer for him "I know the path of Captain Orlaith like few others. I did the research I know it must be here."

"A fool mistakes gold for riches."

What is it with this beast? If he's not asking questions, he's giving cryptic answers.

"It's not about the gold." I blurt. In part it is the truth. "I need to know I was right. I need to know I haven't wasted my time."

"If it pleases you to know, I will confirm your hopes."

It's here as I thought. Now's my chance. I muster all the bravery in my bones.

"Thank you, Izem." I whisper, taking a step toward the lion. His eyes narrow in suspicion. I pause where I am. He will notice if I take another step.

I feign to stumble, and reach covertly into my boot. With slight of hand I slide my dagger up the length of my sleeve.

I need to be swift and decisive. The next moment will decide everything for both of us. One quick flick of the wrist to slice the lion's throat. If I miss, it's over for me. But if I don't, the riches and truth I long for are mine.

I don't take a moment to consider my options, I pounce on the lion. Now I am the hunter and he the prey. I am direct. I don't miss.

The blade cuts, blood spills, and Izem falls.

"Only one of us will die here, Izem." I whisper to the gasping beast.

Now for the question of where this treasure might be. Deeper into the dark abyss? Beyond the point of sunlight and into the cavernous mystery? I move closer to the darkness, motivated by my wonder.

But I am stopped by I a ghastly sob. Before I can process my surroundings, claws are on top of me, deep within me, ripping the heart from my chest.

Alas, I forgot. A son. A son.

This was always to be my end.

Short Story

About the Creator

Nicole Westerhouse

I'm thirty.

Damn, that hurts to type, but there it is.

Not much of note.

I suppose I should say "yet."

Makes it sound like I'm going places.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nicole WesterhouseWritten by Nicole Westerhouse

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.