Fiction logo

90 We Think Alike

For Saturday, March 30: Day 90/366 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

By Gerard DiLeoPublished about a month ago 2 min read
4

"More coffee, please! Now, you were saying? A disgrace? There you go again with the blanket condemnations. Why am I a disgrace?"

"Well, just look at you!"

"Look at me? I'm wearing the stupid shirt you insisted I wear. I have that crap in my hair you insisted I cement it with."

"Styling gel."

"Yea, styling. That's me. You've got me stylin'."

"If that's what you call it."

"No, actually, I call it looking like a clown."

"Wrong, a clown makes people happy."

"Seen any horror movies lately?"

"That's what we are--a horror movie. I find you really scary now. I don't even know you any more."

"Yes you do. A disgrace, remember? You have a lot of nerve. I mean--look at you!"

"At least I'm doing things to improve."

"Like what?"

"You wanna know like what? Like my support group for codependency. Like my meditation classes. Like my political action group."

"You mean your LGBTQIA stuff?"

"LGBTQIA+. Plus. It's the plus I'm involved with."

"You're sure it's not minus?"

"Very funny."

"Clown, remember? And you haven't voted in years. That's activism?"

"I drive a Prius, for God's sake."

"Right. You're a Prius-driving, tree-hugging, Democrat-voting, diversity-embracing, profit-hating, whiny baby."

"Where's your MAGA hat, then, if you're so politically astute?"

"On top of this styling crap?"

"You're stupid."

"No, you're stupid. And kinda fat."

"Well, who thought our little talk wouldn't end like this? You always resort to name-calling when you can't argue your points."

"Just trying to keep your status current."

"Well, at least I don't talk with food in mouth."

"Like you're doing right now?"

"Oh, I hate you."

"That's your problem, you're way too hateful."

"Can you blame me? That's it, we're all done here."

"Why are you standing?"

"I've had enough! You have an anger problem, you do."

"I DO NOT HAVE AN ANGER PROBLEM, YOU [expletive deleted]! WHERE'S MY COFFEE?"

The waitress threw down her notepad and stormed over to the table.

"Y'know, I don't mind if you wanna talk to yourself like this every morning, but this is getting out of hand. The language! And now you're calling for more coffee? Call your doctor--give him coffee. He'll need it!"

______________

AUTHOR'S NOTES:

Pretty close to an actual conversation I heard (one-sided) from someone on their phone. Expletive deleted's were not fit for even here, even with a content warning.

Word count (excluding notes): 364

Submitted for Saturday, March 30, 2024

2024: A Story-a-Day for the whole year. This one is #90.

All pictures are AI-generated, but the imaginary person is not!

HumorPsychologicalMicrofiction
4

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned Catholic church in Hull, MA. Phase I: was New Orleans (and everything that entails).

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    I was sure this was for the March madness challenge. If you were talking to yourself it could work. Still great job on filling in the blanks.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Lol, it's funnier to kmow that this was based on true events. Loved your story!

  • D. J. Reddallabout a month ago

    Desmond Morris observed humans like animals in a zoo; you have a flair for the same kind of anthropological observation!

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Ah. Good ol' Vajra Hell. Can't say I miss it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.