Fiction logo

6935 Days

of Silence

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
15
6935 Days
Photo by Jelleke Vanooteghem on Unsplash

It’s been 6935 days since last you spoke to me.

6 a.m., pitch black, walking the dog. I was upset, accused you of not caring. You told me to shut up.

6935 days of silence. I didn’t think you had it in you.

I remember when you first took my hand. I remember when you dropped it. And then again when you slapped it away, 6935 days ago.

6935 days of evanescing. I am empty without you. Every day I've wanted to die.

Maybe not today. Perhaps tomorrow we’ll talk.

Short Story
15

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    You are master of the brevity indeed. So much said in so little words. I need to catch up on your writings. This was so sad/great.

  • Ahna Lewis11 months ago

    This is so heart-breaking. You tell a story of loss in such a powerful way! Thanks for sharing, Randy.

  • Kelley Stead11 months ago

    Raw and powerful piece. So much said in so little words. Great job.

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    This. Brutal and raw. Shit, you punched right through my chest and squeezed. I've got a silence going on 8600 days. It seems so surreal to word it that way. So sorry this seems too personal. Hugs to you, my friend :)

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    I felt this so viscerally that I don’t have words. I think the brevity makes it even more of a sucker punch.

  • This was so sad 🥺🥺🥺💔💔💔

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Oh wow, Randy. This piece…💔

  • Test12 months ago

    Wow, such a long time of silence in your story. Heartbreaking and gripping, a terrible mystery in the fracturing of a relationship💙 Anneliese

  • Lisa Herdman12 months ago

    I am certain the time will come when it is meant to, the world works in strange and beautiful ways! Your writing on this topic makes my heart swell.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    Holy fuck this is good

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    😢💗

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    That’s so sad , will he or she get over their love or not . Maybe it will take another 6935 days to find out.😉

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    I'm so, so glad you have your faith to tell you you'll be with him again someday! I'm grieving for you and your wife my friend!

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Oh, I felt this. All that emotion. I love the descriptions and just how it doesn't feel rushed despite the length restrictions. Great work, Randy!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.