Fiction logo

60 Seconds to Impact

A Tale of Survival

By Anthony ChanPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
Like
Special Thanks to Takehiro Tomiyama on Unsplash.com

As John, the paramedic, wheeled me toward the waiting Uber after seeing a doctor to help me overcome my inability to walk, I felt a mix of relief and frustration. The temporary arthritis inflammation on my left foot joints had left me unable to walk, with excruciating pain. Fortunately, a medical prescription for a 10-day course of steroids promised relief and a glimmer of hope in an otherwise challenging situation.

After arriving at my Uber, I decided in a split second to try to stand up from the wheelchair and get into the car. However, in my haste, I failed to notice that the paramedic had forgotten to lock the wheels. The chair shifted beneath me, sending me reeling precariously toward a disastrous fall.

Time seemed to slow as my body lurched forward, gravity pulling me inexorably toward the unforgiving concrete below. At that moment, instinct kicked in, and my mind raced through a mental checklist of survival tactics.

Protect the head. That was the first rule ingrained in me from years of learning about the survival guide for stuntmen, a career that had always intrigued me. Believe it or not, after watching many action movies as a kid, I considered pursuing a career as a stuntman.

So, with adrenaline flowing through my veins, I braced myself for impact, arms outstretched to break my fall. As I plummeted toward the ground, I knew there was no escaping the inevitable collision. But I focused on minimizing the damage, channeling every ounce of determination into ensuring that my head remained safe from harm.

With a sickening thud, my arms hit the ground, absorbing the brunt of the impact. Pain shot through me as my arms absorbed the full force of the fall, but it was a small price to pay compared to an alternative scenario.

I bounced once, twice, before finally resting on the unforgiving asphalt. As I lay there, dazed and disoriented, a wave of relief washed over me. Despite the pain radiating from my arms and bruised elbow, I was alive and free from any serious trauma to my body.

John rushed to my side; his face was overwhelmed with fear. I could see the concern in his eyes, the worry that his negligence had caused me harm. But I shook my head, mustering a weak smile to reassure him.

"It's okay," I said, my voice barely above a whisper. "I'm okay."

He helped me into the waiting Uber, with concern etched into every line of his face. But as we pulled away from the curb, I couldn't help but feel a sense of gratitude wash over me.

In just 60 seconds, I faced the real possibility of a fatal disaster. But thanks to quick thinking and a lifetime of desiring to be a stuntman, I had emerged relatively unscathed.

As my driver drove away, I couldn't help but reflect on the fragility of life and the importance of being prepared for the unexpected. As I settled back into the seat, grateful for the painkillers that I would soon be taking, I made a silent vow always to be ready for whatever challenges life threw my way.

It was a good day, as my impeccable instincts allowed me to survive and enjoy other future adventures!

PsychologicalShort StoryAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Anthony Chan

Chan Economics LLC, Public Speaker

Chief Global Economist & Public Speaker JPM Chase ('94-'19).

Senior Economist Barclays ('91-'94)

Economist, NY Federal Reserve ('89-'91)

Econ. Prof. (Univ. of Dayton, '86-'89)

Ph.D. Economics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.